InfoHawk+ is the public interface to search the UI Libraries catalog, including our book and media collection, ebooks and journals titles, plus some of our most used and useful databases. You can find the books we own and the journals we subscribe to, but you can also find articles through some of our database subscriptions. 

What is included in InfoHawk+?

• The UI Libraries catalog

• Some but not all research databases and ebook packages, covering  nearly 1 billion records.

• Books and other material reserved for specific courses.

• Any webpages listed on our website or guides pages

• Iowa Research Online

• Iowa Digital Library

• Finding aids for Archives and Special Collections

• Catalog holdings of other Iowa colleges and Universities (Drake University, University of Northern Iowa, Wartburg College, Hawkeye Community College, Iowa State University, Grand View College, St. Ambrose University, and Grinnell College)

Use the tutorials below for guidance or ask a Librarian to learn more. 

• Generate a list of your search terms and any synonyms.
• Search for each term in InfoHawk+ and our databases. Look at the subjects that are listed with interesting resources.
• Pro Tip: Once you are in InfoHawk+, click on the "Sign In" link in the upper right corner. Sign in with your HawkID and password and you will be able to pin resources, request items more easily, and save searches.
• If searching for a phrase, insert quotation marks around the phrase.
• Limit your search by a date range if you only want results from certain years. 
• Try your search terms in multiple databases.
• You can also search in WorldCat to find resources not held by the University of Iowa and then request through ILL. 
• Look at the footnotes and bibliography of scholarly articles and dissertations - they can lead you to related sources!
• The first sources that you find may not be the best. Keep looking!

View in Panopto (upper-right pointing arrow) for full-screen.

Add this link to ICON or other webpages:

https://uicapture.hosted.panopto.com/Panopto/Pages/Viewer.aspx?id=2981ce6d-8eca-448c-bb35-adea0127d830

View in Panopto (upper-right pointing arrow) for full-screen.

Add this direct link to ICON or other webpages:

https://uicapture.hosted.panopto.com/Panopto/Pages/Viewer.aspx?id=e9a410a4-f005-45ce-be13-adea0127cb8d