A collection of 730 full texts of the first editions of American novels and short stories written before 1875 by authors of significance during their lifetimes. Criteria used for inclusion in the collection: first edition found in Wright's American Fiction 1774-1850, Bibliography of American literature and owned by the University of Virginia Library, covering 730 titles in 882 volumes by 130 authors, containing 225,000 pages. Part of Literature Online (LION).

A collection of more than 200 works from the period 1500 - 1700, exploring the rich diversity of prose fiction in English in the period preceding the emergence of the realist novel as its dominant form. EEPF offers the full text of works by key writers such as John Bunyan, Sir Philip Sidney, Thomas Nashe and Aphra Behn, and has been produced in association with the Salzburg Centre for Research on the Early English Novel (SCREEN). Access via Literature Online (LION).

A collection of 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700 - 1780 by writers from the British Isles. Key figures covered include Daniel Defoe, Henry Fielding, Eliza Haywood, Samuel Richardson, Tobias Smollett, Laurence Sterne and Jonathan Swift. In addition to a scanned version of Sterne's Tristram Shandy, the collection also contains two different editions of Richardson's Clarissa and Pamela, and of Swift's Gulliver's Travels. Part of Literature Online (LION).

A collection of 250 British and Irish novels from the period 1782 to 1903, stretching from the golden age of Gothic fiction to the Decadent and New Woman novels of the 1890s. Major novelists of the period such as Austen, Scott, Mary Shelley, Dickens, Eliot, Hardy and the Brontes feature alongside popular romances, sensation fiction, colonial adventure novels and children's literature. Part of Literature Online (LION).

The Iowa Short Fiction Award has been presented annually since 1969. In 1988 the University of Iowa Press instituted the John Simmons Short Fiction Award - named after the first director of the Press - to complement the ongoing award series. Both national competitions are juried through the Iowa Writers' Workshop. Serious critical consideration is guaranteed by such final judges as Alison Lurie, Raymond Carver, Marilynne Robinson, James Salter, Kevin Brockmeier, and Ethan Canin.

A product of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC), this is a collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875. There are over 2,800 texts by almost 1,500 authors.