Film Reviews and Information About Films: Print Film Review Collections
This guide is designed to help locate the many resources available from the University of Iowa regarding cinema and the film industry, with special consideration towards film reviews.
These are print collections of film reviews. They can be found in the reference alcoves found on the west side of the first floor of the Main Library.
-
Film Review Annual (1981-2002)
by
Call Number: Main Reference Collection PN1993.3 .F48ISBN: 0891981357This annual publication reprints entire reviews of full-length and, in some cases, includes citations to additional reviews. -
Magill's Survey of Cinema: English Language Films
by
Call Number: Main Reference PN1993.45.M3 and Main Reference PN1993.45.M33ISBN: 0893562254These two series have essay reviews of representative English language films. The first series examines 515 films, and the second series examines 751 films. Volume 6 of the second series contains cumulative indexes to both series. -
Magill's Survey of Cinema: Foreign Language Films (8 volumes, to 1984)
by
Call Number: Main Reference PN1993.45.M34 1985ISBN: 0893562432This series contains critical essays on 700 films originating in languages other than English. Cumulative indexes to the series are in volume 8.
-
Magill's Survey of Cinema: Silent Films (3 volumes, 1902-1929)
by
Call Number: Main Reference PN1995.75.M33ISBN: 0893562394This series contains articles on individual silent films arranged alphabetically by film title. Volume 3 contains cumulative indexes.
-
Magill's Cinema Annual (1982-latest)
Call Number: Main Reference PN1993.3.M3ISBN: 1414441401Each annual contains essay reviews of English and foreign language films released in the United States during the year. Citations to additional reviews are given. -
The New York Times Film Reviews (1913-2000)
by
Call Number: Main Reference fPN1998.N49ISBN: 0824075935NYTFR contains reprints of reviews from The New York Times. The reviews are arranged chronologically. To find the review, you need the date of publication, so find the Index volumes. There are title, personal name, and corporation indexes. -
Variety's Film Reviews (1907-1996)
by
Call Number: Main Reference fPN1993.V34 1983ISBN: 0835227847Reprints of Variety reviews are arranged chronologically, with a title index for 1907-1980 in volume 16. The title index for 1981-84 is in volume 18, and title and director indexes for 1985-1996 are in the back of each volume.
