The University of Iowa Libraries offers many services and resources to meet the research and information needs of students, staff, and faculty, as well as community members. We have subject specific resources, such as databases, articles, print and e-books, as well as special collections and materials for conducting primary research. You can talk to any librarian via our Chat and our walk up reference desk. We also have fun reading material as well that you can browse digitally in InfoHawk+ or in person in our stacks. Ask a librarian for help in finding a title or recommending something!
If you can't find something, you can request what you need for free as a student, staff, or faculty member at the University of Iowa through our Interlibrary Loan service. Want to recommend a new title for us? You can also do that using this form: Recommend a Library Purchase. Just specify why you need it and we can order it for you to check out.
Click on the tile and links below to learn more about our services and resources.
ACCESS ONLINE COLLECTIONS
The Libraries subscribes to over 1,200 databases, including streaming film and audio resources.
RESEARCH APPOINTMENTS
Librarians can meet with you one-on-one to discuss your research topics, assignments, or questions.
INTERLIBRARY LOAN and DOCUMENT DELIVERY
For titles or materials we don't own, you can request books, book chapters, articles, DVDs, and more through InterLibrary Loan.
You can also request document delivery and hold items for pickup.
PRINTING AND SCANNING
Printing is available at all campus libraries. For the full list of printers on campus, click HERE.
At the Main Library you can connect your personal laptop to the campus's eduroam or use any of our desktop computers to connect to the printing stations in our Learning Commons and the ITC lab on the 2nd floor at the Main Library.
RESEARCH WITH PRIMARY SOURCES
Special Collections & University Archives, including the Iowa Women's Archives contain thousands of primary source collections, including rare and special manuscripts & books, including artist books, unique research collections featuring Iowa historical images, people, and more.