Health & Human Physiology: Child Life
Health & Human Physiology guide is for University of Iowa students, residents, fellows, & faculty.
Easy Reading Online
Use BrowZine to create your own library. Use it on the web or install the app on your mobile device.
- BrowZine Mobile Apps This link opens in a new windowAvailable for iOS, Android, and Kindle devices. BrowZine works by organizing the articles found in Open Access and subscription databases, uniting them into complete journals, then arranging these journals on a common newsstand. The result is an easy and familiar way to browse, read and monitor scholarly journals across the disciplines.
Podcast
- Child Life On CallA podcast that covers stories from parents, as well as resources for both families and professionals.
eBooks
The Handbook of Child Life by
Child life is a profession that draws on the insights of history, sociology, anthropology and psychology to serve children and families in many critical stress points in their lives, but especially when they are ill, injured or disabled and encounter the hosts of caregivers and institutions that collaborate to make them well. Children and their families can become overwhelmed by the task of understanding and navigating the healthcare environment and continue to face challenges through their daily encounters. It is the job of child life professionals to provide care and guidance in these negotiations to serve as culture brokers, interpreters of the healthcare apparatus to family and child and the child to medical professionals. Despite the best efforts to provide quality, sensitive psychosocial care to children and their families, they remain vulnerable to lingering aftereffects. The goal of this revised edition is to help prepare child life specialists to deliver the highest level of care to children and families in the context of these changing realities. Each chapter has been substantially revised and two new chapters have been added. This book will be a valuable resource for not only child life specialists but also nurses, occupational and recreational therapists, social workers and other hospital personnel.
ISBN: 9780398092139Publication Date: 2018-04-03
Children's Spatialities by
Drawing from a wide range of disciplines, including anthropology, sociology, architecture and geography, and international contributors, this volume offers both students and scholars with an interest in the interdisciplinary study of childhood a range of ways of thinking spatially about children's lives.
ISBN: 9781137464989Publication Date: 2016-04-02
Handbook of Medical Play Therapy and Child Life by
The Handbook of Medical Play Therapy and Child Life brings together the voices and clinical experiences of dedicated clinical practitioners in the fields of play therapy and child life. This volume offers fresh insights and up to date research in the use of play with children, adolescents, and families in medical and healthcare settings. Chapters take a strength-based approach to clinical interventions across a wide range of health-related issues, including autism, trauma, routine medical care, pending surgeries both large and small, injury, immune deficiency, and more. Through its focus on the resiliency of the child, the power of play, and creative approaches to healing, this handbook makes visible the growing overlap and collaboration between the disciplines of play therapy and child life.　
ISBN: 9781315527826Publication Date: 2017-12-12
Play and Social Skills for Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder by
This book discusses the deficits in the development and presentation of play behavior and social skills that are considered central characteristics of autism spectrum disorder (ASD). The book explains why play provides an important context for social interactions and how its absence can further exacerbate social deficits over time.
ISBN: 9783319725000
Play Therapy by
This authoritative work brings together leading play therapists to describe state-of-the-art clinical approaches and applications. The book explains major theoretical frameworks and summarizes the contemporary play therapy research base, including compelling findings from neuroscience. Contributors present effective strategies for treating children struggling with such problems as trauma, maltreatment, attachment difficulties, bullying, rage, grief, and autism spectrum disorder. Practice principles are brought to life in vivid case illustrations throughout the volume. Special topics include treatment of military families and play therapy interventions for adolescents and adults.
ISBN: 9781462517640Publication Date: 2014-09-12
Play Therapy with Vulnerable Populations by
Play Therapy with Vulnerable Populations: No Child Forgotten provides the latest research-supported, play-based interventions for clinicians to utilize with these children. This book encourages the reader through real-world application case studies to honor the significance of the therapeutic relationship and balance humanism and therapeutic warmth with evidence-based practices.
ISBN: 9781442232532Publication Date: 2014-12-11
Librarian
Databases
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowProvides access to bibliographic information in Medline and other sources. (See the available Help Sheet). For full functionality, log in to your MyNCBI account..
- CINAHL This link opens in a new windowRECOMMEND USING CHROME
[Help Sheet for Search CINAHL - PDF] CINAHL Plus provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals. Full text material includes more than 80 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. NB: 20 concurrent user limit - PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThe APA PsycINFO database from the American Psychological Association (APA) covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. PsycINFO's peer-reviewed coverage is worldwide, and includes references and abstracts to 2,400 journals in more than 30 languages, and book chapters and books in the English language. Coverage spans 1600s – present and includes over 5 million peer-reviewed records.
- Embase This link opens in a new windowDue to higher security needed, EMBASE now requires a login for all exports.
Help Searching Embase A biomedical and pharmaceutical database contains bibliographic records with abstracts from EMBASE (1974-present) and Medline (1966-present) deduplicated and searchable with EMTREE. (See the available Help Sheet) - Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowClick on the "ViewIt@UILink" in your results list for UILink services including full text (when available), links to the InfoHawk+ Catalog, Interlibrary Loan requests and more. [TO USE THIS OPTION FROM OFF-CAMPUS: Additional information about Google Scholar]
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Cochrane reviews bring you the combined results of the world's best medical research studies, and are recognised as the gold standard in evidence-based healthcare.
Books
A Child in Pain by Call Number: RJ365 .K88 2010ISBN: 9781845904364Publication Date: 2010-04-01Hardin Library stacks (4th floor)
Coping in Young Children by Call Number: HV888.5 .Z45 1994ISBN: 9781557661272Publication Date: 1994-07-30Request from UI Libraries Annex
Family-Centered Care for Children Needing Specialized Health and Developmental Services by Call Number: RJ102 .S53 1994ISBN: 093782187XPublication Date: 1994Request from UI Libraries Annex
Helping Children Cope with Stress by Call Number: BF723.S75 B74 1984ISBN: 9780787938642Publication Date: 1997-07-09Request from UI Libraries Annex
Meeting Children's Psychosocial Needs Across the Healthcare Continuum by Call Number: RJ47.5 .R656 2005ISBN: 9780890799925Publication Date: 2005-04-01Request from UI Libraries Annex
Meeting Children's Psychosocial Needs Across the Health-Care Continuum by ISBN: 9781416410805Publication Date: 2017-09-29Hardin Library Stacks
