Once you have a more specific idea about what you want to research and your potential research questions, you can also go directly to the relevant databases using this link: Databases A-Z.

Some databases that may be particularly useful to you are listed below. Those with detailed information in this guide, found from the down arrow on the Databases and Resources tab, are followed with a star.

• Communication and Mass Media Complete *
• Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive *
• Academic Search Elite
• Film and Television Literature Index
• Browzine *
• Web of Science

You can also use Google Scholar to search for scholarly material!

You can actually tell Google Scholar to look for things that the University of Iowa has access to by following the steps below.

• Step 1: Go to Google Scholar homepage
• Step 2: Click on the three lines on top left of page, and in resulting menu click Settings
• Step 3: Click on Library Links
• Step 4: In the search box near the middle of the page, under "Show library access links...", type in "University of Iowa" and press Enter or click the magnifying glass next to the search box
• Step 5: Click on the check mark box next to "University of Iowa - ViewIt@UILink" so that a check mark appears
• Step 6: Click "Save" button
  • After you do that, it should send you back to the Google Scholar homepage, and now whenever you search it will provide links to University of Iowa resources that you can access when available!

Where else can I find information? Other resources from the internet and our libraries can help you find additional information on your research areas. Some of those resources are included below:

International Communication Association, issuing body. (2017). Annals of the International Communication Association. Routledge, Taylor & Francis.

Dillon, R. (2020). The Digital Gaming Handbook. Milton: CRC Press. https://doi.org/10.1201/9780429274596

International Encyclopedia of Communication. (2012). Wiley. 

International Encyclopedia of Media Studies. (2013). Wiley.

Wright, J.D. (2015). International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences / editor-in-chief, James D. Wright. (Second edition.). Elsevier.

Lim, L., & Lee, H.-K. (2019). Routledge Handbook of Cultural and Creative Industries in Asia (1st ed.). Florence: Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315660509

Mano, Milton, Mano, Winston, & Milton, Viola. (2021). Routledge Handbook of African Media and Communication Studies. Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY: Routledge.

Merskin, D. L. (2020). The SAGE International Encyclopedia of Mass Media and Society (Vol. 5). Thousand Oaks: SAGE Publications, Incorporated. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781483375519

Quan-Haase, A., & Sloan, L. (2022). The SAGE Handbook of Social Media Research Methods. London: SAGE Publications, Limited. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781529782943

Simonson, P., Peck, J., Craig, R. T., & Jackson, J. (2013). Handbook of Communication History. Hoboken: Taylor and Francis.

For information on our holdings and how best to search them, consult the News and Newspapers guide:

https://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/newspapers