Android Devices - Mobile Device Resources - Guides at University of Iowa

Hardin Library

Hardin Library
InfoHawk+ Catalog
Health Sciences Databases
E-Journals
Contact Hardin Library

Free Mobile App and Mobile Device Downloads

Check individual sites for information on downloading and installing these resources.

ACC Anticoag Evaluator
Available for: iOS, Android.
An easy and fast way to assess stroke and bleeding risk and the benefits and risks of antithrombotic therapy in patients with chronic AFib.
ACP Clinical Guidelines App
The American College of Physicians (ACP) produces evidence-based clinical practice guidelines, which means that the guidelines follow a rigorous development process and are based on the highest quality scientific evidence. Internal medicine physicians and other clinicians can now access these clinical recommendations in virtually any setting via the ACP Clinical Guidelines app.
more...less...
Downloap the app from the App Store, Google Play, or other app distributor.
ASCVD Risk Estimator
Available for: iOS, Android, Browser
The ASCVD Risk Estimator application helps health care providers and patients estimate 10-year and lifetime risks for atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease (ASCVD) using the Pooled Cohort Equations and lifetime risk prediction tools. The ASCVD Risk Estimator provides easy access to recommendations specific to calculated risk estimates. Additionally, the app includes readily accessible guideline reference information for both providers and patients related to therapy, monitoring, and lifestyle.
Clinical Info HIV.gov
Available for: iOS, Android
The beta version of the Clinical Info application comprises three modules and offers access to the latest, federally approved medical practice guidelines for HIV and AIDS, an HIV drug database, and a glossary of HIV-related terms. Plus, the app includes English and Spanish definitions of more than 700 HIV/AIDS-related terms.
DrawMD Cardiology
Only works on iPad
DrawMD is a fast, free, simple and effective way to communicate with your patients by sketching on medical illustrations relevant to cardiology.

DrawMD Cardiology’s content was developed by physicians to facilitate discussion of the most common conditions and procedures. The drawMD platform allows you to easily annotate any condition on our pertinent medical illustration or you can easily upload your own images.

Drugs@FDA Express This link opens in a new window
The Drugs@FDA Express app provides convenient access to information about FDA approved drug products and recent drug approvals. The app showcases the last 7 days’ approvals, links to the full Drugs@FDA website, and has an easy-to-use a search function by drug name, active ingredient or application number. The Drugs@FDA Express app contains product information and approval history tabs. The approval history contains the three most recently approved labeling by FDA

MDCalc
Available for: iOS
"MDCalc is the leading digital resource for medical calculators and decision support content used by 1M healthcare professionals globally each month to help achieve better patient outcomes. Founded in 2005 by Dr. Graham Walker, MDCalc is continually expanding access to free, easy-to-use clinical decision calculators and expert-written content, supporting most major specialties."
MedlinePlus Mobile
A mobile version of the MedlinePlus website. It is not an app. MedlinePlus is a free consumer health resource from the National Library of Medicine.
Medscape Mobile
Available for: iOS, Android, Kindle Fire
Medscape Mobile provides the most comprehensive set of tools to support clinicians with all of their professional needs, including decision-making support at the point-of-care, medical news and perspectives from thought leaders across medicine, engaging CME courses to support professional development, and much more.
NIH Toolbox
Only works on iPads and Browsers
NIH Toolbox includes over 80 stand-alone measures, also available in 30-minute batteries to assess Cognition, Emotion, Motor, and Sensation. NIH Toolbox Tests Performance-based tests of function (also known as "objective measures").
Available at NIHToolbox.org. Administered via iPad app.
Prevention TaskForce
Available for: iOS, Android, Blackberry, Windows 8/ Windows Mobile, Palm OS/webOS.
Prevention TaskForce is an application designed to help primary care clinicians identify appropriate screening, counseling, and preventive medication services. Based on the current recommendations of the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force.
Relief Central
Available for: iOS, Android, Windows
Relief Central with Ebola Guidelines is a free mobile and web resource developed by the staff and friends of Unbound Medicine to assist relief workers, heathcare providers, first responders, and others called to serve in disaster relief situations around the world.
Skyscape Clinical Calculator
Available for: iOS, Android
Skyscape Clinical Calculator is a uniquely innovative calculator application with over 150 essential tools which give you results in seconds. No more looking up complicated formulas and struggling with variables - just enter the necessary values in Skyscape Clinical Calculator and get the answers you need.
Teaching Resource Centre Pharmacology Database (TRC)
Only works on iPad
Teaching Resource Centre Pharmacology Database (TRC) is a resource developed in the Netherlands primarily for medical and health sciences students. The database aims to facilitate learning of pharmacodynamics, pharmacokinetics, and drug mechanisms in the context of pathophysiology. It is useful as a reference or self-study tool, and can be used in the online version or through a free app.
UI Department of Pathology Laboratory Services Handbook
Available for: Browsers
Includes detailed information on tests ordered at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics.

UI Subscribed Android Resources

AccessMedicine Mobile
Available for iOS devices and Androids only.
Users can search vetted and trusted medical and allied health content across a variety of mediums that best fit their learning needs, including: Video, Podcasts, Images, Infographics, Textbooks, Q&A, and Cases as well as clinical tools and electronic textbooks. The app is powered by Unbound Medicine and provides access to:
Quick Medical Dx and RX, Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology, Diagnosaurus, Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests. Additional content available in the full desktop version.
more...less...
1. Go to AccessMedicine via Hardin Library http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/accessmed
2. Create an account by clicking on the box at the top right of the screen that says “Univ of Iowa Hardin Library.”
3. Select “Login or Create a Free Personal Account.”
4. Once you have your username and login, download the app from the App store, Google Play or the Windows store.
5. Login with your AccessMedicine Account.

BrowZine This link opens in a new window
Available for iOS, Android, and Kindle devices. BrowZine works by organizing the articles found in Open Access and subscription databases, uniting them into complete journals, then arranging these journals on a common newsstand. The result is an easy and familiar way to browse, read and monitor scholarly journals across the disciplines.
1. Download the app.
2. When prompted, select "University of Iowa" from the list.
3. Log in with your HawkID and password and you're ready to use the app.
4. When you try to add a journal to My Bookshelf for the first time, you’ll be prompted to create a BrowZine account to log in. Having a BrowZine account will allow seamless synchronization of My Bookshelf across all devices and the web version.

DynaMed Mobile
Available for: iOS, Android
Over 2000 entries are organized in an easy to navigate structured note format; includes both overall recommendations and specific study results.
more...less...
1. Access Dynamed Plus in a browser at http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/ebsco/dynamed.
2. Create an account by clicking on "sign-in/create an account"on the top of the screen. This works best at a desktop computer.
2. Go to the App Store, Google Store, or similar service to download apps.
3. Search for Dynamed Plus. Be careful, as there are mutliple Dynamed apps. Download the app and install it on your device.
4. Sign into the app with your Dynamed Plus account.
EBSCOhost Mobile
Available for iOS, Android.
EBSCOhost provides access to databases and journals in the EBSCOhost platform.
more...less...
1. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on the link for "iPhone and Android apps."
2. Enter an email address that can be accessed on your mobile device.
3. Follow the instructions in the email to install the app.
Johns Hopkins ABX Guide (uCentral)
Available for: iOS, Android.
uCentral is the Unbound Medicine portal to the John Hopkins ABX guide, pre-selected MEDLINE content, and links to uCentral downloads and tools including a mobile app.
more...less...
To access this resource:
1. Search for "uCentral for Institutions" in the app store.
2. Download the free version of the app
3. If you haven't already, create an account in the full John's Hopkins ABX by clicking on the link above in a browser, then "register for a free account."
4. Log into the app with the account you created in the previous step
IBM MicroMedex Drug Ref
Available for: iOS, Android
Provides information on adult and pediatric dosing, adverse effects, and drug interactions and much more.
more...less...
To install a Micromedex app:

1. Please access Micromedex via the Hardin Library Website: http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/micromedex.
2. Click on "Mobile Application Access" on the top right of the screen.
3. Follow the instructions/code for the app you want.

Note: Reauthentication is needed on a quarterly basis. After entering the password, the app will work for the duration of the current quarter. At the end of this time, you will need to return to this site and obtain a new password.

Micromedex loads files to your device and will work without an internet connection. You should be sure that Micromedex updates are loaded before using the app to ensure you have the latest information.
Natural Medicine (formerly Natural Standard) Mobile
This App is unavailable at this time.
Stat!Ref Mobile
Available for: iOS, Android
Stat!Ref is a healthcare e-resource that enables users to cross-search full-text titles, journals, evidence-based, point-of-care and authoritative resources. This app provides you with access to ACP Smart Medicine, the Merck Manual, Stedman's Medical Dictionary, and more.
more...less...
To download the app:
1. Access StatRef! via Hardin Library or http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/statref
2. Click the “MyStatRef” link in the upper right corner
3. Follow the instructions to create an account.
4. Click “Temporary Login Account.” Activating the “Temporary Login Account” will provide the ability to login to your institutional subscription via the email address and password you just created.
5. Download the Stat!Ref Mobile App to your device.
6. Enter your login information into the resource.

Once you are authenticated, your login will work for 180 days. After that, you will need to log in to StatRef! via Hardin Library and renew your account following steps 1-4.
UpToDate Mobile
Available for iOS, Android.
UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical resource that synthesizes the most recent medical information into verifiable, evidence-based recommendations.
more...less...
To install the app:
1. Access the UpToDate website using a web browser (laptop/desktop preferable) via http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/uptodate.
2. At the top right hand side of the page select the “Log In/Register” button.
3. Register for an UpToDate account preferably using your university email address. Write down your new username and password as this will be used later.
4. Submit your registration.
5. Read and accept the terms and conditions.
6. Install the mobile application on your device from the app store.
7. Open the application.
8. Input the username and password you chose during the registration process.
9. Allow notifications. This will tell alert you when you need to re-validate your account, as mentioned below.

Users will need to re-validate their access every 90 days. This can be done by accessing UptoDate on a University network, via Epic, or on a campus computer, or via the Hardin Library website. This is easier to do on a desktop computer, but can be done on a mobile browser with some minor differences.

To re-validate:
1. After logging into UpToDate, click "Login" on the top right.
2. Login with the username and password you created (could be different than your Hawk ID)
3. Click on "My Account" near the top right of the screen.
4. Click on "Manage My Devices" on the left side of the screen.
5. You should see a message at this point that says you are revalidated.
VisualDX Mobile
Available for: iOS, Android
Visual DX Mobile is a differential diagnosis tool with images and point of care information.
more...less...
1. Go to http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/visualdx
2. Fill out the required form – receive automatic e-mail with user name and password.
3. After completing the form you will receive an email with additional instructions.
4. Download the app to your device from Google Play or the Apple App Store.
5. Enter your log-in information into the App.

To renew the app:
1. Go to http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/visualdx
2. Click the login link at the top right of the screen.
3. Enter your information, or reset your password.

Contact Us for Assistance

Mary Margaret Thomas

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

207A HLHS
Hardin Library for Health Sciences

(319) 467-0722

University Libraries

Mobile Device Resources: Android Devices

Hardin Library

Free Mobile App and Mobile Device Downloads

UI Subscribed Android Resources

Contact Us for Assistance