AS OF JAN 2021 CONTENT NOW FOUND ONLY IN PROQUEST LITERATURE ONLINE ONLY; The publication of this historic collection in online form restores access to a substantial body of literature, much of which is out of print and only accessible in specialist research libraries, opening up new possibilities for scholarship and teaching in the fields of African and literary studies.

list of scholarship about 738 recovered writers and located texts, canonical and non-canonical. It identifies many hitherto unknown writers, including among them not only already familiar figures, but also women refugees such as the recusants, women in the colonies, Marrano women (Anusot), women translators, and English women writers in French, Greek, Latin, Spanish, Irish Gaelic, Scottish Gaelic and Welsh.

Written by a team of more than 150 scholars and writers, The Biographical Dictionary of Iowa was created to spotlight prominent Iowans throughout the history of the region.

Works by authors of African or African-American descent. A fascinating look at the creative efforts of black authors over three centuries. Compiled by the curators of the acclaimed Afro-Americana Imprints collection

A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television and other fields.

A comprehensive and authoritative biographical dictionary for Ireland. It contains over 9,000 signed biographical articles describing the careers of individuals in all fields of endeavour, including politics, law, religion, literature, journalism, architecture, painting, music, the stage, science, medicine, engineering, entertainment and sport.

Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.Comprised of Dictionary of literary biography series, Dictionary of literary biography yearbook, and Dictionary of literary biography. Documentary series.

Oxford DNB is a collection of 55,000 specially written biographies, which describe the lives of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond.

Provides comprehensive online access to all volumes ever printed in Gale's acclaimed and long-standing Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people, and includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series, totaling more than 217 volumes, 12,000 entries, and nearly 17,000 images.

Provides a list of women author's and links to a full-text of their various works.