It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Available for iOS devices and Androids only.
AccessMedicine is a collection of clinical tools and electronic textbooks. The app is powered by Unbound Medicine and provides access to:
Quick Medical Dx and RX, Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology, Diagnosaurus, Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests.
1. Go to AccessMedicine via Hardin Library http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/accessmed
2. Create an account by clicking on the box at the top right of the screen that says “Univ of Iowa Hardin Library.”
3. Select “Login or Create a Free Personal Account.”
4. Once you have your username and login, download the app from the App store, Google Play or the Windows store.
5. Login with your AccessMedicine Account.
Available for iOS, Android, and Kindle devices. BrowZine works by organizing the articles found in Open Access and subscription databases, uniting them into complete journals, then arranging these journals on a common newsstand. The result is an easy and familiar way to browse, read and monitor scholarly journals across the disciplines.
1. Download the app.
2. When prompted, select "University of Iowa" from the list.
3. Log in with your HawkID and password and you're ready to use the app.
4. When you try to add a journal to My Bookshelf for the first time, you’ll be prompted to create a BrowZine account to log in. Having a BrowZine account will allow seamless synchronization of My Bookshelf across all devices and the web version.
Best Practice has been designed and built from the ground up for use specifically as a decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion are combined in a single source and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Provides a second opinion, without the need for checking multiple resources.
1). Navigate to BMJ Best Practices using the link above.
2). Create an account using your uiowa email address.
3). Search for and download app from the App Store, Google Play, or another app distributor.
4). Sign in to app using the account you created in BMJ Best Practice. Note: You do not need to provide an institutional ID.
5). You will receive a message to download topics. You may download "All Topics" available through the University of Iowa subscription. This may take a few minutes. WARNING: This may require over 1GB of available storage.
6). If you are concerned about storage space, you can choose individual subjects to download, or remove subjects after all are downloaded.
7). Clicking on "Profile" in the app will tell you when your subscription expires. You will need to re-validate your app account after that date to continue using.
Available for: iOS, Android
ClinicalKey provides access to more than 1100 medical texts published by Elsevier, articles from more than 500 journals, practice guidelines, drug information, and patient education handouts. Users must log in to (free) personal accounts to use the app.
1. Open the App Store, Google play, or the Windows store on your mobile device.
2. Search for “ClinicalKey” and install at no charge.
3. Once in the app, you will be prompted to choose an edition. Choose "Global."
4. Two options will appear – Clinical Key Nursing and Clinical Key. Click on ClinicalKey.
5. Go to http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/clinicalkey (or you may log in to Clinical Key using your Personal Account if you have already registered an account with Clinical Key).
6. Click on the Register link at the top right of the screen.
7. Create a personal account using your University of Iowa email.
8. Click on the "hamburger menu" icon in the upper right-hand corner (three horizontal lines).
9. Choose "Remote Access" from the list of options. Enter your University of Iowa email.
10. You should receive an email to confirm your account. You will need to click the link in that email before your remote access is granted.
11. Use your University of Iowa email address and the password for the account you just created to log into the Clinical Key app on your device. You should now have access to Clinical Key on your device from anywhere.
1. Access Dynamed Plus in a browser at http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/ebsco/dynamed.
2. Create an account by clicking on "sign-in/create an account"on the top of the screen. This works best at a desktop computer.
2. Go to the App Store, Google Store, or similar service to download apps.
3. Search for Dynamed Plus. Be careful, as there are mutliple Dynamed apps. Download the app and install it on your device.
4. Sign into the app with your Dynamed Plus account.
Available for: iOS, Android.
The Johns Hopkins ABX Guide features up-to-date, authoritative, evidenced-based information on the treatment of infectious diseases to help you make decisions at the point of care. The guide breaks down details of diagnosis; drug indications, dosing, pharmacokinetics, side effects and interactions; pathogens; management; and vaccines into easily accessible, frequently-updated, quick-read entries. (uCentral is the Unbound Medicine portal to the John Hopkins ABX guide, pre-selected MEDLINE content, and links to uCentral downloads and tools including a mobile app.)
To access this resource:
1. Search for Johns Hopkins ABX in the app store.
2. Download the free version of the app
3. If you haven't already, create an account in the full John's Hopkins ABX by clicking on the link above in a browser
4. Log into the app with the account you created in the previous step,
Available for: iOS, Android
The Medical Letter website makes available: The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics (all issues) with CME/CE, Drugs for Parasitic Infections, The Handbook of Antimicrobial Therapy, and Drug Interactions from The Medical Letter.
1. Go to http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/MedLetter
2. Click the Mobile Apps link under Products on the left side of the screen.
3. Fill in the registration form using your Iowa email to set up a password.
4. Open the App Store on your mobile device, search for “the Medical Letter” and install at no charge.
5. Log in with the password you created earlier.
1. Please access Micromedex via the Hardin Library Website: http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/micromedex.
2. Click on "Download Mobile Apps" on the bottom right of the screen under the "Resources" section.
3. Follow the instructions/code for the app you want.
Note: After entering the password, the app will work for the duration of the quarter. At the end of the quarter, you will need to return to this site and obtain a new password. It should be noted that Micromedex loads files to your device and will work without an internet connection. However, you will need to make sure that Micromedex updates are loaded before using to ensure you have the latest information.
To download the apps:
1. Go to Micromedex using the link above.
2. Click on "NeoFax/Pediatrics" from the top menu bar.
3. Click the "Mobile" link near the top right of the screen.
4. Follow the directions listed for each app.
You will need to navigate back to the mobile screen for a new code when yours expires.
Contact Hardin Library for the Health Sciences or the Rita Benton Music Library for access details. The posture app provides information on identifying and diagnosing postural problems as well as integrating and adapting therapeutic exercises into training sessions. Muscle & Motion apps serve anatomy students, physical and massage therapists, educators, personal trainers, athletes and anyone interested in enhancing their knowledge of the muscular motions of movement.
Available for: iOS, Android
Stat!Ref is a healthcare e-resource that enables users to cross-search full-text titles, journals, evidence-based, point-of-care and authoritative resources. This app provides you with access to ACP Smart Medicine, the Merck Manual, Stedman's Medical Dictionary, and more.
To download the app:
1. Access StatRef! via Hardin Library or http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/statref
2. Click the “MyStatRef” link in the upper right corner
3. Follow the instructions to create an account.
4. Click “Temporary Login Account.” Activating the “Temporary Login Account” will provide the ability to login to your institutional subscription via the email address and password you just created.
5. Download the Stat!Ref Mobile App to your device.
6. Enter your login information into the resource.
Once you are authenticated, your login will work for 180 days. After that, you will need to log in to StatRef! via Hardin Library and renew your account following steps 1-4.
To install the app:
1. Access the UpToDate website using a web browser (laptop/desktop preferable) via http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/uptodate.
2. At the top right hand side of the page select the “Log In/Register” button.
3. Register for an UpToDate account preferably using your university email address. Write down your new username and password as this will be used later.
4. Submit your registration.
5. Read and accept the terms and conditions.
6. Install the mobile application on your device from the app store.
7. Open the application.
8. Input the username and password you chose during the registration process.
9. Allow notifications. This will tell alert you when you need to re-validate your account, as mentioned below.
Users will need to re-validate their access every 90 days. This can be done by accessing UptoDate on a University network, via Epic, or on a campus computer, or via the Hardin Library website. This is easier to do on a desktop computer, but can be done on a mobile browser with some minor differences.
1. After logging into UpToDate, click "Login" on the top right.
2. Login with the username and password you created (could be different than your Hawk ID)
3. Click on "My Account" near the top right of the screen.
4. Click on "Manage My Devices" on the left side of the screen.
5. You should see a message at this point that says you are revalidated.
1. Go to http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/visualdx
2. Click on “Get our free app on your iPhone, iPad, or Android device.” (Located just below the search box)
3. Fill out the required form – receive automatic e-mail with user name and password.
4. After completing the form you will receive an email with additional instructions.
5. Download the app to your device from Google Play or the App store.
6. Enter the required information into the App.
To renew the app:
1. Go to http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/visualdx
2. Click the login link at the top right of the screen.
3. Enter your information, or reset your password.