Iowa Newspapers
- Newspapers.com Library Edition-Iowa newspapers This link opens in a new windowHistorical newspapers dating from the early 1700s into the early 2000s (not current). Newspapers.com Library Edition contains full runs and portions of runs of around 150 Iowa newspapers
- Historical Iowa City NewspapersThis archive covers newspapers in the Iowa City area from 1840 to 1929, made accessible through the Iowa City Public Library.
- Daily Iowan Historic NewspapersDating back to 1868 the Daily Iowan Newspaper Collection provides access to digitized versions of The Daily Iowan and its predecessors: the University Reporter (1868-81), the Vidette (1879-81), the Vidette-Reporter (1881-1901) and the University Mirror (1881). The newspaper editions are full text searchable. Though not yet comprehensive, issues will continue to be added up to 2006.
- Iowa City Press Citizen (1965-) This link opens in a new windowPart of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers (HNP) Iowa Collection.
- Des Moines Register (1871-) This link opens in a new windowPart of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers (HNP) Iowa Collection.
- Iowa Newspaper - Community History ArchiveDigitized newspaper access from across the state of Iowa. Coverage varies by title.
Iowa Digital Library
- Iowa Digital LibraryThe Iowa Digital Library features more than a million digital objects created from the holdings of the University of Iowa Libraries and its campus partners. Included are illuminated manuscripts, historic maps, fine art, historic newspapers, scholarly works, and more.
Other Iowa Resources
Iowa Digital Library - Iowa City Town and Campus Scenes
Busy downtown scene near Racine's Cigar Store and Hotel Jefferson, Iowa City, Iowa, between 1920 and 1925
Frederick W. Kent Collection of Photographs, 1866-2000
Campus and Iowa History>>Iowa City Town and Campus Scenes
The Iowa Digital Library features more than a million digital objects created from the holdings of the University of Iowa Libraries and its campus partners. Included are illuminated manuscripts, historic maps, fine art, historic newspapers, scholarly works, and more. Digital collections are coordinated by Digital Research & Publishing.
Educational use only, no other permissions given. U.S. and international copyright laws may protect this digital object. Commercial use or distribution of the object is not permitted without prior permission of the copyright holder.
Other Newspapers - Midwest
- Chicago Defender, 1909-1975 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers Collection) This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full page and article images with searchable full text.
- Chicago Tribune, 1849-1998 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowContains full-text access to the Chicago Tribune dating from 1849-1995.
- Detroit Free Press, 1831-1922 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowThis historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
- Minneapolis Star Tribune, 1867-2001 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowThis historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
- St. Louis Post-Dispatch, 1874-2003 (Proquest Historical newspapers) This link opens in a new windowThis historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Your Librarian
Janalyn Moss
Contact:
The University of Iowa Libraries
100 Main Library
Iowa City, IA 52242
100 Main Library
Iowa City, IA 52242
319/335-5698
Journals about Iowa history
- Iowa Heritage Illustratedcontinues The Palimpsest
H-Iowa Discussion Network
- H-Iowa: The History and Culture of IowaH-Iowa's primary mission is to foster discussion about the history and culture of the state of Iowa, and, relatedly, the history and culture of the Midwest, as well as provide a forum for information exchange.