Skip to Main Content
Skip to content
University of Iowa

University Libraries

ENGL:3287 Shakespeare in Iowa and the World: Performance & Multimedia

Blaine Greteman's summer 2018 undergraduate class created this guide.

Performance History and Multimedia

Drama Online (RSC)

  • Features the RSC Live Collection and Shakespeare's Globe on Screen 2 (2016-2018)
  • Easy navigation
  • Filter through categories like Play, Monologue, Video, Image etc.
  • Click "Show Transcript" under the control bar for the play's text to scroll along with the video
  • Search for text within "Show Transcript"

Kanopy

  • Includes popular films, educational resources, and documentaries
  • Requires a university login
  • Browse the Performing Arts and Literature categories for many adaptations of Shakespeare's plays
  • Contains videos focused on teaching development as well as those geared towards students
  • Features a 24 video course on reading and understanding Shakespeare
  • Transcripts are available: while a video is playing, select "more" and then chose "transcript"

Theatre in Video

  • Includes productions of plays, videos of workshops, documentaries, interviews with actors, and introductory or critical videos
  • Requires a university login
  • Find Shakespeare specific materials by clicking on the William Shakespeare tab under "People" or search by title
  • Most videos include transcripts that can be searched or read while viewing

Henslowe-Alleyn Digitisation Project

  • Free archive of material regarding theater performances in early modern England
  • Collecting began in the 1870s with George Warner, an expert at the British Museum
  • Project Founder and Creator: Grace Ioppolo, Professor at the University of Reading
  • Completed Project
  • Offers background on how these manuscripts were collected
  • Explains the history of Philip Henslowe and Edward Alleyn (the original owners and writers of the manuscripts)
  • Presents a collection of digital essays and photographs of the manuscripts
  • Easy to navigate

Records of Early English Drama (REED) Online

  • Research collaboration with the University of Toronto Press
  • Contains historical records (available digitally) which document drama, secular music, and other entertainment forms
  • Free to use without a subscription
  • Records are from the Middle Ages until 1642
  • New collections of records are added regularly
  • Records have been transcribed and translated into English
  • "About the Records" tab features glossary, bibliography, symbols and abbreviations