Skip to Main Content

Resources for Singers: Soprano

Soprano Song Literature

28 American art songs : for high voice and piano.

[New York] : G. Schirmer, Inc., [2015]
FOLIO M1619 .T852 2015

Concert songs : 45 songs for high voice and piano. Volume 2 : (2001-2012) / William Bolcom.

[New York] : Edward B. Marks Music, [2014?]
FOLIO M1620.B68 C66 2014 v.2

Collected songs : for high voice and piano / John Musto.

New York : Peermusic, [2014]
FOLIO M1620.M985 S67 2014

Coloratura arias for soprano : complete package / compiled and edited by Robert L. Larsen.

[New York] : G. Schirmer ; Milwaukee, WI : Distributed by Hal Leonard, 2013.
Audio record 36226 CD
FOLIO M1507 .C647 2013

The Lieder anthology complete package : high voice / edited by Virginia Saya and Richard Walters

translations and International Phonetic Alphabet by Martha Gerhart ; diction lesson recordings by Irene Spiegelman ; accompaniment recordings by Laura Ward.
Milwaukee, WI : Hal Leonard, [2013]
Audio record 36809 CD
M1619 .L4332 2013

15 more American art songs : high voice / compiled by Richard Walters.

New York : G. Schirmer, Inc. ; Milwaukee, WI : Distributed by Hal Leonard, 2013.
Audio record 39110 CD
FOLIO M1619 .A496 2013

Twenty-one concert arias for soprano : complete volumes I and II / Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

original texts with English versions by Lorraine Noel Finley. -- New York : G. Schirmer ; Milwaukee, Wis. : Distributed by Hal Leonard, c2011.
FOLIO M1612.M84 A7 2011

15 art songs by American composers : songs / by Argento ... [et al.].

[New York] : Boosey & Hawkes ; Milwaukee, WI : Distributed by Hal Leonard, [2011]
Audio record 36254 CD
FOLIO M1619 .A752 2011

65 songs / Samuel Barber ; edited by Richard Walters.

New York, NY : G. Schirmer ; Milwaukee, Wis. : Distributed by Hal Leonard, c2010.
FOLIO M1620.B27 S33 2010

The singer's musical theatre anthology : a collection of songs from musicals, teens edition / compiled and edited by Richard Walters.

Milwaukee, WI : Hal Leonard, [2010]
FOLIO M1507.S6363 T4 2010a

Classical greats : [piano/vocal arrangements for 10 great songs, with CD backing tracks].

[S.l.] : Music Sales America ; Milwaukee, WI : Exclusively distributed by Hal Leonard Corp., [2010]
Audio record 36274 CD
FOLIO M1507 .C58 2010
;

10 selected songs / Ned Rorem.

[London ; New York] : Boosey & Hawkes ; Milwaukee, WI : distributed by H. Leonard Corp., [2009]
Audio record 29261 CD
FOLIO M1620.R68 L46 2009

15 selected songs / Gabriel Fauré

edited by Richard Walters ; Martha Gerhart, translations and International Phonetic Alphabet . -- Milwaukee, WI : Hal Leonard, c2008.
Audio record 23405 CD
FOLIO M1620.F27 W25 2008

Collected songs : 44 songs including 7 Cycles or sets, / Gerald Finzi.

[England?] : Boosey & Hawkes ; Milwaukee, Wis. : Distributed by Hal Leonard Corp., [2008?]
FOLIO M1620.F569 S662 2008

The Purcell collection : 50 songs : realizations by Benjamin Britten / music by Henry Purcell

the figured basses realized by Benjamin Britten ; the vocal parts edited by Peter Pears ; edited by Richard Walters. -- [United States?] : Boosey & Hawkes ; Milwaukee, Wis. : Distributed by Hal Leonard Corp., c2008.
FOLIO M1620.P98 B778 2008

50 collected songs / Ned Rorem ; compiled by Richard Walters

consultant, Kurt Ollmann. [United States] : Boosey & Hawkes ; Milwaukee, Wis. : Distributed by Hal Leonard Corp., [2008?]
FOLIO M1620.R68 W35 2008

The G. Schirmer collection of American art song : 50 songs by 29 composers / compiled and edited by Richard Walters.

New York : G. Schirmer ; Milwaukee, Wis. : Distributed by Hal Leonard, c2007.
FOLIO M1619 .G22 2007

Art songs and arias : 29 selections / Leonard Bernstein ; edited by Richard Walters.

[United States] : L. Bernstein Music ; [S.l.] : Boosey & Hawkes ; [Milwaukee, Wis.] : [Distributed by] Hal Leonard, c2007.
FOLIO M1620.B49 V63 2007

Art songs and arias / Aaron Copland.

[United States] : Boosey & Hawkes ; Milwaukee, Wis. : Distributed by Hal Leonard, c2007.
FOLIO M1620.C64 V63 2007

Complete folksong arrangements : 61 songs / Benjamin Britten ; edited by Richard Walters.

London] : Boosey & Hawkes ; Milwaukee, Wis. : distributed by Hal Leonard, c2006.
FOLIO M1620.B858 F65 2006

30 songs / Joseph Marx.

Milwaukee, WI : Hal Leonard, c2006.
FOLIO M1620.M29 S665 2006

30 art songs in original keys : for medium [or] high voice and piano / Celius Dougherty.

New York : G. Schirmer ; Milwaukee, WI : Distributed by Hal Leonard, c2004.
FOLIO M1620.D68 S6 2004

Collected songs / Maurice Ravel.

Paris : Durand ; Milwaukee, Wis. : Distributed by Hal Leonard, c2004.
FOLIO M1620.R3 D87 2004

The Lieder anthology / edited by Virginia Saya and Richard Walters.

Milwaukee, WI : Hal Leonard, c2003.
M1619 .L433 2003

The songs of Richard Rodgers : high voice / edited by Richard Walters ; Bryan Stanley, assistant editor.

[New York] : Williamson Music ; Milwaukee, WI : exclusively distributed by Hal Leonard, [2002?]
FOLIO M1507.R7 S6 2002

The French song anthology / edited by Carol Kimball & Richard Walters ; Joel K. Boyd, assistant editor.

Milwaukee, WI : Hal Leonard Corp., [2001]
M1619 .F7497 2001

Songs of Claude Debussy / a critical edition by James R. Briscoe, based on primary sources with commentary and translations.

Milwaukee, WI : Hal Leonard Corporation, [1993]
M1620.D29 B72 1993

Songs by 22 Americans : a collection of songs by outstanding American composers / compiled by Bernard Taylor.

[New York] : G. Schirmer ; Milwaukee, WI : distributed by Hal Leonard, c1960.
FOLIO M1619.T25 S6

This is a short list of recently acquired song cycles featuring soprano.

I will learn to love a person : for soprano and piano (2013) / Christopher Cerrone.

Brooklyn, NY : Outburst-Inburst Musics ; New York : Project Schott New York, [2014]
FOLIO M1621.4.C39 I2 2014
 

Two Yeats songs : for soprano and violin : [2014] / David Froom.

New York : American Composers Alliance, 2014.
FOLIO M1624.8.F76 Y4 2014

Farewell, Auschwitz : songs for soprano, mezzo-soprano, baritone with clarinet, violin, cello, contrabass and piano / Jake Heggie ; piano/vocal score ; lyrics by Gene Scheer.

[San Francisco, CA] : Bent Pen Music, [2014?]
 

Caleidoscopio quatro : four Italian songs to texts by Gisella Azzi / Violet Archer ; edited by Brian McDonagh.

Toronto, Ontario : Plangere Editions, [2013]
FOLIO M1621.4.A67 C14 2013
 

Song cycles. volume III : voice, piano / Walter Buczynski ; [text by Donia Clenman ; edited by Brian McDonagh]

Toronto, Ontario, Canada : Plangere, [2013]br /> FOLIO M1620.B888 S6 2013 v.3
 

Tempo e tempi : for soprano, oboe (and English horn), clarinet (and bass clarinet), violin and violoncello / Elliott Carter.

New York : Hendon Music : Boosey & Hawkes, [2013]
FOLIO M1613.3.C2485 T45 2013

Labyrinth of love : for soprano, winds, piano, contrabass and percussion : (2012) / Michael Daugherty ; piano vocal, reduction for piano by the composer.

[United States] : Michael Daugherty Music, [2013].
FOLIO M1614.D38 L3 2013
 

Here/after : songs of lost voices. Book 1 / Jake Heggie ; [lyrics by] Gene Scheer.

[San Francisco, CA] : Bent Pen Music, [2013]
FOLIO M1620.H43 H4 2013

This is a short list of recently sacred works featuring soprano.

Salve Sancta Caro, op. 5.04 : for soprano and continuo / Barbara Strozzi ; edited by Candace A. Magner.

Los Alamos, NM : Cor Donato Editions, [2014]
M2113.S87 S35 2014

Psalm 19 : for soprano and piano / Meira Warshauer.

[Mount Airy, Pa.] : Hildegard Publishing Company, [2014].
FOLIO M2113.W37 P7 2014

The Magdalene : for soprano and piano / Libby Larsen.

Minneapolis, MN : Kenwood Editions : Libby Larsen Publishing, [2013]

‚ÄčMiserere for soprano, chorus and orchestra in C minor : ZWV 57 / Jan Dismas Zelenka.

Wiesbaden : Breitkopf & Härtel, ©2013.
M2023 .Z45 ZWV 57 2013
 

Salve Regina : soprano voice, 2 oboes, 2 horns and strings / Luigi Capotorti ; edited by Thomas J. Martino.

New York : Mannheim Editions, 2012.
M2103.C366 S3 2012

Nine amen and halleluja movements : for soprano and basso continuo HWV 269-277 / Händel

Kassel : Bärenreiter, c2012.
FOLIO M2112 .H26 HWV 269-277 2012

Canciones de navidad : (from Navidad en la montaña, for soprano & orchestra) ; for soprano & piano / Roberto Sierra ; texts by Virginia Sierra.

[Verona, NJ] : Subito Music, [2012]
FOLIO M2108.S573 N3 2012
 

Showings : (2000) : for soprano, trombone, and piano / by Elizabeth R. Austin ; [texts by] Julian of Norwich.

[[New York] : American Composers Alliance, [2011?]
FOLIO M2113.3.A878 S56 2011

Dos antifonas lindas : for soprano, mezzo-soprano and viola (1985) / Warren Benson.

[New York] : Edward B. Marks Company, 2011.
M1529.3.B46 A62 2011

Call No. Cheat Sheet

Operas and other dramatic music 
M 1500   Full scores
M 1503 Vocal scores
M 1505-1508 Excerpts
Songs w/orchestral accompaniment
M 1611 Collections, full scores
M 1612 Collections, piano-vocal scores
M 1613 Separate works, full scores
M 1614 Separate works, piano acc.
M 1615 Collections, arr., full scores
M 1616   Collections, arr., piano-vocal scores
M 1617 Separate works, arr. full scores
M 1618 Separate works, arr. piano-vocal scores
Songs (non-orchestral)
M 1619 Collections (more than one composer)
M 1620 Collections (one composer)
M 1621 Separate works, piano acc.
M 1621.4 Song cycles
M 1623 Collections, acc. one other instrument
M 1624 Separate works, acc. one other instrument
Sacred music
M 2000   Oratorios, full scores
M 2002 Oratorios, unacc.
M 2003 Oratorios with piano or organ
M 2007 Services
M 2010-2017.6 Choral Services
M 2027 Sacred solo arias
M 2115-2146 Hymnals