Guides

A-Z E-Resources

Find the best library databases for your research.

Find articles in scholarly journals and magazines with these databases and indexes. Look for UILink button in search results to link to full text resources (when available). For assistance please visit E-Resources Help: problems, tips, etc.

Restricted Resource - UI Access Only – Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Iowa Mobile Resource – Mobile-enabled resource

Database Trials (Resources Under Evaluation)

Hide descriptions
Show descriptions
Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
  • Restricted Resource
New
AccessSurgery from McGraw-Hill Medical introduces a whole new dimension to surgical education and clinical practice. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online surgery resource enhances medical knowledge and delivers quick answers to surgical inquiries – all in one place.
New
Birds of the World is a powerful resource that brings deep, scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology into a single platform where biologists and birders can find comprehensive life history information on birds. Every bird has a story. Discover them all with Birds of the World.
  • Restricted Resource
New
ClinMicroNow is a service from American Society for Microbiology Press, in partnership with Wiley, offering its gold standard clinical microbiology publications online for quick and easy access. ClinMicroNow includes: Manual of Clinical Microbiology, Cases in Medical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases, and Clinical Microbiology Procedures Handbook
New
Delve into the cultural study of music and explore content from across the globe with this diverse and comprehensive collection. Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive, the material in this collection includes thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study.
New
From feast to famine, explore primary source material documenting the story of food and drink throughout history. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as charting key issues around agriculture, nutrition and food production.
New
The University of Iowa Libraries is in the process of moving its institutional repository, Iowa Research Online (IRO), from bepress Digital Commons to Ex Libris Esploro. Although most of the content is the same in both systems, some legacy content is only available in Digital Commons and some new content is only available in Esploro. The two systems will exist in parallel for the next few months. Please contact lib-ir@uiowa.edu for assistance with either system.
Iowa Research Online preserves and provides access to the research and scholarship created by the University of Iowa’s faculty, students, and staff. The research papers, theses, dissertations, books, conference presentations, journals, and multimedia here represent Iowa’s rich intellectual and cultural community.
New
LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics and geographic locations for improved access.
New
The New Play Exchange ® (NPX) is the world's largest digital library of scripts by living writers. National New Play Network (NNPN) is an alliance of professional theaters that collaborate in innovative ways to develop, produce, and extend the life of new plays.
New
Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Communication combines the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing.
  • Restricted Resource
New
New Popular
Research companies, deals, investors, funds, limited partners, advisors, founders and C-suite. Company data includes startups, VC and PE-backed companies, as well as mature private and public firms

FIRST TIME USERS: please create an account using your University of Iowa email address (@uiowa.edu) and a password of your account.
  • Restricted Resource
New
NB: All users need to register with a username and password.
A web-based analytics solution that provides comprehensive access to the research performance of over 14,000 research institutions and their associated researchers from 230 nations worldwide, SciVal allows users to visualize research performance, benchmark relative to peers, develop strategic partnerships, and identify and analyze new, emerging research trends, and create uniquely tailored reports.
New
Currently only Module I is available; Module II coming soon. This collection explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors throughout the twentieth century. Investigate the breadth and complexity of human sexual understanding through the work of leading American sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and the public consciousness.
  • Restricted Resource
New
Trismegistos is a conglomerate of databases, with Texts, Collections, Archives, People, Places, and Authors as main sections, dealing with texts from the ancient western world dated between roughly 800 BC and AD 800.
NB: Limited to one user at a time.
New
Victorian Popular Culture is a portal comprised of four modules, inviting users into the darkened halls, small backrooms, big tops and travelling venues that hosted everything from spectacular shows and bawdy burlesque, to the world of magic, spiritualist séances, optical entertainments and the first moving pictures.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...