Film Reviews and Information About Films: Reference Books
This guide is designed to help locate the many resources available from the University of Iowa regarding cinema and the film industry, with special consideration towards film reviews.
These are print resources found in the reference alcoves on the west side of the first floor of the Main Library. Many other reference books on film are located in this section, under the call numbers PN1990-PN1999.
-
1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die
by
Call Number: Main Reference Collection PN1995 .A17 2005ISBN: 0764157019An older edition of the popular series, this book contains information on hundreds of famous (and sometimes infamous) films from the silent era to the early 2000s. -
American Film Institute Desk Reference
by
Call Number: Main Reference Collection PN1994 .A599 2002ISBN: 0789489341Publication Date: 2002-11-15A large and impressively comprehensive guide to film and the American film industry that's created by the American Film Institute. -
Encyclopaedia of Indian Cinema
by
Call Number: Main Reference Collection FOLIO PN1993.5.I4 R33 1999ISBN: 1579581463Publication Date: 1999-07-01A readable guide to the world's second largest film industry after Hollywood. Extensively covers the mainstream film productions from the 1970s to the 1990s and has a comprehensive name index. -
Enser's Filmed Books and Plays: a list of books and plays from which films have been made, 1928-1991
by
Call Number: Main Reference Collection Z5784.M9 E58 1993ISBN: 0754608786A large and unique guide covering information about films based on novels and plays. -
Film and Television
by
Call Number: Main Reference Collection Z5784.M9 E47 2006ISBN: 1563089149Publication Date: 2006-03-30An annotated and comprehensive list of print and electronic sources intended as a starting point for researchers. Covers film and television from the earliest days to 2004 for print and 2005 for websites. -
The Film Studies Dictionary
by
Call Number: Main Reference Collection PN1993.45 .B49 2001ISBN: 0340741902Publication Date: 2001-02-15A great guide to film terms for a beginner that is geared towards academic instruction. -
Film Quotations: 11,000 lines spoken on screen, arranged by subject, and indexed
by
Call Number: Main Reference Collection PN1994.9 .N69 1994ISBN: 0786474068An enormous compilation of film quotations from the 1930s to the 1990s, arranged around broad subject categories. -
Guide to American Cinema, 1930-1965
by
Call Number: Main Reference Collection PN1993.5.U6 W46 1998ISBN: 0313294879Publication Date: 1998-07-01A fantastic guide to the studio age of American cinema that cuts off when the independent film era began. Good for anyone that wants a more in-depth look into these early decades. -
Guide to American Cinema, 1965-1995
by
Call Number: Main Reference Collection PN1993.5.U6 C87 1998ISBN: 0313296669Publication Date: 1998-05-30A comprehensive guide to the beginning of the independent film era that looks closely on the directors and films that helped shaped that period in American cinema. -
A Guide to Latin American, Caribbean and U.S. Latino Made Film and Video
by
Call Number: Main Reference Collection FOLIO PN1995.9.L37 G85 1998ISBN: 0810832852Publication Date: 1998-11-05This guide covers around 400 films available in the United States that were made by Latin American independent and national filmmakers. -
Halliwell's Who's Who in the Movies
by
Call Number: Main Reference Collection PN1993.45 .F5ISBN: 0060534230Publication Date: 2003-08-01Names with brief biographical information and filmographies. See appendices for lists for awards, electronic movie resources, and chronology. -
Historical Dictionary of African American Cinema
by
Call Number: Main Reference Collection PN1995.9.N4 B433 2007ISBN: 0810855453Publication Date: 2007-01-26A sweeping dictionary covering hundreds of films that explores the evolution of African-American representation in cinema. -
Historical Dictionary of German Cinema
by
Call Number: Main Reference Collection PN1993.5.G3 R417 2008ISBN: 0810856239Publication Date: 2008-02-06A relatively recent guide to the German film industry, from its influential beginnings to the political turmoil that led to its current incarnation. -
Historical Dictionary of Russian and Soviet Cinema
by
Call Number: Main Reference Collection PN1998.2 .R578 2009ISBN: 0810860724Publication Date: 2008-11-07This is one of the most comprehensive and engaging overviews of Russian and Soviet cinema from the silent film era through the early 2000s. -
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
by
Call Number: Main Reference Collection FOLIO PN1997.8 .I58 1997ISBN: 1558624538Publication Date: 2000-12-12An in-depth four-volume guide to the film industry. Includes information on films, directors, actors, and writers. -
The International Film Index, 1895-1990
by
Call Number: Main Reference Collection FOLIO PN1998 .G62 1991ISBN: 0862916232Publication Date: 1991-12-01An extensive international list of film titles with release date and director listed.
-
International Guide to Literature on Film
by
Call Number: Main Reference Collection PN1997.85 .I57 1994ISBN: 0862915953Publication Date: 1994-10-01This is another great guide to films that have been based on literature, with a emphasis on international literature and films. Covers the 1930s to the 1990s and contains 7,500 entries organized by the author name and the film title.
-
The New Historical Dictionary of the American Film Industry
by
Call Number: Main Reference Collection FOLIO PN1993.5.U6 S539 1998ISBN: 081083426XPublication Date: 1998-06-11An extremely readable guide to the American film industry that often provides an in-depth look into the more obscure tidbits of early cinema, with comprehensive entries on defunct production companies and a large bibliography for anybody that wants to learn more. -
The Off-Hollywood Film Guide
by
Call Number: Main Reference Collection PN1995.9.F67 W54 2002ISBN: 0812992075Publication Date: 2002-08-13An essential guide to the independent and foreign film market from an expert in the field of film commentary. Contains an essentials list as well as hundreds of other briefly-described entries. -
The Oxford History of World Cinema
by
Call Number: Main Reference Collection PN1993.5.A1 O96 1996ISBN: 0198112572Publication Date: 1996-11-06A large overview of cinema that makes trends and themes its focus as it goes through the years and around the world. -
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
by
Call Number: Main Reference Collection FOLIO PN1993.45 .S35 2007ISBN: 0028657918Publication Date: 2006-12-15This four volume set is comprised of more than 16,000 entries. Subtopics include countries, history, philosophies, and more, as well as information on individual films. -
Women Filmmakers and Their Films
by
Call Number: Main Reference Collection FOLIO PN1998.2 .W66 1998ISBN: 1558623574Publication Date: 1998-05-01A much-needed addition to the field, this unique guide contains 250 comprehensive entries that cover the late 19th century to the late 1990s and shows the growing evolution of women in the cinema.
