Tools
- Research Guides and TutorialsTutorials and guides from the University of Iowa Libraries.
- GIS Instructional Lab243 JH
- Writing CenterUniversity of Iowa Writing Center helps all in the University community improve their writing.
Start With These
- Browzine Tool for GeographyReview journals in geographic fields
- E&E News This link opens in a new windowEnvironment & Energy Publishing (E&E) is the leading source for comprehensive, daily coverage of environmental and energy policy and markets. E&E's five daily online publications are considered "must-reads" by people who track and influence energy, environmental and climate policy.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases covering a broad range of subjects.
- Elsevier ScienceDirect E-Books This link opens in a new windowSearch full text collection from 1995 to present covers a variety of subject areas and disciplines.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowClick on the "ViewIt@UILink" in your results list for UILink services including full text (when available), links to the InfoHawk+ Catalog, Interlibrary Loan requests and more. [TO USE THIS OPTION FROM OFF-CAMPUS: Additional information about Google Scholar]
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowfocuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.
- Open Science Directory This link opens in a new windowSearch tool for open access journals and journals in special programs for developing countries.
- ProQuest Archive Finder This link opens in a new window
Archive Finder is a current directory of over 5,750 repositories and over 206,000 collections of primary source material housed across the United States and the United Kingdom. Archive Finder draws from three major information sources: the Directory of Archives and Manuscript Repositories in the United States (DAMRUS), the National Union Catalogue of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC), and the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United States (NIDS).
Archive Finder provides information for these types of primary source material:
- Collections of original manuscript materials such as family papers, personal papers, and collections about a person or subject. This can include printed material, maps, and photographs if it is part of a larger manuscript or archival collection.
- Single item manuscripts such as diaries, logbooks, account books, or letters
- Collections of private company or government archives provided that they are regularly available to the public
- Collections consisting entirely of handwritten, typewritten, or photo-reproduced copies of manuscripts or archives
- Oral history records consisting of tapes and/or transcripts of interviews.
This product is updated annually. - Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It contains 47 million records, 70% with abstracts and over 19,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. It also includes over 4.6 million conference papers, 100% MEDLINE and EMBASE coverage, and interoperability with Engineering Village and Reaxys. In addition, Scopus offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- Urban Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCovers essential areas related to urban studies including urban affairs, community development, and urban history
Contact Me
Google Scholar
For off-campus use set your Scholar Preferences (Library Links) to The University of Iowa.