Finding Government Information
E-Books
Encyclopedia of Health Care Management by
The topic of health care management has escalated to one of the most widely discussed and debated topics in the health care industry, MBA programs, and in the field of medicine in general. In the 1980s, the industry was relatively stable and the need for combining business acumen with medicine was less than today. However, as we enter the 21st century, the need for applying business and management skills to the health care industry is stronger than ever. This Encyclopedia covers every topic a medical professional, institutional administrator, or MBA student would need to know about the business of health care. Key Features * Over 600 entries * More than 160 expert contributors from the fields of medicine, public health, business * Tables on medical degrees, medical specialties, medical organizations, health care acronyms, medical legislation * Unites the business and medical worlds, and spans the academic, corporate, and governmental arenas Topics Covered Accounting and Activity-Based Costing / Economics / Finance / Health Policy / Human Resources / Information Technology / Institutions and Organizations / International Health Care Issues / Legal and Regulatory Issues / Managed Care / Marketing and Customer Value / Operations and Decision Making / Pharmaceuticals and Clinical Trials / Quality / Statistics and Data Mining / Strategy
ISBN: 9780761926740Publication Date: 2003-10-21
Environmental and Health Risk Assessment and Management by
This book is about the legal, economical, and practical assessment and management of risky activities arising from routine, catastrophic environmental and occupational exposures to hazardous agents. It includes a discussion of aspects of US and European Union law concerning risky activities, and then develops the economic analyses that are relevant to implementing choices within a supply and demand framework. The book also discusses exposure-response and time-series models used in assessing air and water pollution, as well as probabilistic cancer models, including toxicological compartmental, pharmaco-kinetic models and epidemiological relative risks and odds ratios-based models. Statistical methods to measure agreement, correlation and discordance are also developed. The methods and criteria of decision-analysis, including several measures of value of information (VOI) conclude the expositions. This book is an excellent text for students studying risk assessment and management.
ISBN: 9781402037764Publication Date: 2006-01-27
Measuring Efficiency in Health Care by
With the healthcare sector accounting for a sizeable proportion of national expenditures, the pursuit of efficiency has become a central objective of policymakers within most health systems. However, the analysis and measurement of efficiency is a complex undertaking, not least due to the multiple objectives of health care organizations and the many gaps in information systems. In response to this complexity, research in organizational efficiency analysis has flourished. This 2006 book examines some of the most important techniques currently available to measure the efficiency of systems and organizations, including data envelopment analysis and stochastic frontier analysis, and also presents some promising new methodological approaches. Such techniques offer the prospect of many new and fruitful insights into health care performance. Nevertheless, they also pose many practical and methodological challenges. This is an important critical assessment of the strengths and limitations of efficiency analysis applied to health and health care.
ISBN: 9780521851442Publication Date: 2006-06-01
Project Management for Healthcare Informatics by
Through its use of real clinical examples, this book provides an explanation of the project management process tailored for nurses. It first describes, in detail, the project management process along with its relationship to the phases of the project life cycle. Coverage includes the tools available to successfully complete each phase of the project management process and advance the project life cycle. With the aid of case studies and project examples, the book then examines how to apply these principles in the day-to-day work of the nurse, whether manager, staff nurse, educator, researcher, or informatician.
ISBN: 9780387736839Publication Date: 2007-11-25
Public Health Policy and Ethics by
Public Health Policy and Ethics brings together philosophers and practitioners to address the foundations and principles upon which public health policy may be advanced. What is the basis that justifies public health in the first place? Why should individuals be disadvantaged for the sake of the group? How do policy concerns and clinical practice work together and work against each other? Can the boundaries of public health be extended to include social ills that are amenable to group-dynamic solutions? These are some of the crucial questions that form the core of this volume of original essays sure to cause practitioners to engage in a critical re-evaluation of the role of ethics in public health policy. This volume is unique because of its philosophical approach. It develops a theoretical basis for public health and then examines cutting-edge issues of practice that include social and political issues of public health. In this way the book extends the usual purview of public health. Public Health Policy and Ethics is of interest to those working in public health policy, ethics and social philosophy. It may be used as a textbook for courses on public health policy and ethics, medical ethics, social philosophy and applied or public philosophy.
ISBN: 9781402022074Publication Date: 2006-05-17
Understanding Health Policy, Seventh Edition by
Understand how the healthcare system works - and how you can succeed in it The Seventh Edition of Understanding Health Policy: A Clinical Approach remains the most trusted and comprehensive guide to healthcare available and provides everything you need to build a solid foundation on the field's most critical issues. This concise and engaging textbook clearly explains the all major aspects of healthcare, including finance, organization, and reimbursement. It will help you develop a clearer, more systematic way of thinking about health care in the United States, its problems, and the alternatives for managing and solving these problems. The book features a unique approach, using clinical vignettes to highlight key policy issues, clarify difficult concepts, and demonstrate how they apply to real-world situations, affecting both patients and professionals alike. Expert practitioners in both the public and private healthcare sectors, the authors cover the entire scope of our healthcare system. They carefully weave key principles, descriptions, and concrete examples into chapters that make important health policy issues interesting and understandable. Understanding Health Policy makes otherwise difficult concepts easy to understand--so you can make better decisions, improve outcomes, and enact positive change on a daily basis. The Seventh Edition features: Updated throughout to reflect the latest changes and events, including additional content on value-based care, Choosing Wisely#65533;, etc. Expanded coverage of the impact of the Affordable Care Act, including Accountable Care Organizations and their impact, and global issues in health policy End-of-chapter summaries and comprehensive lists of review questions to reinforce what you have learned Includes "Questions and Discussion Topics" for classroom or individual study
ISBN: 9781259584756Publication Date: 2016-02-29
Health Policy
- American Public Health Policy Statement DatabaseAPHA influences policies and sets priorities on a broad set of issues, including children's health, access to care, environmental health, managed care, public health infrastructure, disease control, health disparities, bioterrorism, international health and tobacco control. APHA advocates for state and federal funding for health and professional education programs in public health.
