How to Get Help
Need help with finding a book, finding full text, or requesting an item through interlibrary loan? Contact a reference desk for help by phone, email, chat, or in person:
Hardin Library Reference: ph:319-335-9151; email: lib-hardin@uiowa.edu; chat: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/hardin/contact/
Music Library: ph: 319-335-3086; https://www.lib.uiowa.edu/music/location-and-hours/
If you need in-depth assistance with your research, or would like to schedule an instruction session, please contact Jen or Katie:
jennifer-deberg@uiowa.edu; 319-335-9151
katie-buehner@uiowa.edu; 319-335-3088
Subject Guide
Katie Buehner
Additional Database Training Resources
- EMBASE Guides Brief text based guides (HTML, PDF, and slides) that detail basic navigation and searching in EMBASE. Created by Hardin Library staff.
- PsycINFO Guides Brief text based guides (HTML or PDF). Created by Hardin Library staff.
Database Searching Tips
- Evaluate Information Online: The CRAAP Test Guide to evaluating online information created by UI Libraries staff.
- Tips for Searching Electronic Resources A brief text based guide (PDF) that provides an overview of how to search electronic resources. Created by Hardin Library staff.
CINAHL Training Resources
- CINAHL help sheetGuide created by Hardin Staff.
PubMed Training Resources
- Basic Searching in PubMed A brief guide created by Hardin Library staff on how to use PubMed effectively.
- PubMed Videos (Quick Tours) Quick Tours are 2-3 minute video demonstrations about using various features of PubMed. Created by the National Library of Medicine.
EndNote Desktop Training Resources
EndNote Desktop is an citation management tool that supports importing, organizing, sharing, and formatting references for student or professional research. It is available for UI faculty, staff, graduate students, and residents/fellows, and needs to be installed from the ITS Download page. From an on campus computer, local information technology support should be consulted to assist with download.
- EndNote: Sharing and Collaborating A brief overview of sharing options available with EndNote products. Created by Hardin Library staff.
- Contact EndNote Technical Support Contact EndNote support for advanced troubleshooting and for reporting issues.
- EndNote FAQ FAQ from EndNote. Also allows search of their knowledgebase for common issues.
- EndNote 20 for MacDetailed guide created by Hardin staff that provides information and steps to using most features of EndNote desktop.
- EndNote 20 for PCDetailed guide created by Hardin staff that provides information and steps to using most features of EndNote desktop.
EndNote Basic Training Resources
EndNote Basic is a web based citation management tool that supports importing, organizing, sharing, and formatting references, It is available for all UI students, faculty, and staff with the creation of an account. There is no installation to begin use, but an optional plug in can be configured to enable insertion of formatted in text citations within Word documents.
- EndNote Basic Guide created by Hardin staff that includes detailed instructions on key features, including importing references, generating bibliographies, and organizing references. Examples provided are specific to health sciences databases.
Using Hardin Library Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery Service
- Hardin Library Interlibrary Loan Help Page Brief text based guide (HTML or PDF) that details how the UI Libraries Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery system works, and how to place requests.
- Using Interlibrary Loan Details and directions about using this service for health sciences affiliates