Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
From National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus includes videos of common procedures, a directory of health organizations, a medical encyclopedia, a guide to drugs and supplements, and much more.
Stedman's Medical Dictionary
Part of the STAT!Ref collection, this dictionary provides audio pronunciations and information on commonly confused words.
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Part of the STAT!Ref collection, this dictionary includes pronunciations, standards abbreviation, and information on eponyms and etymologies.
PLEASE NOTE: To find Tabor's, when STAT!Ref opens, look through the list of books on the left of the screen.
Electronic Book Packages
These resources contain multiple electronic books and other information, such as patient education handouts.
ClinicalKey provides access to more than 1100 medical texts published by Elsevier, articles from more than 500 journals, practice guidelines, drug information, and patient education handouts. All can be searched together, individually, or by type of resource (books, journals, etc.) ClinicalKey replaces MDConsult.
Users must log in to (free) personal accounts to download PDFs.
This resource is not compatible with Internet Explorer.
If using Internet Explorer, add ClinicalKey to trusted sites.
AccessMedicine.com is an online resource that provides complete references and services for physicians, students, and health professionals who need immediate access to authoritative and current medical data. It is updated daily. The service's central resource is a repository of medical knowledge from internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, pharmacy, diagnosis and management, basic sciences, patient care, and more. All databases in the repository contain the latest editions core medical titles from the AccessLange collection.
AccessPharmacy is an online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. A flexible resource, AccessPharmacy allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across leading pharmacy online references.
Electronic medical library.
These resources can be good for answering background questions. They are also considered clinical tools that are used at the point of care to answer foreground questions.
BMJ Best Practice
Best Practice has been designed and built from the ground up for use specifically as a decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion are combined in a single source and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Provides a second opinion, without the need for checking multiple resources.
DynaMed Plus (Dynamic Medical Information System) is a quick and easy-to-use medical reference system designed for use at the point of care. It contains clinically organized summaries of thousands of topics and is updated several times daily from review of the research literature. Providing the most current, unbiased, evidence-based information to enable physicians to help them provide the best care possible to their patients, DynaMed is a useful resource in clinical, educational and research settings. USE IE 11+, Firefox, Chrome or Edge
Essential Evidence Plus and AHFS DI Essentials
Essential Evidence Plus is a clinical decision support system (formerly called InfoPOEMS) which includes over 13,000 conditions, diseases, and procedures. Every recommendation carries a strength-of-evidence rating that accurately grades each recommendation's merit on the basis of all of the evidence available in the relevant literature, including Cochrane Systematic Reviews.
Formerly known as First Consult and part of ClinicalKey, these overviews provide easy-to-scan, actionable information for clinicians on diagnosis, treatment, monitoring, screening, and prevention of diseases and conditions. They are developed by Elsevier’s Point of Care Editorial team with new topics added regularly.
Contains the Micromedex databases: POISINDEX, DRUGDEX, EMERGINDEX, PDR, Martindale, TOMES, and Drug-Reax, and Tomes, and the drug information tools: Martindales, PDR, Material safety data sheets prepared by the U.S. Pharmacopeial Convention, and Index nominum.
UpToDate is a point of care tool that provides answers to clinical questions. It includes information on diseases (treatment, diagnosis, etc) along with patient education information, clinical test information, etc..
UI Laboratory Services Handbook
From the University of Iowa's Department of Pathology
Lab Tests Online
From the American Association of Clinical Chemistry (AACC), this site is designed to help patients and caregivers understand various lab tests.
McGraw-Hill's Diagnosaurus 2.0 on AccessMedicine is a differential diagnosis tool that allows you to search 1000+ of differential diagnoses by: Symptoms, Diseases, & Organ system.
VisualDx gives general practitioners the ability to build a differential diagnosis that provides specialist information for more than 900 diseases and offers more than 16,000 related images.
Clinical Education Librarian