Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
print page banner

Rita Benton Music Library

Resources for Singers

Mezzo-Soprano Song Literature

This list contains common song collections that you can borrow from the library or find easily enough for purchase. Some collections come with a sound recording that contains the piano accompaniments and/or IPA coaching.

15 selected songs / Gabriel Fauré

edited by Richard Walters ; Martha Gerhart, translations and International Phonetic Alphabet . -- Milwaukee, WI : Hal Leonard, c2008.
Audio record 23405 CD
FOLIO M1620.F27 W25 2008

The Purcell collection : 50 songs : realizations by Benjamin Britten / music by Henry Purcell

the figured basses realized by Benjamin Britten ; the vocal parts edited by Peter Pears ; edited by Richard Walters. -- [United States?] : Boosey & Hawkes ; Milwaukee, Wis. : Distributed by Hal Leonard Corp., c2008.
FOLIO M1620.P98 B778 2008

50 collected songs / Ned Rorem ; compiled by Richard Walters

consultant, Kurt Ollmann. [United States] : Boosey & Hawkes ; Milwaukee, Wis. : Distributed by Hal Leonard Corp., [2008?]
FOLIO M1620.R68 W35 2008

The G. Schirmer collection of American art song : 50 songs by 29 composers / compiled and edited by Richard Walters.

New York : G. Schirmer ; Milwaukee, Wis. : Distributed by Hal Leonard, c2007.
FOLIO M1619 .G22 2007

Art songs and arias : 29 selections / Leonard Bernstein ; edited by Richard Walters.

[United States] : L. Bernstein Music ; [S.l.] : Boosey & Hawkes ; [Milwaukee, Wis.] : [Distributed by] Hal Leonard, c2007.
FOLIO M1620.B49 V63 2007

Art songs and arias / Aaron Copland.

[United States] : Boosey & Hawkes ; Milwaukee, Wis. : Distributed by Hal Leonard, c2007.
FOLIO M1620.C64 V63 2007

Complete folksong arrangements : 61 songs / Benjamin Britten ; edited by Richard Walters.

London] : Boosey & Hawkes ; Milwaukee, Wis. : distributed by Hal Leonard, c2006.
FOLIO M1620.B858 F65 2006

28 American art songs : for low voice and piano.

[New York] : G. Schirmer, Inc., [2015]
FOLIO M1619 .T85 2015

Theatrical songs : 51 songs for medium/low voice and piano / William Bolcom.

New York : Edward B Marks Music, c2012
FOLIO M1620.B68 T532 2012

Minicabs : minicabaret songs for medium/low voice / William Bolcom.

New York : Edward B. Marks Music, c2010
FOLIO M1621.B64 M56 2010

Collected songs : for medium voice and piano / John Musto.

New York : Peermusic, [2015]
FOLIO M1620.M985 S62 2015

Standard vocal literature for mezzo-soprano / edited by Richard Walters.

Milwaukee, WI : H. Leonard, 2004.
Audio record 20780 CD
FOLIO M1619 .S822 2004

The Lieder anthology complete package : low voice / edited by Virginia Saya and Richard Walters

translations and International Phonetic Alphabet by Martha Gerhart ; diction lesson recordings by Irene Spiegelman ; accompaniment recordings by Laura Ward.
Milwaukee, WI : Hal Leonard, [2013]
Audio record 36808 CD
M1619 .L4352 2013

Concert arias: for low soprano and contralto / Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Kassel : Bärenreiter, c2013.
FOLIO M1612.M84 S4 2013a

65 songs / Samuel Barber ; edited by Richard Walters.

New York, NY : G. Schirmer ; Milwaukee, Wis. : Distributed by Hal Leonard, c2010.
FOLIO M1620.B27 S332 2010

The singer's musical theatre anthology : a collection of songs from musicals, teens edition / compiled and edited by Richard Walters.

Milwaukee, WI : Hal Leonard, [2010]
Audio record 29803 CD
FOLIO M1507.S6363 T42 2010

Anthology of Spanish song / edited by Maria DiPalma and Richard Walters.

Milwaukee, WI : H. Leonard Corp., [2001]
FOLIO M1619 .A727 2001

15 selected songs / Johannes Brahms.

Milwaukee, WI : H. Leonard Corp., c2008
Audio record 23537 CD
FOLIO M1620.B8 W352 2008

Collected songs : 54 songs including 8 Cycles or sets, / Gerald Finzi.

[England?] : Boosey & Hawkes ; Milwaukee, Wis. : Distributed by Hal Leonard Corp., [2008?]
FOLIO M1620.F569 S663 2008

The Purcell collection : 50 songs : realizations by Benjamin Britten / music by Henry Purcell

the figured basses realized by Benjamin Britten ; the vocal parts edited by Peter Pears ; edited by Richard Walters. -- [United States?] : Boosey & Hawkes ; Milwaukee, Wis. : Distributed by Hal Leonard Corp., c2008.
FOLIO M1620.P98 B779 2008

50 collected songs / Ned Rorem ; compiled by Richard Walters

consultant, Kurt Ollmann. [United States] : Boosey & Hawkes ; Milwaukee, Wis. : Distributed by Hal Leonard Corp., [2008?]
FOLIO M1620.R68 W352 2008

The G. Schirmer collection of American art song : 50 songs by 29 composers / compiled and edited by Richard Walters.

New York : G. Schirmer ; Milwaukee, Wis. : Distributed by Hal Leonard, c2007.
FOLIO M1619 .G23 2007

Art songs and arias : 33 selections / Leonard Bernstein ; edited by Richard Walters

[United States] : L. Bernstein Music ; [S.l.] : Boosey & Hawkes ; [Milwaukee, Wis.] : [Distributed by] Hal Leonard, c2007.
FOLIO M1620.B49 V64 2007

Art songs and arias / Aaron Copland.

[United States] : Boosey & Hawkes ; Milwaukee, Wis. : Distributed by Hal Leonard, c2007.
FOLIO M1620.C64 V64 2007

Complete folksong arrangements : 61 songs / Benjamin Britten ; edited by Richard Walters.

London] : Boosey & Hawkes ; Milwaukee, Wis. : distributed by Hal Leonard, c2006.
FOLIO M1620.B858 F66 2006

30 art songs in original keys : for medium [or] high voice and piano / Celius Dougherty.

New York : G. Schirmer ; Milwaukee, WI : Distributed by Hal Leonard, c2004.
FOLIO M1620.D68 S6 2004

The Lieder anthology / edited by Virginia Saya and Richard Walters.

Milwaukee, WI : Hal Leonard, c2003.
Audio record 36808 CD
M1619 .L4352 2003

The songs of Richard Rodgers : low voice / edited by Richard Walters ; Bryan Stanley, assistant editor.

[New York] : Williamson Music ; Milwaukee, WI : exclusively distributed by Hal Leonard, [2002?]
FOLIO M1507.R7 M872 2002

The French song anthology / edited by Carol Kimball & Richard Walters ; Joel K. Boyd, assistant editor.

Milwaukee, WI : Hal Leonard Corp., [2001]
M1619 .F74972 2001

Songs by 22 Americans : a collection of songs by outstanding American composers / compiled by Bernard Taylor.

[New York] : G. Schirmer ; Milwaukee, WI : distributed by Hal Leonard, c1960.
FOLIO M1619.T25 S62 1960

 

This is a short list of recently acquired song cycles featuring mezzo-soprano.

 

Neruda songs : for mezzo-soprano and piano / Peter Lieberson ; poems by Pablo Neruda.

New York : Associated Music Publishers ; Milwaukee, Wis. : Distributed by Hal Leonard Corp., [2011], c2005.
FOLIO M1614.L734 N47 2011

Farewell, Auschwitz : songs for soprano, mezzo-soprano, baritone with clarinet, violin, cello, contrabass and piano / Jake Heggie ; piano/vocal score ; lyrics by Gene Scheer.

[San Francisco, CA] : Bent Pen Music, [2014?] Mainz ; New York : Schott, c2011.
FOLIO M2019.3.R678 T68 2011
 

Of all the moons : for mezzo-soprano and piano / Kevin Puts.

[New York] : Aperto Press, [2014]
FOLIO M1621.4.P88 O3 2014

Spaces of blank : song cycle in three parts : for mezzo-soprano, orchestra and soundtrack / Michel van der Aa.

Berlin : Boosey & Hawkes : Bote & Bock, [2012?]
M1613.A12 S7 2012

Ich armer Mensch, ich Sündenknecht : BWV 55 / BC A 157 / Johann Sebastian Bach

Stuttgart : Carus Verlag, c2011.
FOLIO M2020 .B16 BWV 55 2011

This is a short list of recently sacred works featuring mezzo-soprano.

Modlitwa = Prayer : for mezzo-soprano and piano / Roxanna Panufnik.

London : New York : C. F. Peters, [2009], c1999.
FOLIO M2113.P33 M6 2009

Salve Regina : per mezzosoprano e organo = für Mezzosopran und Orgel = for mezzo-soprano and organ / Nino Rota.

Mainz ; New York : Schott, c2009.
FOLIO M2113.R67 S35 2009

Song of songs fragments : for mezzo-soprano, clarinet, and piano / Samuel Adler.

King of Prussia, Pa. : Theodore Presser, c2007.
M2113.3.A45 S66 2007
 

Adam lay ybounden : for mezzo-soprano & English horn / Sydney Hodkinson.

King of Prussia, PA : Merion Music : sole representative, T. Presser, c2001.
FOLIO M2113.H58 A32 2001

From the wall : flute, cello, piano and mezzo-soprano / Michael Cohen.

St. Louis, MO : MMB Music, c2005.
M2103.3.C64 F76 2005
 

Psalm of the distant dove : canticle for mezzo-soprano and piano / Hugo Weisgall ; [texts] translated from Hebrew by Raymond P. Scheindlin.

Bryn Mawr, Pa. : Merion Music : T. Presser, sole representative, c1995.
M2113.W45 P73 1995