English and American Literature
Databases for Scholarly Articles
-
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.
-
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary citation index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities, 1975 - present. Includes some full text. Part of the Web of Knowledge database.
-
Essay and General Literature This link opens in a new windowThe coverage of the database includes all of the humanities and social sciences with indexing of 5,300 anthologies and collections. (Formerly on WilsonWeb)
-
JSTOR (Journal Storage) This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each titles. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below
Note that this database comprises mostly back issues: for most titles the JSTOR database does NOT include full text of the most recent 3 to 5 years. -
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new windowA fully searchable library of over 350,000 works of English and American literature, overseen by an academic advisory board.
-
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO Version) This link opens in a new windowThe MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.
-
Project Muse This link opens in a new windowWith full text for well over 300 journal titles from university publishers, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Coverage begins in 1995.
Finding Scholarly Articles in InfoHawk+
Scholarly writing is typically evidence-based, formal writing that addresses a specific research topic. It is written by experts in a field for other people in the field and includes citations and references. Scholarly, academic, peer-reviewed, and refereed are often used interchangeably to describe this type of writing.
- Search InfoHawk+. Our catalog does a good job of listing books and many articles based on your queries. It does not catalog every database, so searching the databases specifically may produce different results. Limit by Peer Reviewed Journals on the left side of the InfoHawk+ page. You can also limit by date or other criteria to help your search.
- Search recommended databases (see the list in the box above). Some databases have a peer reviewed filter too!
- Already know which journal you want to search? You can find it via e-journals. Enter the title, then browse the resource. You can also find journals within databases and search there. Just narrow to the desired publication using the database's filters.