Proquest Historical Newspapers
The Proquest Historical Newspapers offer full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Each newspaper collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Users can cross-search titles.
- Atlanta Daily World, 1931-2003 (Proquest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers Collection) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1931 - 2003
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers collection - Chicago Defender, 1909-1975 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers Collection) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1909 - 1975
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers collection - Chicago Tribune, 1849-1998 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1849 - 1993
- Des Moines Register (1871-) This link opens in a new windowPart of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers (HNP) Iowa Collection.
- Detroit Free Press, 1831-1922 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- Iowa City Press Citizen (1965-) This link opens in a new windowPart of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers (HNP) Iowa Collection.
- Iowa Collection (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowIncludes the Des Moines Register (1871-2008) and the Iowa City Press-Citizen (1965-2008).
- Los Angeles Sentinel, 1934-2005 (Proquest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers Collection) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1934 - 2005
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers collection - Minneapolis Star Tribune, 1867-2001 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowThis historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
- New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1993 (Proquest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers Collection) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1922 - 1993
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers collection - New York Times, 1851-2019 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1851 - 2013
- Pittsburgh Courier, 1911-2002 (Proquest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers Collection) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1911 - 2002
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers collection - St. Louis Post-Dispatch, 1874-2003 (Proquest Historical newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- Wall Street Journal, 1889-2011 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1889-2000
- Washington Post, 1877-2006 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1877-2000
International Papers
-------------------------------------------------------- - Guardian and The Observer, 1791-2003 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowCoverage The Guardian: (1821-2003)
Coverage The Observer: (1791-2003) - Times of India, 1838-2010 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1838-2004
Digital Archive Collections and Tools
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. UI collections include: FBI Surveillance of James Forman and SNCC; American Indian Correspondence: Presbyterian Historical Society Collection of Missionaries' Letters, 1833-1893; and Witchcraft in Europe and America.
A site devoted to primary source material in American history. Information archived is from leading historical periodicals and books, and includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records. Databases are encyclopedic in scope and allow full Boolean, group, name, string, and truncated searches. Transcribed individual entries are complete with full bibliographic citations and are organized chronologically. Titles will continue to be added covering important topics and time periods for scholars and students of all academic levels.
- Archive Finder
Chadwyck-Healey's automated combination of traditional manuscripts finding aids, including The National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (but not including RLIN's AMC file; for that, request Reference assistance), this search tool indexes the holdings of more than 4,400 American repositories, amounting to some 100,000 collections. It is restricted to UI searchers, one at a time. A UI searcher may be bumped off after 15 minutes if another UI searcher begins a search. UI possesses a CD-ROM version, use of which entails no such difficulties, but the information it contains is less up to date, and it is accessible from the UI Main Library only.