Ophthalmology: Patient Resources
Ophthalmology and Visual Science resources for medical students, residents, fellows and staff
Key Resources
- Eye RoundsOphthalmology Grand Rounds and EyeRounds are services of the University of Iowa Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences in Iowa City, Iowa.
On this site you will find case reports from our morning rounds, images, videos and tutorials. EyeRounds is a growing resource for students, residents, physicians, and patients. Over time, our site has gained momentum. Every day we receive thousands of hits from over 40 countries.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowProvides access to bibliographic information in Medline and other sources. (See the available Help Sheet). For full functionality, log in to your MyNCBI account..
- Embase This link opens in a new windowDue to higher security needed, EMBASE now requires a login for all exports.
Help Searching Embase A biomedical and pharmaceutical database contains bibliographic records with abstracts from EMBASE (1974-present) and Medline (1966-present) deduplicated and searchable with EMTREE. (See the available Help Sheet) - Scopus This link opens in a new window[Help Searching Scopus]Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- Interlibrary Loan/Document DeliveryRequest a book, a scan of an article or book chapter, view/modify outstanding requests, renew checked out items, and view request history. Free for university affiliates.
Patient Resources
- American Foundation for the BlindLocate organizations in the United States and Canada that provide services to people who are blind or visually impaired and their families.
- Child Development Services (formerly Blind Babies Foundation program)A non-profit organization that provides services and programs to families, professionals and the broader community to meet the unique needs of infant and preschool children who are blind or visually impaired.
- Cataracts: Facts about CataractsNational Eye Institute Information for Patients
- Diabetic Eye Disease Public Education ProgramLinks to educational documents from the NEI's National Eye Health Education Program (NEHEP)
- Eye Care AmericaEyeCare America is a public service program of the Foundation of the American Academy of Ophthalmology. The mission is to preserve sight by raising awareness about eye disease and providing access to medical eye care.
- Eye Health TopicsNational Eye Institute Information for Patients
- Eye Injuries from MEDLINE PlusFrom the National Library of Medicine, citations and links for the general public about eye injuries.
- Eye SmartAmerican Academy of Ophthalmology
- GlaucomaInformation from the National Eye Institute/National Institutes of Health
- Guide Dog Foundation for the BlindProvides guide dogs free of charge to blind people who seek enhanced mobility and independence.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new windowCovers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition and dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc. as far back as 1985. Provides access to consumer health periodicals, health-related pamphlets, health reference books, Clinical reference systems reports, and includes Clinical pharmacology, which provides access to information for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products, and new drugs.
- MedlinePlus This link opens in a new windowMedlinePlus is the National Library of Medicine’s comprehensive information source, designed for the general public. It provides patient and consumer health information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in both English and Spanish. It includes videos of common procedures, a directory of health organizations, a medical encyclopedia, and a guide to drugs and supplements.
- MedlinePlus: Eye DiseasesHealth Topic page for Eye Diseases
- National Federation of the BlindThe National Federation of the Blind is the largest membership organization of blind people in the United States. The National Federation of the Blind Jernigan Institute is the first research and training center in the United States for the blind led by the blind.
- National Library Service for the Blind & Physically HandicappedA part of the U.S. Library of Congress.
