Film Reviews and Information About Films: Other Print Film Resources
This guide is designed to help locate the many resources available from the University of Iowa regarding cinema and the film industry, with special consideration towards film reviews.
These are the print resources found in the general stacks on the west side of the first floor of the Main Library. Many other books on film are located in this section, under the call numbers PN1993-PN1999.
-
5001 Nights at the Movies
by
Call Number: Main Library PN1995 .K225 1991ISBN: 0805013679Publication Date: 1991-05-15The largest compilation of film reviews from the marvelously witty film historian Pauline Kael. -
Cassell Companion to Cinema
by
Call Number: Main Library PN1993.45 .B74 1997ISBN: 0304349380Publication Date: 1997-01-01An extensive encyclopedia of technical terms, actors, directors, and anything else related to the film industry. -
Dictionary of Film Terms
by
Call Number: Main Library PN1993.45 .B33 2006ISBN: 0820472980Publication Date: 2005-09-01A slim and precise dictionary of film concepts and techniques. -
Encyclopedia of Film Themes, Settings and Series
by
Call Number: Main Oversize FOLIO PN1997.8 .A75 2001ISBN: 0786445726An interesting collection of topics and ideas that lists films containing those entries. -
Encyclopedia of Religion and Film
by
Call Number: Main Library PN1995.9.R4 E53 2011ISBN: 0313330727Publication Date: 2011-02-01A fairly current guide with clear, concise entries on directors and topics pertaining to religion in film. Each entry has a small section with further reading recommendations. -
The Encyclopedia of Superheroes on Film and Television
by
Call Number: PN1995.9.S76 M85 2008ISBN: 0786437553Publication Date: 2008-08-21A perfect prelude to the superhero cinema boom, this encyclopedia explores both the well-received attempts at superheros on the screen as well as some of the most spectacular failures. -
Eye on the World
by
Call Number: Main Library PN1995.9.P7 S75 1997ISBN: 1879505363Publication Date: 1997-04-01A fascinating collection of interviews with over 200 directors from forty different countries around the world. -
The Film Encyclopedia
by
Call Number: PN1993.45 .K34 2012ISBN: 0062026151Publication Date: 2012-05-01Terminology concepts, organizations, and people (biographical information for major figures is more extensive, but all biographies have brief information and filmographies). -
Film It with Music
by
Call Number: Main Library PN1995.9.M86 H57 2001ISBN: 0313315388Publication Date: 2001-02-28A very concise encyclopedia of people, media, and themes related to the American movie musical. -
Filmography of American History
by
Call Number: Main Library PN1995.9.H5 T73 2002ISBN: 0313313008Publication Date: 2001-11-30A unique study on American history and the movies that provide commentary for the country's development. -
History of American Cinema
by
Call Number: Main Library PN1993.5.U6 H55 1990ISBN: 0520085337Publication Date: 1994-05-04An exhaustively comprehensive 10-volume collection detailing the period preceding the emergence of cinema through to the 1980s. -
The Oxford Guide to Film Studies
by
Call Number: Main Library PN1995 .O93 1998ISBN: 0198711247Publication Date: 1998-03-19A well-organized collection of essays discussing a variety of film topics.
