http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/- The Special Collections at the University of Iowa are made up of four distinct collections: Rare Books, Manuscripts, and Maps; the University Archives; the Iowa Women's Archives; and the International Dada Archive. These collections are housed in Main Library and can be searched using the ArchivesSpace tool. Some collections have been digitized, but many will require accessing them onsite.  

https://archaeology.uiowa.edu/ - The Office of the State Archaeologist (OSA) is located on the University of Iowa campus and houses four million artifacts and specimens related to Iowa's human history, including extensive collections related to Native Americans. Research can be conducted onsite and the OSA has monthly Brown Bag lunch learning opportunities that address various topics of interest. A brief publication highlighting the mission and functions of the OSA provides insight about the services and scope of the organization.

https://iowaculture.gov/history - With research locations in Iowa City and Des Moines, the State Historical Society of Iowa offers 209 million documents, photographs, and artifacts. Accessing the Library/Research Center Catalog is as simple as using InfoHawk+. Historical society materials are included in the University's catalog and their location will be shown as the Iowa City Historical Library (or Des Moines Historical Library). Some materials will require onsite use.

https://dailyiowan.lib.uiowa.edu/index.php - The digital archives of The Daily Iowan include issues dating back to 1868. For those interested in writing from the Iowa student's perspective, these publications can be exceedingly valuable in determining the important topics and writing styles of the day. Contemporary news, sports, and entertainment notices, along with articles regarding student and campus life, make this a valuable historical newspaper for research.