www.loc.gov/collections/- The Library of Congress digital collection is much more than just books! The digital collections include digitized writings, images, sound recordings, maps, sheet music, and web archives that encompass historical events from the U.S. and the world. Digital artifacts can be searched, browsed, or filtered based on subject, format, or collection.  

www.archives.gov - The National Archives and Record Administration is self-described as the "nation's record keeper," with information ranging from presidential records to census/genealogical information, from Federal court records to eyewitness accounts of historical moments. The research site for the National Archives, found at https://www.archives.gov/research provides a variety of search methods and includes tips for not only the National Archives, but also other online research sites. 

www.newberry.org - Located in Chicago, this independent research library houses materials focused on Europe and the Americas, spanning six centuries of history and culture. Access to some of Newberry's databases and collections requires being on-site, but many of the databases are also held by the University of Iowa and can be found in our A-Z Databases listing. Browsing the Newberry's digital collection by type allows the researcher to select "Any," creating the broadest view, or narrow the search to "Digital Collections" or even "Digital Exhibits," which presents a curated view of the collection materials.

www.nypl.org - Digital collections can be browsed at https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/collections and include over 880,000 manuscripts, prints, photos, posters, maps, and recordings. Early American writings, gay and lesbian history, and book art are just some of the collections that are available for research. Within the collection are digital items from specialized library branches, including the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, and the Science, Industry, and Business Library.

www.si.edu - This collection of nineteen museums and research centers serves as "the nation's attic," holding materials of historical importance for the country, housing over 155 million items. The digital collections of the Smithsonian include 1.6 million digital images, recordings, and documents. Searching or browsing the digital collection can be done at http://collections.si.edu/search/. Over 16,000 manuscripts, photos, and sound recordings can be found in the Smithsonian Online Virtual Archives.