Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
print page banner

Rita Benton Music Library

Resources for Singers

Bass-Baritone Song Literature

This list contains common song collections that you can borrow from the library or find easily enough for purchase. Some collections come with a sound recording that contains the piano accompaniments and/or IPA coaching.

28 American art songs : for low voice and piano.

[New York] : G. Schirmer, Inc., [2015]
FOLIO M1619 .T85 2015

Theatrical songs : 51 songs for medium/low voice and piano / William Bolcom.

New York : Edward B Marks Music, c2012
FOLIO M1620.B68 T532 2012

Minicabs : minicabaret songs for medium/low voice / William Bolcom.

New York : Edward B. Marks Music, c2010
FOLIO M1621.B64 M56 2010

Standard vocal literature for bass / edited by Richard Walters.

Milwaukee, WI : H. Leonard, 2004.
Audio Record 40360 CD
​FOLIO M1619 .S826 2004

The Lieder anthology complete package : low voice / edited by Virginia Saya and Richard Walters

translations and International Phonetic Alphabet by Martha Gerhart ; diction lesson recordings by Irene Spiegelman ; accompaniment recordings by Laura Ward.
Milwaukee, WI : Hal Leonard, [2013]
Audio record 36808 CD
M1619 .L4352 2013

65 songs / Samuel Barber ; edited by Richard Walters.

New York, NY : G. Schirmer ; Milwaukee, Wis. : Distributed by Hal Leonard, c2010.
FOLIO M1620.B27 S332 2010

The singer's musical theatre anthology : a collection of songs from musicals, teens edition / compiled and edited by Richard Walters.

Milwaukee, WI : Hal Leonard, [2010]
FOLIO M1507.S6363 T44 2010a

Anthology of Spanish song / edited by Maria DiPalma and Richard Walters.

Milwaukee, WI : H. Leonard Corp., [2001]
FOLIO M1619 .A727 2001

15 selected songs / Johannes Brahms.

Milwaukee, WI : H. Leonard Corp., c2008
Audio record 23537 CD
FOLIO M1620.B8 W352 2008

Collected songs : 54 songs including 8 Cycles or sets, / Gerald Finzi.

[England?] : Boosey & Hawkes ; Milwaukee, Wis. : Distributed by Hal Leonard Corp., [2008?]
FOLIO M1620.F569 S663 2008

The Purcell collection : 50 songs : realizations by Benjamin Britten / music by Henry Purcell

the figured basses realized by Benjamin Britten ; the vocal parts edited by Peter Pears ; edited by Richard Walters. -- [United States?] : Boosey & Hawkes ; Milwaukee, Wis. : Distributed by Hal Leonard Corp., c2008.
FOLIO M1620.P98 B779 2008

50 collected songs / Ned Rorem ; compiled by Richard Walters

consultant, Kurt Ollmann. [United States] : Boosey & Hawkes ; Milwaukee, Wis. : Distributed by Hal Leonard Corp., [2008?]
FOLIO M1620.R68 W352 2008

The G. Schirmer collection of American art song : 50 songs by 29 composers / compiled and edited by Richard Walters.

New York : G. Schirmer ; Milwaukee, Wis. : Distributed by Hal Leonard, c2007.
FOLIO M1619 .G23 20070

Art songs and arias : 29 selections / Leonard Bernstein ; edited by Richard Walters

[United States] : L. Bernstein Music ; [S.l.] : Boosey & Hawkes ; [Milwaukee, Wis.] : [Distributed by] Hal Leonard, c2007.
FOLIO M1620.B49 V64 2007

Art songs and arias / Aaron Copland.

[United States] : Boosey & Hawkes ; Milwaukee, Wis. : Distributed by Hal Leonard, c2007.
FOLIO M1620.C64 V64 2007

Complete folksong arrangements : 61 songs / Benjamin Britten ; edited by Richard Walters.

London] : Boosey & Hawkes ; Milwaukee, Wis. : distributed by Hal Leonard, c2006.
FOLIO M1620.B858 F66 2006

The Lieder anthology / edited by Virginia Saya and Richard Walters.

Milwaukee, WI : Hal Leonard, c2003.
Audio record 36808 CD
M1619 .L4352 2003

The songs of Richard Rodgers : low voice / edited by Richard Walters ; Bryan Stanley, assistant editor.

[New York] : Williamson Music ; Milwaukee, WI : exclusively distributed by Hal Leonard, [2002?]
FOLIO M1507.R7 M872 2002

The French song anthology / edited by Carol Kimball & Richard Walters ; Joel K. Boyd, assistant editor.

Milwaukee, WI : Hal Leonard Corp., [2001]
M1619 .F74972 2001

Songs by 22 Americans : a collection of songs by outstanding American composers / compiled by Bernard Taylor.

[New York] : G. Schirmer ; Milwaukee, WI : distributed by Hal Leonard, c1960.
FOLIO M1619.T25 S62 1960
 

This is a short list of recently acquired song cycles featuring bass-baritone.

Farewell, Auschwitz : songs for soprano, mezzo-soprano, baritone with clarinet, violin, cello, contrabass and piano / Jake Heggie ; piano/vocal score ; lyrics by Gene Scheer.

[San Francisco, CA] : Bent Pen Music, [2014?]

Battle-pieces : a cycle of six songs ; for baritone and piano / words by Herman Melville ; music by Paul Phillips.

Fayetteville : Classical Vocal Reprints, 2014.
M1621.4.P556 B37 2014

For a look or a touch : song cycle ; for baritone, flute, clarinet, violin, violoncello and piano / music by Jake Heggie ; lyrics by Gene Scheer..

[San Francisco, CA] : Bent Pen Music, [2013]
FOLIO M1618.H45 F6 2013

Laura sonnets : for baritone voice and piano (2010) / William Bolcom ; [words by] Francesco Petrarca.

New York : Edward B. Marks Music ; Milwaukee, Wis. : Exclusively distributed by Hal Leonard, c2011.
M1618.H45 F6 2013

Love addiction : a cycle of eight songs for baritone and piano (2007) / David Del Tredici ; to the poems of John Kelly.

New York : Boosey & Hawkes ; Milwaukee, Wis. : Distributed by Hal Leonard 2011, c2007.
M1621.4.D394 L68 2011

String quartet no. 2 : Alive in a moment : for baritone and string quartet / Daron Aric Hagen.

New York : Burning Sled Music, [2011?], c2003.
M1613.3.H184 A55 2011

Four melancholy songs : on poetry of William Butler Yeats : for baritone and piano / Glen Roven..

[New York] : Duhirst Music, c2011.
FOLIO M1621.4.R678 M45 2011

This is a short list of recently acquired sacred music featuring bass-baritone.

Four psalms : for baritone voice and strings / by Howard Hanson.

[New York] : Carl Fischer, [2012], c1978.
FOLIO M2103.3.H28 P8 2012

Merton songs : five songs on poems of Thomas Merton : for baritone and piano / Frank Ferko.

Boston, Mass. : E.C. Schirmer : ECS Publishing, c2009.
M1621.F35 M47 2009

Harvest : for baritone voice & chamber orchestra / Daniel Bernard Roumain (DBR).

[Verona, NJ] : Notevole Music Publishing : Subito Music, [2010?], c2004.
M2103.R68 H37 2010
 

Four old American hymns / [arr. by] Byron Adams.

Los Angeles, Calif. : Fatrock Ink, c2006.
M2112.A34 O43 2006
 

​Jubilate agno : for soprano, bass baritone and piano : 2004 / Mary Inwood ; text by Christopher Smart.

New York, NY : Seesaw Music Corp., c2004.
M2019.3.I69 J83 2004

Regina Cœli : motet for baritone or bass, 2 violins or flutes & basso continuo / by Rupert Ignaz Mayr ; edited by Alejandro Garri ; keyboard realizations by Kent Carlson.

[Frankfurt am Main?] : Garri Editions, c2004.
FOLIO M2103.3.M39 R44 2004