Mobile Device Resources: Apple

Hardin Library

Hardin Library
InfoHawk+ Catalog
Health Sciences Databases
E-Journals
Contact Hardin Library

Free Mobile App and Mobile Device Downloads

Check individual sites for information on downloading and installing these resources.

ACC Anticoag Evaluator
Available for: iOS, Android.
An easy and fast way to assess stroke and bleeding risk and the benefits and risks of antithrombotic therapy in patients with chronic AFib.
ACP Clinical Guidelines App
The American College of Physicians (ACP) produces evidence-based clinical practice guidelines, which means that the guidelines follow a rigorous development process and are based on the highest quality scientific evidence. Internal medicine physicians and other clinicians can now access these clinical recommendations in virtually any setting via the ACP Clinical Guidelines app.

more... less...

Downloap the app from the App Store, Google Play, or other app distributor.
ASCVD Risk Estimator
Available for: iOS, Android, Browser
The ASCVD Risk Estimator application helps health care providers and patients estimate 10-year and lifetime risks for atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease (ASCVD) using the Pooled Cohort Equations and lifetime risk prediction tools. The ASCVD Risk Estimator provides easy access to recommendations specific to calculated risk estimates. Additionally, the app includes readily accessible guideline reference information for both providers and patients related to therapy, monitoring, and lifestyle.
Clinical Info HIV.gov
Available for: iOS, Android
The beta version of the Clinical Info application comprises three modules and offers access to the latest, federally approved medical practice guidelines for HIV and AIDS, an HIV drug database, and a glossary of HIV-related terms. Plus, the app includes English and Spanish definitions of more than 700 HIV/AIDS-related terms.
DrawMD
Available for IOS, Android, and Browsers
Draw pictures for your patients to improve health literacy, reduce stress, encourage better decision-making, and start conversations.

Drugs@FDA Express
The Drugs@FDA Express app provides convenient access to information about FDA approved drug products and recent drug approvals. The app showcases the last 7 days’ approvals, links to the full Drugs@FDA website, and has an easy-to-use a search function by drug name, active ingredient or application number. The Drugs@FDA Express app contains product information and approval history tabs. The approval history contains the three most recently approved labeling by FDA

MDCalc
Available for: iOS
"MDCalc is the leading digital resource for medical calculators and decision support content used by 1M healthcare professionals globally each month to help achieve better patient outcomes. Founded in 2005 by Dr. Graham Walker, MDCalc is continually expanding access to free, easy-to-use clinical decision calculators and expert-written content, supporting most major specialties."
Medscape Mobile
Available for: iOS, Android, Kindle Fire
Medscape Mobile provides the most comprehensive set of tools to support clinicians with all of their professional needs, including decision-making support at the point-of-care, medical news and perspectives from thought leaders across medicine, engaging CME courses to support professional development, and much more.
NIH Toolbox
Only works on iPads and Browsers
NIH Toolbox includes over 80 stand-alone measures, also available in 30-minute batteries to assess Cognition, Emotion, Motor, and Sensation. NIH Toolbox Tests Performance-based tests of function (also known as "objective measures").
Available at NIHToolbox.org. Administered via iPad app.
Prevention TaskForce
Available for: iOS, Android, Blackberry, Windows 8/ Windows Mobile, Palm OS/webOS.
Prevention TaskForce is an application designed to help primary care clinicians identify appropriate screening, counseling, and preventive medication services. Based on the current recommendations of the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force.
Relief Central
Available for: iOS, Android, Windows
Relief Central with Ebola Guidelines is a free mobile and web resource developed by the staff and friends of Unbound Medicine to assist relief workers, heathcare providers, first responders, and others called to serve in disaster relief situations around the world.
Skyscape Clinical Calculator
Available for: iOS, Android
Skyscape Clinical Calculator is a uniquely innovative calculator application with over 150 essential tools which give you results in seconds. No more looking up complicated formulas and struggling with variables - just enter the necessary values in Skyscape Clinical Calculator and get the answers you need.
Teaching Resource Centre Pharmacology Database (TRC)
Only works on iPad
Teaching Resource Centre Pharmacology Database (TRC) is a resource developed in the Netherlands primarily for medical and health sciences students. The database aims to facilitate learning of pharmacodynamics, pharmacokinetics, and drug mechanisms in the context of pathophysiology. It is useful as a reference or self-study tool, and can be used in the online version or through a free app.
UI Department of Pathology Laboratory Services Handbook
Available for: Browsers
Includes detailed information on tests ordered at University of Iowa Health Care.

University of Iowa Subscribed Mobile Apps

All of these resources are available to University of Iowa affiliates at no cost. They are paid for by the University of Iowa Libraries.

Access - by McGraw-Hill Mobile
Available for iOS devices and Androids only.
Includes content from Access Medicine and Access Surgery. Users can search vetted and trusted medical and allied health content across a variety of mediums that best fit their learning needs, including: video, podcasts, images, infographics, textbooks, q&a, and cases as well as clinical tools and electronic textbooks. The app provides access to: Quick Medical Dx and RX, Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology, Diagnosaurus, and Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests. Additional content available in the full desktop version

1. Go to AccessMedicine via Hardin Library http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/accessmed
2. Create an account by clicking on the box at the top right of the screen that says “Account” and select ”Sign In."
3. Follow prompts to create an account
4. Once you have your username and login, download the Access app (all are available in one with the Access- by McGraw Hill app) from the App store, Google Play or the Windows store.
5. Login to the app with your AccessMedicine Account.
BMJ Best Practice Mobile
Best Practice has been designed and built from the ground up for use specifically as a decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion are combined in a single source and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Provides a second opinion, without the need for checking multiple resources.

1). Navigate to BMJ Best Practice.
2). Click on “Complete Your Profile,” then create an account using your uiowa email address.
3). Search for and download the BMJ Best Practice app from the App Store, Google Play, or another app distributor.
4). Sign in to the app using the account you created in BMJ Best Practice. Note: You do not need to provide an institutional ID.
5). You will receive a message to download topics. You may download "All Topics" available through the University of Iowa subscription. This may take a few minutes. WARNING: This may require over 1GB of available storage.
6). If you are concerned about storage space, you can choose individual subjects to download, or remove subjects after all are downloaded.
7). Clicking on "Profile" in the app will tell you when your subscription expires. You will need to re-validate your app account after that date to continue using.
BoardVitals Mobile
BoardVitals Question Bank is an exam preparation database, offering practice questions for a variety of medical, nursing, dental, and pharmacy exams, such as USMLE, NAPLEX, COMLEX, NBDE, and NCLEX. After registration, users can proceed through practice questions by topic or section, or through a random selection of all sections. There are options for timed or self-paced practice sessions. Detailed explanations are provided for each question and the content is updated regularly to reflect the most current version of exams.
NB: Requires on-campus registration for first use.

Need to create an account while logged in on-campus AND be sure to use your uiowa email
1. Access BoardVitals
2. Create an account by clicking on "register" in the upper, right-hand corner. This works best at a desktop computer. Be sure to use your uiowa email.
2. Go to the App Store, Google Store, or similar service to download apps.
3. Search for Board Vitals. Download the app and install it on your device.
4. Sign into the app with your BoardVitals account.
BrowZine Mobile Apps
Available for iOS, Android, and Kindle devices. BrowZine works by organizing the articles found in Open Access and subscription databases, uniting them into complete journals, then arranging these journals on a common newsstand. The result is an easy and familiar way to browse, read and monitor scholarly journals across the disciplines.

1. Download the app.
2. When prompted, select "University of Iowa" from the list.
3. Log in with your HawkID and password and you're ready to use the app.
4. When you try to add a journal to My Bookshelf for the first time, you’ll be prompted to create a BrowZine account to log in. Having a BrowZine account will allow seamless synchronization of My Bookshelf across all devices and the web version.
ClinicalKey Mobile

Available for: iOS, Android
The ClinicalKey app provides access to more than 1100 medical texts published by Elsevier, articles from more than 500 journals, practice guidelines, drug information, and patient education handouts. Users must log in to (free) personal accounts to use the app. Additional content is available from the full desktop version of ClinicalKey.

1. Navigate to ClinicalKey
2. Click on the Register link at the top right of the screen.
3. Create a personal account using your University of Iowa email.
4. Click on your profile in the upper right-hand corner, then choose "Remote Access" from the list of options. Enter your University of Iowa email.
5. You should receive an email to confirm your account. You will need to click the link in that email before your remote access is granted.
6. Find and download the ClincalKey app from the App Store, Google play, or the Windows store on your mobile device.
7. Once in the app, you will be prompted to choose a subscription type. Choose “Organizational Subscription.”
8. Two options will appear – ClinicalKey or ClinicalKey for Nursing. Click on ClinicalKey.
9. Choose edition based on language preference. Default ClinicalKey will use English.
10. Select “Access via Your Organization”. Use your University of Iowa email address and the password for the account you just created to log into the Clinical Key app.

DynaMed Mobile
Available for: iOS, Android
Over 2000 entries are organized in an easy to navigate structured note format; includes both overall recommendations and specific study results.

more... less...

1. Access DynaMed in a browser at http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/ebsco/dynamed.
2. Create an account by clicking on "sign-in/create an account"on the top of the screen. This works best at a desktop computer.
2. Go to the App Store, Google Play Store, or similar service to download apps.
3. Search for DynaMed. Be careful, as there are multiple DynaMed apps. Download the app and install it on your device.
4. Sign into the app with your DynaMed account.

Medical Letter Mobile
1. Go to The Medical Letter website
2. Click the Mobile Apps link under ABOUT US on the left side of the screen.
3. Fill in the registration form using your UIowa email and create a password.
4. Open the App Store on your mobile device, search for “the Medical Letter” and install the free app.
5. Click the hamburger menu icon (top left) and log in with the password you created earlier.
Micromedex Mobile

Includes: Drug Reference, Pediatric Reference, Neofax Reference, Drug Interactions, and IV Compatibility.

To install a Micromedex app:

1. Access the Micromedex Database through Hardin Library.
2. Click on "Mobile Access" on the top right of the screen.
3. Follow the instructions/code for the app you want.

Note: Reauthentication is needed on a quarterly basis. After entering the password, the app will work for the duration of the current quarter. At the end of this time, you will need to return to this site and obtain a new password.

Micromedex loads files to your device and will work without an internet connection. You should be sure that Micromedex updates are loaded before using the app to ensure you have the latest information.
STAT!Ref Mobile
STAT!Ref is a healthcare e-resource that enables users to cross-search full-text titles, journals, evidence-based, point-of-care and authoritative resources. This app provides you with access to ACP Smart Medicine, the Merck Manual, Stedman's Medical Dictionary, and more.

1. Access STATRef! via Hardin Library
2. Click the “Profile” link in the upper right corner
3. Follow the instructions to create an account.
4. Click “Anywhere Login Account.” Activating the “Anywhere Login Account” will provide the ability to login to your institutional subscription via the email address and password you just created.
5. Download the STAT!Ref Mobile App to your device.
6. Enter your login information into the resource.
uCentral
Available for: iOS, Android.
uCentral is from Unbound Medicine and includes the John Hopkins ABX guide, pre-selected MEDLINE content, calculators, and other uCentral resources and tools.

1. Search for "uCentral for Institutions" in the app store.
2. Download the free version of the app
3. If you haven't already, create an account in the full John's Hopkins ABX, then "register a free account."
4. Log into the app with the account you created in the previous step
UpToDate Mobile
UpToDate is a practical clinical information service designed to provide instant access to just the information you need. It is written by a recognized faculty of experts who each address a specific clinical issue. They synthesize the latest evidence and best practices and provide detailed recommendations.

1. Access the UpToDate database using a web browser (laptop/desktop preferable)
2. At the top right hand side of the page select the “Register” button.
3. Register for an UpToDate account using your university email address.
4. Install the mobile application on your device from the app store.
5. Open the application.
6. Log in with the username and password you chose during the registration process.
7. Allow notifications. This will tell alert you when you need to re-validate your account, as mentioned below.

Users will need to re-validate their access every 90 days. This can be done by accessing UpToDate on a University network, via Epic, or on a campus computer, or via the Hardin Library website. This is easier to do on a desktop computer, but can be done on a mobile browser with some minor differences.

To re-validate:
1. After logging into UpToDate, click "Sign in" on the top right.
2. Login with the username and password you created (could be different than your Hawk ID)
3. Click on "My Account" near the top right of the screen.
4. Click on "Manage My Devices" on the left side of the screen.
5. You should see a message at this point that says you are revalidated.
VisualDx Mobile
VisualDx is a diagnostic clinical support tool that includes over 2,800 adult and pediatric conditions as well as over 40,000 images. Clinicians can search by a diagnosis, build a patient- specific differential, or review over 20,000 medication reactions and adverse events. With expanded content across general medicine, VisualDx delivers speed and diagnostic accuracy at the point of care.

Mobile Device Users will need to create an account while logged in on-campus.

1. Navigate to the VisualDX database through Hardin Library
2. Register for an account by clicking “log in” in the upper right-hand corner.
3. After completing the form you will receive an email with additional instructions.
4. Download the app to your device from Google Play or the Apple App Store.
5. Enter your log-in information into the App.