Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PubMed This link opens in a new windowHuge database of citations to peer-reviewed biomedical literature, including allied health disciplines. Produced by National Library of Medicine as free citation database; however, accessing from library page will allow full text access via infolink. Poor coverage of music therapy journals.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Cochrane reviews bring you the combined results of the world's best medical research studies, and are recognised as the gold standard in evidence-based healthcare.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new windowProvides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, and tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
Scopus This link opens in a new windowContains 47 million records, 70% with abstracts and over 19,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. It also includes over 4.6 million conference papers. Scopus offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
The databases listed on this page are excellent places to start a literature search. Please schedule a consultation if you have a specific research topic, and you would like some advice on either getting started or building a good search strategy.
InfoHawk+ is also a great resource to use to get started in your search.
For most of the databases listed, look for the UI Link button in your results, and select it to view full text options.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature: Includes over 3000 journals for nursing and 17 allied health disciplines. Primary coverage is peer-reviewed journals with studies and review articles; also includes dissertations, drug reports, conference proceedings. Selective coverage of music therapy journals.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Covers psychology, linguistics, social work, cognitive sciences. Sources include peer-reviewed journals, dissertations, and books. Includes American music therapy journals and several international ones. Also includes many music education journals.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. Publications originate from 151 countries and are in 214 languages. Coverage of all document types begins in 1967. Coverage of Conference Proceedings goes back to 1835. Includes international coverage of music therapy journals, selective coverage of American music therapy journals.
Music Index This link opens in a new window
Includes over 700 periodicals from 1975 to the present. Topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music. Includes American music therapy journals and selective coverage of international journals.
Guide to Searching
A tool to help with structuring question into PICO format and with generating search terms
Searching Guide for Health Sciences
Contains suggestions on which resources to consult by question type, along with general principles to keep in mind when searching health sciences resources.
What is Evidence Based Practice?
Evidence-Based Practice (EBP): Evidence-based practice is the judicious use of the best research evidence (found in health sciences literature), clinical expertise (what the health care provider knows) and patient values (what the patient wants and believes) to create a plan of action regarding patient care. Evidence-based practice is an umbrella term that includes application of evidence into clinical decision making in any health sciences discipline.
Learn more by visiting the full subject guide on Evidence-Based Practice.