Master of Public Affairs: Criminology

This guide introduces students and faculty to information resources and services available to support the Master of Public Affairs Program at the University of Iowa

Databases and Indexes

Criminal Justice Research Network (CJRN)

Sociological Abstracts
Provides article abstracts from 1,800 journals in sociology, from 1952 to the present. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]

Justice Information Center
Maintained by the National Criminal Justice Reference Service. Topical sections such as Criminal Justice Statistics, Juvenile Justice, Research, and Victims provide links to additional Internet resources.

HeinOnline
HeinOnline is the world's largest image-based legal research collection and contains more than nine centuries of legal history. All content is image-based in PDF format just as they appear in the original print copy thus preserving the authenticity of the hard copy in a digital environment.
LexisNexis Academic (now called Nexis Uni)
Use Advanced Options to narrow searches to State and Federal Cases and/or Law Reviews.

Reference E-books

21st Century Criminology: A Reference Handbook
ISBN: 1412960193

Available online only in Sage eReference.
Crime in the United States (Uniform Crime Reports) Crime in the United States contains findings from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) of the offenses, known to law enforcement, released annually from its Uniform Crime Reporting Program.
ISBN: 1598887653
Encyclopedia of Community Corrections
ISBN: 1412990831

Publication Date: 2012

Available online only in Sage eReference.
Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory
ISBN: 1412959187

Available online in Sage eReference.
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice
ISBN: 0470670282

Available online only.
Encyclopedia of Race and Crime
ISBN: 1412950856

Available online only in Sage eReference.
Encyclopedia of Transnational Crime and Justice
ISBN: 1412990777

Publication Date: 2012

Available online only in Sage eReference.
Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention
ISBN: 1412960479

Available online only in Sage eReference.
Social History of Crime and Punishment in America
ISBN: 1412988764

Available online in Sage eReference.

Liaison Librarian

Brett Cloyd

Email Me

Contact:

Main Library

319.335.5743

Subjects: English as a Second Language (ESL), Geography, Government Information, International Studies, Planning and Public Affairs, Political Science

Doing Criminological Research

Doing Criminological Research by Pamela Davies; Peter Francis
ISBN: 9781473902725

Publication Date: 2018-12-28

The new edition of this bestselling textbook comes completely revised and updated to take students on a guided tour of criminological research. As a trusted companion, this book brings together a range of experts in the field to provide key perspectives on how to prepare, do and present research. Each chapter comes with a range of learning features and contextualised case studies, giving an in-depth review on conducting research projects. The book: Includes fascinating case studies on transnational crime and policing, victims, male offenders, institutional abuse and more Comes with study questions, activities, key terms and a glossary Includes visual material which highlights and illustrates key points Contains new chapters on mixed methods; web based criminological research; experimental criminological research and quantitative criminological research This is the go-to for any student studying criminology, essential to those conducting their own research in the field.