Containing more than 1,500 dramatic works from the early eighteenth century up to the beginning of the twentieth, American Drama 1714 -1915 reflects American dramatic writing in all its richness and diversity: plays in verse, farces, melodramas, minstrel shows, realist plays, frontier plays, temperance dialogues and a range of other genres are represented. Major dramatists include David Belasco, Rachel Crothers, Augustin Daly, Clyde Fitch, Edward Harrigan, James Herne, William Dean Howells and Joaquin Miller. Part of Literature Online (LION).

More than three hundred important dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive of the nation’s premiere radio theatre company. The plays - which include some of the most significant dramatic literature of the nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries - are performed by leading actors from around the world and recorded specifically for online listening.

Currently contains approximately 1200 plays by 201 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Many works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. Nearly a quarter of the collection will consist of previously unpublished plays by such writers as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Femi Euba, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston.

Contents range from poetry, fiction, drama and essays to history, theology and political writing. The set encompasses a broad range of writing on humorists, publicists, orators, newspaper columnists, religious leaders, economists, Native Americans, song writers, and even non-English writers, such as Yiddish and Creole.

Nearly 1,700 plays from Bloomsbury, including Methuen Drama, and Arden Shakespeare, and Faber & Faber, plus production stills from the Victoria and Albert Museum and the American Shakespeare Center

A unique archive of almost every play submitted for licence between 1737 and 1824, and hundreds of documents that provide social context for the plays

Contains 3,900 plays in verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English from the medieval mystery cycles to the comedies of Oscar Wilde. Part of Literature Online (LION).

Full text of plays by American Indian, First Nation, and Pacific Islanders playwrights of the 20th century; information about the plays and their production, and biographical data. The collection represents groups across the United States and Canada, including Cherokee, Métis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, Hawaiian/Samoan, and others. Also includes issues of the Native playwrights’ newsletter.

From ground-breaking British plays to the best of international drama and plays in translation, this is a unique and inspiring collection that features a diverse gathering of canonical and contemporary drama. Contemporary hit plays by innovative writers such as Clare Barron, Alice Birch, Jasmine Lee-Jones, Eve Leigh and Sh!t Theatre

OSEO comprises authoritative texts of poetry, drama, and fiction, from all periods of English literature, and of other important writing from across the humanities.
University of Iowa access includes:
Early Seventeenth Century Drama
Early Seventeenth Century Poetry
Early Seventeenth Century Prose
Renaissance Drama
Renaissance Poetry
Renaissance Prose
Restoration Drama
Restoration Poetry
Shakespeare