Basic and Clinical Science Course from the American Academy of Ophthalmology Textbooks
Basic Principles of Ophthalmic Surgery, Fourth Edition by
This is an essential textbook for any ophthalmology resident or trainee and will help them build a solid foundation of ophthalmic surgical knowledge. It lays the groundwork for the 80+ surgical procedures covered in the companion volume, Basic Techniques of Ophthalmic Surgery, Third Edition. Includes important updates in the areas of ergonomics, intraocular fluids, patient safety issues and postoperative management. Also covers: evaluation and preparation; surgical logistics, instuments and materials; intraoperative considerations; and postoperative considerations.
ISBN: 9781681042206Publication Date: 2019
Basic Techniques of Ophthalmic Surgery, Third Edition by
This is an essential textbook for any ophthalmology resident or trainee and will help them build a solid foundation of ophthalmic surgical knowledge. It is a practical complement to the concepts and environments covered in the companion volume, Basic Principles of Ophthalmic Surgery, Fourth Edition. Describes more than 80 of the most common surgical procedures performed by ophthalmologists. Step-by-step directions will help aspiring ophthalmic surgeons as they begin to master the skills needed for surgical proficiency. New chapters on manual small-incision cataract surgery, collagen cross-linking, suprachoroidal stents, subconjunctival microstents and canicular laceration repair have been added. This highly visual volume features nearly 500 photographs and illustrations enhance the discussion and understanding of procedures, plus 180+ videos that illustrate key points or alternative techniques.
ISBN: 9781681042190Publication Date: 20192023-2024 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 1: Update on General Medicine by A thorough, yet concise, update on all areas of medicine. Covers systemic medical conditions most likely to affect ophthalmic patients, such as infectious, metabolic, neurologic and cardiovascular diseases; cancer; and rheumatic and endocrine disorders.
ISBN: 9781681046136Publication Date: 20232023-2024 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 2: Fundamentals and Principles of Ophthalmology by Provides the essential scientific grounding for current ophthalmic practice. Discusses ocular anatomy, embryology, biochemistry and metabolism in the eye, and ocular pharmacology. Features genetics information, including an overview of appropriate uses for the latest genetic techniques. Includes an imaging chapter, Ophthalmic Radiology, which covers MRI and CT and ordering imaging studies.
ISBN: 9781681046143Publication Date: 20232023-2024 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 3: Clinical Optics and Vision Rehabilitation by Provides a comprehensive overview of clinical optics, including current applications of optical phenomena such as lasers, spectacles, IOLs and refractive surgery. Includes a Quick-Start Guide to Optics and How to Refract. Reviews optics of the human eye; basic concepts of geometric optics; ophthalmic instruments and contact lenses. Vision rehabilitation is also discussed.
ISBN: 9781681046150Publication Date: 20232023-2024 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 4: Ophthalmic Pathology and Intraocular Tumors by Presents materials in two parts: Part I, Ophthalmic Pathology; and Part II, Intraocular Tumors. Part I uses a hierarchy that moves from general to specific to help derive a differential diagnosis for a specific tissue. Part II is a compilation of selected clinical aspects of importance to the general ophthalmologist.
ISBN: 9781681046167Publication Date: 20232023-2024 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 5: Neuro-Ophthalmology by Provides a symptom-driven approach to the diagnosis and treatment of major neuro-ophthalmic conditions. With the focus on the patient, this book emphasizes examination and appropriate adjunctive studies, including a discussion of diagnostic imaging modalities, including a section devoted to interpreting optical coherence tomography results, and leads the reader through the sometimes-subtle manifestations of neuro-ophthalmic disease to anatomical localization of lesions and definitive diagnosis. An overview of the anatomy of visual pathways is accompanied by many illustrations.
ISBN: 9781681046174Publication Date: 20232023-2024 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 6: Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus by Discusses the pediatric eye examination and extraocular muscle anatomy. Includes chapters on amblyopia, sensory physiology and pathology, and the diagnostic evaluation of strabismus. Examines the clinical features, diagnosis and treatment of esodeviations and exodeviations, pattern strabismus, vertical deviations, nystagmus, and special forms of strabismus. Also, describes key aspects of extraocular muscle surgery. The second part of this book covers the full range of pediatric ocular disorders.
ISBN: 9781681046181Publication Date: 20232023-2024 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 7: Oculofacial Plastic and Orbital Surgery by Details the anatomy of the orbit and adnexa and emphasizes a practical approach to the evaluation and management of orbital and eyelid disorders, including malpositions and involutional changes. Reviews current information on congenital, inflammatory, infectious, neoplastic, traumatic conditions of the orbit and accessory structures. Covers key aspects of orbital, eyelid and facial surgery and abnormalities of the lacrimal secretory and drainage systems.
ISBN: 9781681046198Publication Date: 20232023-2024 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 8: External Disease and Cornea by Discusses the structure and function of the cornea and external eye and reviews relevant examination techniques. Includes the latest statistics on indications for corneal transplants from the Eye Bank Association of America. Covers infectious and ocular surface diseases; disorders and surgery of the ocular surface; immune-mediated and neoplastic disorders; and congenital anomalies and degenerations. A chapter on the genetics of corneal dystrophies reflects the IC3D classification. Toxic and traumatic injuries and corneal transplantation are also reviewed. Also covers the latest diagnostic imaging technologies, endothelial replacement surgery updates and best practices for sebaceous cell carcinoma early recognition and treatment.
ISBN: 9781681046204Publication Date: 20232023-2024 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 9: Uveitis and Ocular Inflammation by Reviews immune-mediated eye disease, summarizing basic immunologic concepts, ocular immune responses and special topics in ocular immunology. Includes an interactive uveitis diagnostic algorithm and a chapter covering scleritis. Discusses the clinical approach to uveitis and reviews noninfectious (autoimmune) and infectious forms of uveitis, with an expanded section on viral uveitis and material on infectious and noninfectious scleritis. Enhanced detection of infectious agents by immunologic and genetic methods and biologic therapeutics are detailed. Also covers endophthalmitis, masquerade syndromes, complications of uveitis and ocular aspects of AIDS.
ISBN: 9781681046211Publication Date: 20232023-2024 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 10: Glaucoma by Provides a comprehensive discussion of glaucoma, including epidemiology and the social and economic impacts of the disease; hereditary and genetic factors; intraocular pressure and aqueous humor dynamics; and clinical evaluation and surgical therapy. The various classes of medical therapy for glaucoma are described in terms of efficacy, mechanism of action and safety. Contains numerous images illustrating disease entities and surgical techniques.
ISBN: 9781681046228Publication Date: 20232023-2024 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 11: Lens and Cataract by Reviews the anatomy, physiology, embryology and pathology of the lens. Covers the epidemiology, evaluation and management of cataracts and gives an overview of lens and cataract surgery, including special situations. Walks the reader through making an appropriate differential diagnosis and designing a management plan for intraoperative and postoperative complications of cataract surgery.
ISBN: 9781681046235Publication Date: 20232023-2024 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 12: Retina and Vitreous by Describes the major vitreoretinal disorders and appropriate diagnostic methods and treatment principles. An overview of the structure and function of the retina and its relationship to the pigment epithelium, choroid and vitreous is provided. Includes the management of age-related macular degeneration, diabetic macular edema, and venous occlusive disease chapter covering retinovascular disease associated with cardiovascular disease. An emphasis on imaging is demonstrated in this text with more than 175 images and ten surgical videos to illustrate common vitreoretinal procedures and nine interactive figures. Separate chapters are devoted to age-related macular degeneration, diabetic retinopathy and retinopathy of prematurity, including the latest imaging techniques and choroidal detail. Selected therapeutic topics include laser therapy and vitreoretinal surgery.
ISBN: 9781681046242Publication Date: 20232023-2024 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 13: Refractive Surgery by Covers the science of refractive surgery, accommodative and nonaccommodative treatment of presbyopia and patient evaluation. Examines specific procedures in refractive surgery and their potential complications, and refractive surgery in ocular and systemic disease. Includes information on lens implants used in the United States and other countries.
ISBN: 9781681046259Publication Date: 2023
2022 - AAO BCSC Textbooks
2022-2023 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 01: Update on General Medicine by Section 1 provides a thorough and concise update on the general areas of medicine. This section covers systemic medical conditions most likely to affect ophthalmic patients, such as infectious, metabolic, neurologic and cardiovascular diseases; cancer; and rheumatic and endocrine disorders. Get the most out of each section, with highlights at the start of every chapter. Includes up-to-date information on obstructive sleep apnea and the new classes of anticoagulants with discussions on preventive medicine and medical emergencies, geriatrics and statistics. Plus, references and tables listing the names, indications and side effects of antibiotic, antihypertensive and anticancer drugs. To address an important and timely issue, a new chapter about Social Determinants of Health (SDOH) is included in this section. This minor revision covers the topic and categories of SDOH, as well as the impact of SDOH on patient wellness. Section 1 covers the latest recommendations for the treatment of hypertension and hypercholesterolemia and includes two videos (sample) demonstrating responses to in-office emergency situations. Upon completion of Section 1, readers should be able to: Describe the ophthalmic manifestations of major systemic diseases. Summarize the major disease processes affecting most of the adult population, and briefly explain how preventive measures may reduce the morbidity and mortality they cause. List some of the factors associated with a patient's compliance or noncompliance with medical regimens. Identify the categories and approaches of SDOH.
ISBN: 9781681045412Publication Date: 2022-08-302022-2023 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 02: Fundamentals and Principles of Ophthalmology by Section 2 provides the essential scientific grounding for current ophthalmic practice with discussions about ocular anatomy, embryology, biochemistry and metabolism in the eye, and ocular pharmacology. A minor revision discusses the role of digital ophthalmology, as well as the application and future of artificial intelligence, plus machine learning. Sidebars in each chapter highlight key points and important takeaway information which maximizes study time. Section 2 features genetics information, including an overview of appropriate uses for the latest genetic techniques. Plus, a chapter on imaging, with figures and tables covering relevant topics, including comparing MRI and CT scans and ordering imaging studies. Three clinical videos (sample) and three interactive activities that aid your understanding are included. Both print and eBook users have access to the videos and interactive activities. Upon completion of Section 2, readers should be able to: Identify the bones making up the orbital walls and the orbital foramina. Identify the biochemical composition of the various parts of the eye and the eye's secretions. Demonstrate how appropriate diagnosis and management of genetic diseases can lead to better patient care. Describe the features of the eye that facilitate or impede drug delivery. Describe the mechanisms of action of antibiotic, antiviral, and antifungal medications. Discuss the anesthetic agents used in ophthalmology.
ISBN: 9781681045429Publication Date: 2022-08-302022-2023 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 03: Clinical Optics and Vision Rehabilitation by Major revision The new title of Section 3, Clinical Optics and Vision Rehabilitation, reflects the expanded focus on vision rehabilitation, including a chapter addressing the wide range of vision rehabilitation interventions: smartphone accessibility features and apps, electronic magnification devices, audio devices, and a variety of optical devices. In addition, this section provides a comprehensive overview of clinical optics, including current applications of optical phenomena such as lasers, spectacles, IOLs and refractive surgery. This major revision begins with an expanded Quick-Start Guide, which now includes an extensive discussion on retinoscopy. The Quick-Start Guide includes seven Try It Yourself! exercises on Hand Neutralization of Spherical and Cylindrical Lenses, Making a Practice Eye and Detection of Astigmatism. Increase your understanding of human eye optics; basic concepts of geometric optics; ophthalmic instruments and contact lenses with nine clinical videos. A new animation demonstrates a circularly polarized electromagnetic wave. Plus, a new dynamic illustration allows modification of "live" drawings to experience the effects of changes in the positions of source objects and focal points. Both print and eBook users have access to the videos and activities. Upon completion of Section 3, readers should be able to: Outline the principles of light propagation and image formation and work through some of the fundamental equations that describe or measure such properties as refraction, reflection, magnification and vergence. Define the various types of visual perception and function, including visual acuity, brightness sensitivity, color perception and contrast sensitivity. Explain the optical principles underlying various modalities of refractive correction: spectacles, contact lenses, intraocular lenses and refractive surgery.
ISBN: 9781681045436Publication Date: 2022-06-202022-2023 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 04: Ophthalmic Pathology and Intraocular Tumors by
ISBN: 9781681045443Publication Date: 2022-06-202022-2023 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 05: Neuro-Ophthalmology by
ISBN: 9781681045450Publication Date: 2022-06-202022-2023 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 06: Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus by Major revision Section 6 begins with in-depth discussions on the pediatric eye examination. Chapters in part one cover extraocular muscle anatomy, amblyopia, sensory physiology and pathology, and the diagnostic evaluation of strabismus. Get updated information on clinical features, diagnosis and treatment of esodeviations and exodeviations, pattern strabismus, vertical deviations, nystagmus, and special forms of strabismus. Part two features major revisions with content updates on pediatric uveitis and includes phenotype-guided case studies. An expanded discussion on childhood ocular trauma with a new chapter dedicated to unique issues in pediatric chronic eye care. This revision includes 66 videos, plus seven animations demonstrating the Krimsky test, cover-uncover test, alternate cover test, prism alternate cover test, simultaneous prism and cover test with eight activities and case studies. New flowcharts to simplify the classification of common forms of horizontal strabismus. Upon completion of Section 6, readers should be able to: Describe evaluation techniques for young children that provide the maximum gain of information with the least trauma and frustration. Explain the classification and diagnosis of amblyopia, as well as the treatment options. Describe the commonly used diagnostic and measurement tests for strabismus, plus identify and treat pattern and vertical strabismus, as well as special forms of strabismus. List the possible complications of strabismus surgery, and describe guidelines to minimize them. Design an approach to the diagnosis of decreased vision in children, and list resources available to these patients.
ISBN: 9781681045467Publication Date: 2022-06-202022-2023 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 07: Oculofacial Plastic and Orbital Surgery by Details the anatomy of the orbit and adnexa and emphasizes a practical approach to the evaluation and management of orbital and eyelid disorders, including malpositions and involutional changes. Reviews current information on congenital, inflammatory, infectious, neoplastic, traumatic conditions of the orbit and accessory structures. Covers key aspects of orbital, eyelid and facial surgery and abnormalities of the lacrimal secretory and drainage systems.
ISBN: 9781681045474Publication Date: 2022-06-202022-2023 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 08: External Disease and Cornea by Discusses the structure and function of the cornea and external eye and reviews relevant examination techniques. Includes the latest statistics on indications for corneal transplants from the Eye Bank Association of America. Covers infectious and ocular surface diseases; disorders and surgery of the ocular surface; immune-mediated and neoplastic disorders; and congenital anomalies and degenerations. A chapter on the genetics of corneal dystrophies reflects the IC3D classification. Toxic and traumatic injuries and corneal transplantation are also reviewed. Also covers the latest diagnostic imaging technologies, endothelial replacement surgery updates and best practices for sebaceous cell carcinoma early recognition and treatment.
ISBN: 9781681045481Publication Date: 2022-06-202022-2023 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 09: Uveitis and Ocular Inflammation by Reviews immune-mediated eye disease, summarizing basic immunologic concepts, ocular immune responses and special topics in ocular immunology. Includes an interactive uveitis diagnostic algorithm and a chapter covering scleritis. Discusses the clinical approach to uveitis and reviews noninfectious (autoimmune) and infectious forms of uveitis, with an expanded section on viral uveitis and material on infectious and noninfectious scleritis. Enhanced detection of infectious agents by immunologic and genetic methods and biologic therapeutics are detailed. Also covers endophthalmitis, masquerade syndromes, complications of uveitis and ocular aspects of AIDS.
ISBN: 9781681045498Publication Date: 2022-06-202022-2023 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 10: Glaucoma by
ISBN: 9781681045504Publication Date: 2022-06-202022-2023 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 11: Lens and Cataract by
ISBN: 9781681045511Publication Date: 2022-06-202022-2023 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 12: Retina and Vitreous by Major revision Section 12 is arranged into three parts. Part one begins with an overview of the retina and its relationship to the pigment epithelium, choroid and vitreous plus discusses the major retinal disorders and their appropriate diagnostic methods and treatment principles. As part of a major revision, part two has been reorganized, providing a more logical flow. These chapters cover specific diseases and trauma to the posterior segment and provide appropriate diagnostic techniques, plus review vitreoretinal diseases and management and therapy of retinal diseases. Substantial updates in part three provide key knowledge about cryotherapy for posterior segment diseases and include select therapeutic topics, plus laser therapy and vitreoretinal surgery. A new chapter on gene therapy covers the common types of DNA therapy: gene augmentation, optogenetics, and genome editing. 19 new videos have been added to this edition, including videos on posterior segment treatment approaches and common vitreoretinal procedures. With more than 175 figures, illustrations, and photos plus ten interactive animations to aid your understanding. Both print and eBook users have access to the videos and animations. Upon completion of Section 12, readers should be able to: Select appropriate methods of examination and ancillary studies for the diagnosis of vitreoretinal disorders. Describe the principles of medical and surgical treatment of vitreoretinal disorders. Describe and explain the urgency, appropriateness and timing of vitreoretinal conditions and interventions.
ISBN: 9781681045528Publication Date: 2022-06-202022-2023 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 13: Refractive Surgery by
ISBN: 9781681045535Publication Date: 2022-06-20
2020 - AAO BCSC Textbooks
2020-2021 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 1: Update on General Medicine by A thorough, yet concise, update on all areas of medicine. Covers systemic medical conditions most likely to affect ophthalmic patients, such as infectious, metabolic, neurologic and cardiovascular diseases; cancer; and rheumatic and endocrine disorders.
ISBN: 9781681043579Publication Date: 20202020-2021 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 2: Fundamentals and Principles of Ophthalmology by Provides the essential scientific grounding for current ophthalmic practice. Discusses ocular anatomy, embryology, biochemistry and metabolism in the eye, and ocular pharmacology. Features genetics information, including an overview of appropriate uses for the latest genetic techniques. Includes an imaging chapter, Ophthalmic Radiology, which covers MRI and CT and ordering imaging studies.
ISBN: 9781681043586Publication Date: 20202020-2021 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 3: Clinical Optics by Provides a comprehensive overview of clinical optics, including current applications of optical phenomena such as lasers, spectacles, IOLs and refractive surgery. Includes a Quick-Start Guide to Optics and How to Refract. Reviews optics of the human eye; basic concepts of geometric optics; ophthalmic instruments and contact lenses. Vision rehabilitation is also discussed.
ISBN: 9781681043593Publication Date: 20202020-2021 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 4: Ophthalmic Pathology and Intraocular Tumors by Presents materials in two parts: Part I, Ophthalmic Pathology; and Part II, Intraocular Tumors. Part I uses a hierarchy that moves from general to specific to help derive a differential diagnosis for a specific tissue. Part II is a compilation of selected clinical aspects of importance to the general ophthalmologist.
ISBN: 9781681043609Publication Date: 20202020-2021 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 5: Neuro-Ophthalmology by Provides a symptom-driven approach to the diagnosis and treatment of major neuro-ophthalmic conditions. With the focus on the patient, this book emphasizes examination and appropriate adjunctive studies, including a discussion of diagnostic imaging modalities, and leads the reader through the sometimes-subtle manifestations of neuro-ophthalmic disease to anatomical localization of lesions and definitive diagnosis. An overview of the anatomy of visual pathways is accompanied by many illustrations.
ISBN: 9781681043616Publication Date: 20202020-2021 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 6: Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus by Discusses the pediatric eye examination and extraocular muscle anatomy. Includes chapters on amblyopia, sensory physiology and pathology, and the diagnostic evaluation of strabismus. Examines the clinical features, diagnosis and treatment of esodeviations and exodeviations, pattern strabismus, vertical deviations, nystagmus, and special forms of strabismus. Also, describes key aspects of extraocular muscle surgery. The second part of this book covers the full range of pediatric ocular disorders.
ISBN: 9781681043890Publication Date: 20202020-2021 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 7: Oculofacial Plastic and Orbital Surgery by Details the anatomy of the orbit and adnexa and emphasizes a practical approach to the evaluation and management of orbital and eyelid disorders, including malpositions and involutional changes. Reviews current information on congenital, inflammatory, infectious, neoplastic, traumatic conditions of the orbit and accessory structures. Covers key aspects of orbital, eyelid and facial surgery and abnormalities of the lacrimal secretory and drainage systems.
ISBN: 9781681043906Publication Date: 20202020-2021 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 8: External Disease and Cornea by Discusses the structure and function of the cornea and external eye and reviews relevant examination techniques. Includes the latest statistics on indications for corneal transplants from the Eye Bank Association of America. Covers infectious and ocular surface diseases; disorders and surgery of the ocular surface; immune-mediated and neoplastic disorders; and congenital anomalies and degenerations. A chapter on the genetics of corneal dystrophies reflects the IC3D classification. Toxic and traumatic injuries and corneal transplantation are also reviewed.
ISBN: 9781681043913Publication Date: 20202020-2021 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 9: Uveitis and Ocular Inflammation by Reviews immune-mediated eye disease, summarizing basic immunologic concepts, ocular immune responses and special topics in ocular immunology. Includes an interactive uveitis diagnostic algorithm and a chapter covering scleritis. Discusses the clinical approach to uveitis and reviews noninfectious (autoimmune) and infectious forms of uveitis, with an expanded section on viral uveitis and material on infectious and noninfectious scleritis. Enhanced detection of infectious agents by immunologic and genetic methods and biologic therapeutics are detailed. Also covers endophthalmitis, masquerade syndromes, complications of uveitis and ocular aspects of AIDS.
ISBN: 9781681043920Publication Date: 20202020-2021 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 10: Glaucoma by Provides a comprehensive discussion of glaucoma, including epidemiology and the social and economic impacts of the disease; hereditary and genetic factors; intraocular pressure and aqueous humor dynamics; and clinical evaluation and surgical therapy. The various classes of medical therapy for glaucoma are described in terms of efficacy, mechanism of action and safety. Contains numerous images illustrating disease entities and surgical techniques.
ISBN: 9781681043937Publication Date: 20202020-2021 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 11: Lens and Cataract by Reviews the anatomy, physiology, embryology and pathology of the lens. Covers the epidemiology, evaluation and management of cataracts and gives an overview of lens and cataract surgery, including special situations. Walks the reader through making an appropriate differential diagnosis and designing a management plan for intraoperative and postoperative complications of cataract surgery.
ISBN: 9781681043944Publication Date: 20202020-2021 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 12: Retina and Vitreous by Describes the major vitreoretinal disorders and appropriate diagnostic methods and treatment principles. An overview of the structure and function of the retina and its relationship to the pigment epithelium, choroid and vitreous is provided. Includes the management of age-related macular degeneration, diabetic macular edema, and venous occlusive disease chapter covering retinovascular disease associated with cardiovascular disease. An emphasis on imaging is demonstrated in this text with more than 175 images and ten surgical videos to illustrate common vitreoretinal procedures and nine interactive figures. Separate chapters are devoted to age-related macular degeneration, diabetic retinopathy and retinopathy of prematurity, including the latest imaging techniques and choroidal detail. Selected therapeutic topics include laser therapy and vitreoretinal surgery.
ISBN: 9781681043951Publication Date: 20202020-2021 Basic and Clinical Science Course, Section 13: Refractive Surgery by Covers the science of refractive surgery, accommodative and nonaccommodative treatment of presbyopia and patient evaluation. Examines specific procedures in refractive surgery and their potential complications, and refractive surgery in ocular and systemic disease. Includes information on lens implants used in the United States and other countries.
ISBN: 9781681043968Publication Date: 2020