Oxford English Dictionary

• The definitive record of the English language
• Includes present-day definitions
• Also includes the history of individual words and provides various examples of their usage
• Continually updated
• Intuitive to use
• Full definitions of words as well as their historical usage
• Requires a university login

​Folger Digital Texts

• Primary research library for Shakespeare research in the United States
• Includes complete poetry and plays
• Provides synopsis and character lists
• Easy to navigate
• Free
• Fully downloadable source code 

World Shakespeare Bibliography

• Best resource to find works of Shakespeare translated into languages other than English
• Requires university login

Early English Books Online

• Reproduces the text of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America along with works printed in English elsewhere from 1473-1700
• Contains the works of Shakespeare, his contemporaries, those who influenced him
• Requires university login

Project Gutenberg: The Complete Works of Shakespeare (in English)

• Not solely focused on Shakespeare
• Offers fewer features than Folger Digital Texts
• Free to use
• Easy to download texts in plain format for data mining and analysis

Shakespeare Specific Dictionary

• Gives the definitions of words found in Shakespeare's works
• Explains how words are used in Shakespeare 
• Indexes words and definitions to complete works of poetry and plays
• Includes character relationship charts
• Free 10 use trial, then subscription-based (not supported by the UI Libraries)