Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These resources are good for answering background questions. They are also considered clinical tools that are used at the point of care. They provide quick information and overviews.
BMJ Best Practice
Best Practice has been designed and built from the ground up for use specifically as a decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion are combined in a single source and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Provides a second opinion, without the need for checking multiple resources.
Formerly known as First Consult and part of ClinicalKey, these overviews provide easy-to-scan, actionable information for clinicians on diagnosis, treatment, monitoring, screening, and prevention of diseases and conditions. They are developed by Elsevier’s Point of Care Editorial team with new topics added regularly.
DynaMed Plus (Dynamic Medical Information System) is a quick and easy-to-use medical reference system designed for use at the point of care. It contains clinically organized summaries of thousands of topics and is updated several times daily from review of the research literature. Providing the most current, unbiased, evidence-based information to enable physicians to help them provide the best care possible to their patients, DynaMed is a useful resource in clinical, educational and research settings. USE IE 11+, Firefox, Chrome or Edge
Essential Evidence Plus and AHFS DI Essentials
Essential Evidence Plus is a clinical decision support system (formerly called InfoPOEMS) which includes over 13,000 conditions, diseases, and procedures. Every recommendation carries a strength-of-evidence rating that accurately grades each recommendation's merit on the basis of all of the evidence available in the relevant literature, including Cochrane Systematic Reviews.
Contains the Micromedex databases: POISINDEX, DRUGDEX, EMERGINDEX, PDR, Martindale, TOMES, and Drug-Reax, and Tomes, and the drug information tools: Martindales, PDR, Material safety data sheets prepared by the U.S. Pharmacopeial Convention, and Index nominum.
Natural Medicines (formerly Natural Standard)
Natural Medicines provides unbiased, evidence-based information and ratings on over 90,000 dietary supplements, natural medicines, and integrative therapies. This resource includes evidence-based monographs, commercial product ratings for over 90,000 dietary supplement products, an interaction checker, an effectiveness checker, and a nutrient depletion checker.
UpToDate is a practical clinical information service designed to provide instant access to just the information you need. It is written by a recognized faculty of experts who each address a specific clinical issue. They synthesize the latest evidence and best practices and provide detailed recommendations. [Access to UpToDate is co-funded by the Carver College of Medicine, the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, and Hardin Library for the Health Sciences.]
VisualDx is a diagnostic clinical support tool that includes over 2,800 adult and pediatric conditions as well as over 40,000 images. Clinicians can search by a diagnosis, build a patient- specific differential, or review over 20,000 medication reactions and adverse events. With expanded content across general medicine, VisualDx delivers speed and diagnostic accuracy at the point of care.
Case Files Collection
You can exit out of the pop-up window that asks you to sign in to your MyAccess profile. However, you must sign in to view and complete questions and save answers. AccessMedicine’s Case Files® Collection from McGraw-Hill Education offers the best-selling Case Files® content in an interactive format. Updated regularly, this comprehensive case collection helps students learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases.
CCOM Medical Curriculum Repository
Review materials from UI's preclinical curriculum. Includes CAPS materials related to PE skills, communication skills, biomedical ethics, clinical reasoning skills, and EBCP. MAS and MOHD materials as well as the Exemplars are included.
Encompasses all current and future JoVE video resources. JoVE publishes more than 1,200 videos annually across the 13 sections of the JoVE Video Journal and launches new subject series and collections to the JoVE Science Education Library several times a year. Access to both the fundamental building blocks of common laboratory techniques and the newest, cutting-edge experiments
Teaching Resource Centre Pharmacology Database (TRC)
Teaching Resource Centre Pharmacology Database (TRC) is a resource developed in the Netherlands primarily for medical and health sciences students. The database aims to facilitate learning of pharmacodynamics, pharmacokinetics, and drug mechanisms in the context of pathophysiology. It is useful as a reference or self-study tool, and can be used in the online version or through a free application. TRC includes many drugs prescribed in the U.S. and most drugs utilized in Europe. It is possible to enable links to Micromedex content by accessing “settings” on the bottom right side of screen.
UI Laboratory Services Handbook
From the University of Iowa's Department of Pathology
Lab Tests Online
From the American Association of Clinical Chemistry (AACC), this site is designed to help patients and caregivers understand various lab tests.
NEJM Resident 360
NEJM Resident 360
Designed specifically for residents, NEJM Resident 360 gives you the information, resources, and support you need to approach your rotations with confidence. Created to help you build your knowledge base and advance your career while connecting you with a supportive community of fellow residents as well as experts for clinical and professional insight. Resident 360 includes Student Corner for medical students.