Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Life Magazine Archive (1936-2000)
Presents an extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning its very first issue in November, 1936 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format.
People Magazine Archive (1974-2000)
Presents an extensive collection of the prominent, popular magazine dating from its very first issue in March, 1974 through December, 2000, in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. the magazine has focused on the stories of people in and behind the news. Each issue contains a blend of celebrity and human interest stories. Taken as a whole, the archive chronicles popular culture and trends over time.
Time Magazine Archive (1923-2000)
The Time Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Time contains reports of national and international current events, politics, sports, and entertainment. Capturing the relevant news for a given week, the magazine remains an important resource for researchers studying just about any aspect of 20th-Century history and life. Front and back covers as well as all articles and advertisements contained in the original publication are included.
U.S. News & World Report Magazine Archive (1926-1984)
Unique in that it covers the magazine from the beginning of its three predecessor titles. The magazine features a broad variety of topics in current events, politics and business, and is well known for its ranked lists of businesses and institutions.
Documentaries at Main Library Media Services
Check InfoHawk+ to find documentaries in the University of Iowa Library Main Media Collection. Our collections includes many titles such as:
Sports Illustrated Magazine Archive (1954-2000)
presents an extensive collection of the popular sports magazine dating from its very first issue in August, 1954 through December, 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. The magazine has aimed to chronicle the weekly events in the world of sports. Each issue originally focused on more upper-class sporting activities such as polo and boating, but in the 1960s the magazine expanded its focus to include the increasingly popular professional sports of baseball, football, and, eventually, basketball.
Online access to Sports Illustrated is also available through Academic Search Elite.
Available from 1984 - current.
Other Helpful Links
LA84 Digital Library
LA84 SPORT HISTORY LIBRARY
The foundation’s LA84 Sport History Library is a growing digital collection of more than 70,000 online documents on Olympic and general sport history. A hardcopy collection of thousands of books, periodicals, other publications and photo images supplements the online holdings.
Academic Journals for Sports Studies