Welcome
We have prepared this LibGuide to help teachers and students prepare for their National History Day visit to the University of Iowa Libraries. The workshop will include a short introduction to specific Libraries resources, then students are encouraged to use those resources to begin their research.
Dates
Dates for the University of Iowa's National History Day Workshops are:
November 19, 2009 (full)
January 21, 2010
February 16, 2010
Click here to register
Workshops begin at 9:00am
NHD Borrow's Permit App
In order to check out materials students will need to have permission from a school official and submit a Community Borrower's Card application. Instructors should return the completed forms at least one week prior to their workshop date. Return forms to:
Janalyn Moss
University Libraries
100 Main Library
Iowa City, IA 52242-1420
or fax to 319-335-5900
National History Day
National History Day: http://www.nationalhistoryday.org/

Collections of Interest
Government Publications http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/govpubs
The UI Libraries is a depository for US federal, State of Iowa, United Nations, and European Union publications. Through these depository programs, the UI Libraries receives all publications available from these agencies, with the understanding that they will be freely and readily available to the public.
Iowa Digital Library http://digital.lib.uiowa.edu
The UI Libraries' Digital Library Services department coordinates digital collections of local primary source materials, including images, text, audio, and video, at the Iowa Digital Library and Iowa Heritage Digital Collections sites. The collections are accessible from home without a Guest Access login. You can view a powerpoint presentation of the collections at http://digital.lib.uiowa.edu/presentations/nhd.htm.
Iowa Women's Archives http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/iwa
Special Collections & University Archives http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/spec-coll
The IWA and Special Collections collects primary source materials in the form of manuscript and other unique collections.
Map Collection http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/maps
The Map Collection contains maps, aerial photographs, gazetteers, atlases, reference sources concerning maps and cartography.
Subject Guide |
Janalyn MossUI NHD Committee
Brett Cloyd
Kathy Hodson
Kären Mason
Marianne Mason
David McCartney
Mary McInroy
Janalyn Moss
Ericka Raber
Steve Ostrem
Kristi Robinson-Bontrager
Kelly Thormodson
Janet Weaver
Jen Wolfe
Future Themes
Future Contest Themes
(Subject to Change)
- 2011 Diplomacy and Dialogue in History: Successes, Failures, Consequences
- 2012 Revolution, Reaction, Reform in History
- 2013 Turning Points in History: People, Ideas, Events
- 2014 Geography in History: Impact, Influence, Change
- 2015 Rights and Responsibilities in History
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait