Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skip to content

Guides

Leigh Hunt Collections: Guide to Leigh Hunt Literary Manuscripts

Guide to books, manuscripts, ephemera, and writings related to Leigh Hunt

This page is an archived collection description from 2004.

While the content remains useful, the descriptions may not reflect recent scholarship. Please contact Special Collections lib-spec@uiowa.edu with any questions.

English and American Literature Collections

Rondeau "Jenny Kissed Me" Author Proof Copy

Draft of an Unfinished Epitaph

Draft of an unfinished epigraph, in verse, for "the faithful dog of Thomas Cave" Item 47.

Guide to Leigh Hunt Manuscripts

A CATALOGUE OF THE LEIGH HUNT MANUSCRIPTS
IN THE UNIVERSITY OF IOWA LIBRARIES

Compiled by
O M BRACK, JR., and
D. H. STEFANSON

FRIENDS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF IOWA LIBRARIES, IOWA CITY, 1973

 

 

INTRODUCTION

Luther A. Brewer, the founder and for many years the head of The Torch Press in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, began collecting Leigh Hunt hooks and manuscripts in 1920 and in the remaining thirteen years of his life amassed the bulk of the Brewer-Leigh Hunt Collection, as it is officially titled. The collection was purchased for the University Library in 1934 and has continued to grow until now it is considered one of the most complete in existence. [1] It contains 2,385 separate volumes; 1,924 manuscripts and manuscript letters written by Hunt or to him; almost 700 association volumes; and nearly 600 editions and variant issues of Hunt's writings.

The present catalogue of Leigh Hunt manuscripts began informally in the fall of 1965 when I assigned each of the students in my graduate seminar in bibliography and research methods a Leigh Hunt manuscript to examine. For the next five years every student in the course described a manuscript, attempted to date it, tried to discover the history of its composition, searched periodicals and books to see whether it had been published and in what form. Several students, notably Judy Clark, Mary De Jong, Rochelle Holt, Mary Jane Jones, and Linda Tevepaugh, helped put this material in order and worked through many of the manuscripts not previously described. Finally in the summer of 1972, D. H. Stefanson and I examined all of the manuscripts and, using what we could of the assembled materials, produced this catalogue. [2]

The primary purpose of the catalogue is to indicate the manuscripts by, or associated with, Leigh Hunt, exclusive of letters which arc presently part of the Brewer-Leigh Hunt Collection; the letters are being edited by David H. Cheney as part of the collected letters. All manuscripts are in Leigh Hunt’s hand unless otherwise stated. It was Hunt's habit to have fair copies made by various members of his family and, presumably, by an occasional amanuensis. When the handwriting could be readily identified, it has been indicated, but the attempt to identify all of these hands seemed beyond the scope: of this project. In any case, the identification of the hand of the amanuensis is rarely more important than the identification of the brand of typewriter used by a twentieth-century author. Watermarks are given only when they clearly date the paper. Hunt seems never to have had any large quantity of a given paper cm hand, and almost any manuscript of some length contains numerous kinds. The recording of this information would have swelled the catalogue greatly while providing little useful knowledge. Every effort has been made to identify each manuscript, even if only a scrap, and to ascertain whether it leas been published. All manuscripts relating to a particular book are brought together under its title, and poems are identified by title and first line if possible, and by the first line if the title is unknown. Prose fragments are also identified by the opening line when no title is known. Four mostly illegible scraps have been entered as "Unidentified Fragment." The whole has been arranged alphabetically, and a brief index has been provided to enable the user to find names, books and periodicals not readily discoverable by using this alphabetical sequence. Numbers in the index refer to entries and not to page numbers.

The compilation of this catalogue was facilitated by the courtesies of Katie Danese, Kristi Harris and Robert McCown. To Frank S. Hanlin and Frank Paluka I am grateful not only for their unselfish assistance on this project but for the many kindnesses extended to me over the years. Finally, this catalogue is dedicated to the alumni of my bibliography and textual criticism courses and the Center for Textual Studies with the fond hope that our shared experiences have meant as much to them as they have to me.

O M Brack, Jr.
Director, Center for Textual Studies,
and Assistant Editor, Books at Iowa

SCOPE AND CONTENTS

Since 1973, when this catalogue was published as a pamphlet, the University of Iowa Libraries has continued to add Leigh Hunt manuscripts and other materials to its collections.  A facsimile edition of the original catalogue is represented below. In 2010, an addendum that was created to include all acquisitions made after the catalogue's publication.  Inquiries regarding these materials are welcome. 

1973 Catalog #1-45

NOTES TO INTRODUCTION

1. For a more detailed history of the collection, see J. Christian Bay’s Introduction to Luther A. Brewer's My Leigh Hunt Library: The First Editions (Cedar Rapids, Iowa, 1932) and Frank S. Hanlin, "The Brewer-Leigh Hunt Collection at the State University of Iowa," Keats-Shelley Journal, 8 (1959), 91-94.

2. All of the information on the manuscripts gathered by the students and ourselves is on file in Special Collections.

ABBREVIATIONS USED:

LH -- Leigh Hunt

MH -- Marianne (Kent) Hunt

TH -- Thornton Hunt

Landre -- Louis Landre, Leigh Hunt (1784-1859) Contribution ´ l’histoire Romantisme anglais, 2 vols. (Paris, 1936).

Milford -- The Poetical Works, ed. H. S. Milford (Oxford, 1923).

MLHL -- Luther A. Brewer, My Leigh Hunt Library: The First Editions (Cedar Rapids, Iowa, 1932).

 

 

A CATALOGUE OF THE LEIGH HUNT MANUSCRIPTS IN THE UNIVERSITY OF IOWA LIBRARIES

 

1. "A. `I LOVE MY LOVE WITH AN A'"

One leaf mounted and bound of a draft of an essay, with some revisions, on the significance of initials (Ms/H94ai).

 

2. ABOU BEN ADHEM

"Exceeding peace had made Ben Adhem bold"

a) One leaf of a fair copy beginning with line 6 signed by the author. It was first published in S. C. Hall's Book of Gems (1838), III, 161 (Ms/H94ab). Milford p. 93.

b) LH has made a fair copy of the poem on the verso of the flyleaf of Imagination and Fancy (811.2/H94i/cop.9).

 

3. "ACT I, SCENE I. THE KING'S PALACE"

A notebook of sixty-two leaves contains ten leaves of a revised draft of an unidentified play (Characters: Gerard, a chamberlain; a Lord; Elmer; a nobleman; Cerdic, a nobleman and Wolston, a noble chief). It is bound with "Scenes from an Unfinished Drama" (Ms/H94or). See no. 119 below.

 

4. THE ADDRESS OF HIS DEPARTED LOVE TO PRINCE LEOPOLD

"Music first, & then a voice sings: -- My widowed love!"

One leaf folded, mounted and bound of a version slightly variant from that first published in Foliage, 1818 (Ms/H94a). Milford, p. 319.

 

5. AERONAUTICS, REAL AND FABULOUS

Thirty-one leaves mounted and bound of an almost complete draft of the essay with some revisions. All but eight leaves of transcription of quotations are in the author's hand. The essay was first published in the New Monthly Magazine, 48(September 1836), 49-61 (fMs/H94ae).

 

6. "A FLAG. HIS STATE"

One leaf containing five mostly illegible lines (Ms/H94misc).

 

7. AGREEMENTS AND CORRESPONDENCE WITH PUBLISHERS, 1820-1855

These manuscripts were assembled, mounted and bound by Brewer. They form a miscellaneous collection of thirty-five to forty items treating in some way the publication of LH's works and his relationship with his publishers (fMs/H94ag).

 

8. "AND HE GOES FREE"

One leaf, virtually illegible, containing a seventeen-line fragment of a dialogue between G and V (Ms/H94fr).

 

9. "AND THUS HE LIV'D, BECAUSE WHILE GREEN IN YEARS"

One leaf containing forty-six lines of a poem extensively revised, concerning James Bruce (1730-1794), African traveller (Ms/H94an).

 

10. ARIOSTO'S EPISODE OF CLORIDAN, MEDORO, AND ANGELICA

"None but the heart shewn truly in the face"

One leaf folded and bound of nine lines of translation and sixteen lines of the original Italian. It was first published in The Liberal, No.1, 1822, p.50 (Ms/A71e). Milford, p. 453.

 

11. ARIOSTO, ORLANDO FURIOSO

One leaf folded and bound of an early rough draft of a translation with heavy revision and a number of incomplete lines. It is watermarked 1828 (Ms/A71o).

 

12. AN ATTEMPT OF THE AUTHOR TO ESTIMATE HIS OWN CHARACTER AND WRITINGS

One leaf mounted and bound of the opening paragraph, with revisions. The paper is watermarked 1826 (Ms/H94at). See Roger Ingpen (ed.), The Autobiography of Leigh Hunt (Westminster,1903), 11, 254.

 

13. THE AUTOBIOGRAPHY OF LEIGH HUNT (1850)

a) Printer's copy from which the 1860 edition was printed. It includes: (1) The text of the three-volume edition of 1850, interleaved and revised throughout by LH and TH. Many pages are in the author's autograph, besides numerous marginal corrections and additions. (2) A twenty-page manuscript of TH's "Introduction" and "Postscript" as originally written for the 1860 ed., chiefly in his autograph, together with the first, second (revised) and final proofs (828/11941131). MLHL, pp. 244, 254.

b) Sixty-four leaves mounted and bound of portions of a draft of the Autobiography (1850) about two-thirds of which is material not found in the printed text. The paper is watermarked 1820 and 1823 (fMs/H94au). It was published by Stephen F. Fogle, Leigh Hunt's Autobiography: The Earliest Sketches, University of Florida Monographs: Humanities, No. 2, Fall 1959.

c) One leaf mounted and bound containing a draft of the beginning of the first chapter differing materially from the printed version (Ms/H94au2).

d) Four leaves containing a draft, with some revisions, of a portion of the work ((1850), 1, 168-71] (Ms/H94fi).

e) One leaf of notes mounted at the front of volume two and another at front of volume three of a copy of the work (828/H941B). MLHL, pp. 240-42.

f) Perhaps a rejected four-line passage from the work tipped in at front of copy two of Wit and Humour, 1848 (810.28/H99w): "I have spent some pleasant hours at Mr. [John] Bell's table, in company with his niece [Jane], & Mr. H. . . . [Francis Ludlow Holt] the barrister, who became his editor."

 

14. BALLADS OF ROBIN HOOD

The four leaves of the manuscript Brewer reproduced in his Ballads of Robin Hood, by Leigh Hunt With Some Manuscript Reproductions (Cedar Rapids, Ia.: Privately Printed, 1922) are mounted on pp. 7, 11, 15, 19 (828/H941so.b.). Milford, pp. 10309.

 

15. BEAUMONT AND FLETCHER (1855)

a) Two leaves folded and two single leaves, ten pages in all, of notes and a portion of the introduction (Ms/H94be).

b) One leaf of notes and a paragraph of the introduction are tipped in at pp. v and xv of copy three of Beaumont and Fletcher (828/B379.Xh). All of the leaves contain revisions and differ somewhat from the printed text.

c) Copy four has one leaf of the dedication to Bryan Waller Procter tipped in at the dedication page. MLHL, p. 267.

 

16. "BE CRAMMED, -- OF THOUGHT, FEELING, RAPTUR'D BEHOLDERS?"

One leaf of seven lines of a poem or play (Ms/H94fr).

 

17. AN EXTRACT FROM WILLIAM BEATTIE'S LIFE AND LETTERS OF THOMAS CAMPBELL, III, 238.

One leaf folded, mounted and bound of an extract by LH for Egerton Webbe, to whom it is addressed, and of whom mention is made in the excerpt (Ms/B361).

 

18. BODRYDDAN

"Our fairest dreams are made of truths"

Appears to be early proof sheets, with minor corrections by LH, of printing in Monthly Repository, 1, 3rd ser. (October 1837), 243-46 (828/H941b). Milford, pp. 364-66.

 

19. THE BOND OF HEALTH AND HONOR

a) One leaf folded of ten resolutions (thirty-three lines) in the hand of TH and eleven lines of commentary in the hand of LH. The document is signed by four Hunts, five Gliddons and two others. The paper is watermarked 1823 (Ms/H94b).

b) An earlier draft contains fifteen "Golden Resolutions" and remarks in LH's hand. Resolutions 1-6, 8-10, and 13 correspond, with some variation, to the ten in the first manuscript (Ms/H94b2).

 

20. THE BOOK OF BEGINNINGS

"Some poets, (great ones, who can bear a pun)"

Thirty-three leaves of various sizes bound, some mounted, comprising a manuscript with many revisions differing greatly from the published version in The Liberal, No.III, 1823, pp. 97-115 (Ms/H94bo). Milford, pp. 167-76. At the front of the manuscript is an interesting note by H. Buxton Forman dated 29 June 1889 explaining how he saved this and other LH manuscripts from destruction.

 

21. THE BOOK OF THE SONNET (1867)

a) The entire printer's copy of 352 folio leaves in Samuel Adams Lee's hand for the first publication in America in 1867 except the following pages of volume two: 192-95, 209-53, 295, 339, 340, 343. It also contains some unpublished sonnets (fMs/H94boo).

b) Another manuscript contains eighteen sonnets in the hands of TH and Miss Adelaide Procter, some annotated by LH. There are also seven leaves of a revised version of the "Introductory Letter" with much material not included in the printed text (Ms/H94boo2).

c) Four leaves, each containing a sonnet, are tipped in at the front of volume one and at pp. 14, 21 and 23 of volume two of copy one of The Book of the Sonnet (808.1/H94b)

d) One leaf of an early draft of "An Essay on the Sonnet" is tipped in at p. 17 of volume one, copy nine. MLHL, pp. 283-85.

e) There is one leaf mounted and bound containing a fair copy of Bryan Waller Procter's "To the Skylark" intended, perhaps, for this volume although it does not appear there (Ms/P96t). See no. 127 below.

 

22. CAPTAIN SWORD AND CAPTAIN PEN (1835)

a) Seven of the eight original illustrations by TH with legends for five of them in LH's autograph are inserted in a copy of the work with notes from G. R. Gleig's The Subaltern mounted at front (828/H941c/cop. 3).

b) Copy four of the 1849 edition has two leaves mounted at p. [1] containing observations on war and its horrors; one is in the hand of LH, the other TH.

c) Another leaf is mounted at front of Stories from the Italian Poets (828/H941sto/ v.1/cop. 2). On the verso is a memorandum of things to be done. MLHL, pp. 170-74, 219.

 

23. THE "CARTILAGINOUS" AUTHOR

"Lord! what a dish without salt."

Two leaves mounted and bound, here entitled: The "Car[ti]laginous" Author. 1830. It was first published in the Tatler, 1 (7 September 1830), 12 (Ms/H94c). Milford refers to this manuscript in a note, p. 753.

 

24. CATULLUS'S RETURN HOME TO HIS ESTATE AT SIRMIO, IMITATED. CARMEN 31

"O best of all the scatter'd spots that lie"

One leaf folded and bound containing eleven lines of a translation with a number of rejected readings. It was first published in the Examiner, 21 August 1808, p. 541 (Ms/ C36c). Milford, pp. 414-15.

 

25. CHAUCER'S POEMS MODERNIZED (1841)

a) The whole printer's copy of twenty-one leaves of "The Manciple's Tale" bound with the final page proofs (Ms/C49m).

b) The whole printer's copy of twenty-one leaves of "The Friar's Tale" (Ms/C49f).

c) Fifteen leaves of a heavily revised portion of "The First Canto of the Squire's Tale of Chaucer, Modernized" as it appeared in The Liberal, No. IV, 1823, pp. 31731. (Another, much different version, appeared in 1841.) Some cancelled lines in Italian on the back of p. 1 of the manuscript are dated 14 January 1823 (Ms/H94sq). Milford, pp. 116-26.

 

26. COFFEE-HOUSES AND SMOKING

One leaf of the manuscript with revisions which was first published in the New Monthly Magazine, 16 (January 1826), 50-54 mounted at front of volume two of The Town, 1848 (942.1/H941t).

 

27. CRITICAL ESSAYS (1807)

Four leaves mounted on two folio sheets containing a forty-eight line fragment of his essay on Charles Mathews, pp. 133-41 (fMs/H94ch).

 

28. DANTE, INFERNO, CANTO III, 1-15 "Through me the way is to the city of dole"

Six leaves fashioned into a notebook with a cover containing a translation with revisions, a brief note on Caleb Whitefoord, and various memoranda (Ms/H94note).

 

29. A DAY WITH THE READER

"Of these, or whatsoever point of these"

One leaf mounted and bound containing a nineteen-line "Fragment of Verse." This manuscript consists of lines 45-48 of the British Museum manuscript and lines 40-44 of the Milford printing. Milford supplied the lines from this manuscript; see pp. 72022. One leaf laid in this volume contains a fifteen-line poem in the form of a dialogue between author and reader, here entitled, "The world does not grow old." A LH note reads: "From an unpublished poem entitled `A Day with the Reader'"; it is signed by the author (Ms/H94of).

 

30. DESCENT OF LIBERTY

"Daisies with their pinky lashes"

a) Eleven leaves bound of portions of the third scene (Ms/H94d). Milford, pp. 291313. The manuscript is dated 10 July 1814.

b) A manuscript of eight leaves mounted and bound, "An Unfinished Poem" ("It was the time when Autumn with the thrill"), which Milford suggests were trial verses for this poem. He reprinted the poem from this manuscript (Ms/H94it). See pp. 65761. Both manuscripts contain numerous revisions.

 

31. DESCRIPTION OF HAMPSTEAD

"A steeple issuing from a leafy rise"

One leaf torn from a copy of Foliage, 1818 (pp. [cxv]-cxvi) with the second and third lines of the poem revised. It was first published in the Examiner, 12 November 1815, p. 729. It differs from the version in Milford, p. 238 (Ms/H94ha2). See 45d below.

 

32. THE DINNER PARTY ANTICIPATED

"Dear Telephus, you trace divinely"

Four leaves mounted and bound of a fair copy of this poem first published in the Companion, No. XII, 26 March 1828, pp. 157-58. This manuscript is continuous with that of "An Earth upon Heaven." See nos. 37 and 74 below. There is a transitional paragraph at the end of the manuscript leading into "Sketches from the Club-Book -- No. 1, Old Charlton." See the Companion, No. XIII, 2 April 1828, p. 171 (Ms/ H94de).

 

33. THE DOUBLE

a) A complete draft of sixty-seven leaves with revisions (Ms/H94do2).

b) A manuscript of eleven leaves of a draft of Act I, scene 1, with revisions (Ms/ H94do3).

c) There are several fragments: One leaf numbered "59" contains a revised portion of pp. 54 and 55 as they appear in the manuscript in the Huntington Library. There is a typescript of this manuscript in this collection (Ms/H94do).

d) One leaf of a heavily revised early draft with a note on top reading "Back of 10- (double continued)" (Ms/H94fr).

e) One leaf containing a six-line fragment (H94/misc).

 

34. DRAMATIC WORKS OF WYCHERLEY, CONGREVE, VANBRUGH, AND FARQUHAR (1840 )

One leaf mounted and bound containing Congreve's song "Tell me no more I am deceived" with the introductory note, printed on p. xli (Ms/C74t).

 

35. "DUKE. IS'T EVEN SO? AND ALL IS EQUALLY SMOOTH"

One leaf containing twenty-one lines of a play with the Duke and Baron as speakers (Ms/H94fr).

 

36. THE EARLIEST BOOKS AND COMPOSITIONS WHICH I CAN RECOLLECT TO HAVE READ & WRITTEN

One leaf folded, mounted and bound (Ms/H94e).

 

37. AN EARTH UPON HEAVEN

Four leaves mounted and bound containing a copy with light revisions of the complete essay, here entitled "The Dessert. Introduction. An Earth upon Heaven," which differs from that printed in the Companion, No. XIII, 2 April 1828, pp. 161-65 (Ms/ H94de). The manuscript also contains "The Dinner Party Anticipated." See nos. 32 above and 74 below.

 

38. ENGLAND, PRO AND CON; SUGGESTED BY AN ENGRAVING OF CALLCOTT'S "WOODEN BRIDGE"

"A wooden bridge, a hut embower'd, a stream"

One leaf folded and bound containing a poem written at the request of Mr. and Mrs. S. C. Hall for a publication of the National Gallery describing the Vernon Collection (The Vernon Gallery, No. 23, S. C. Hall, 1850). The manuscript of six stanzas of seven lines each is bound with the galley proofs. In Mr. Hall's autograph is a request to revise and return immediately to which Hunt adds a request to add a seventh stanza "as otherwise I shall feel I have not done justice to England . . . . I am not used . . . to write verses except on impulse; and Callcott's white skies quench all the fire left in me, in spite of his machine." The stanza is written on the second galley. Also bound with the above is an envelope which evidently contained the poem; it is dated 29 November 1848 and bears a note signed by LH: "With a world of apologies from Mrs. Hall's business-driven, bewildered, brain-deadened, and incompetent humble servant. P. S. Never praise me, please; but think as highly as you chuse of my efforts and my good will. I cannot write verses to order." This manuscript was published by Landre, 11, 478-79 (Ms/H94eg).

 

39. ENGLISH OPERA

Sixteen leaves mounted and bound of a complete draft with minor revisions of an article noting the re-opening of the Lyceum by Mr. Arnold. The paper is watermarked 1814. It was published in the Examiner, 20 June 1819, pp. 396-97 (Ms/H94en).

 

40. ENGLISH POETRY VERSUS CARDINAL WISEMAN

One hundred twenty-nine leaves bound containing essentially two drafts with numerous revisions, differing considerably from the version printed in Fraser's Magazine, 60 (December 1859), 747-66. Some leaves are watermarked 1855 (Ms/H94eng).

 

41. EPITAPH ON MRS. HESTER GREENWOOD BY HER HUSBAND DR. S. GREENWOOD

"Death, alas, thou hast cut down"

One leaf containing a fair copy of a twelve-line epitaph in LH's hand (Ms/H94ep).

 

42. EXECUTIONS FOR INFANTICIDES

Two leaves of a portion of an essay in the form of a letter "To the Editor of the Morning Chronicle" signed "Leontius" dated 30 August 1838. There are a few revisions (Ms/H94ex).

 

43. "FANCH. IS IT HE? NAY, IS IT HE?"

An eight-line dialogue between Fanch and Claude on the same leaf with "The Voice of the Oracle of Apollo" and "The Voice of the Statue" (Ms/H94vo). See nos. 160 and 161 below.

 

44. A FATHER AVENGED

Four leaves containing fragments from scene 5, with revisions; see Milford, p. 532, 11. 617-38. The play first appeared in the Companion, No. XXI, 28 May 1828, pp. 289303 and No. XXII, 4 June 1828, pp. 305-20. This manuscript fragment is part of the latter installment (Ms/H94f).

 

45. THE FEAST OF THE POETS (1814)

"But now came the men of right visiting claims"

a) Three leaves mounted and bound with one leaf containing twelve of the thirteen lines substituted in the 1860 version (see Milford, pp. 149, 709) and two leaves of rough verse and notes. Laid in opposite the first leaf of this manuscript is one leaf containing a twelve-line variant version of the same section. Only the first five lines of each are in essential agreement (Ms/H94fe).

b) One leaf is tipped in at p. 21 of LH's copy of The Feast of the Poets (828/H941f). This copy also contains one leaf watermarked 1814 mounted at the front containing the financial statement for the work. MLHL, p. 54.

c) Two leaves containing fair copies, with slight variations, are bound in copy two of Feast of the Poets (828/H941f/1815) pp. 160 and 162 of the following sonnets: "To the same." ("Winter has reached thee once again at last"); "To the same." ("The baffled spell, that bound me, is undone"); "To the same." ("As one, who after long & far-spent years"). See no. 148 below.

d) Copy three has two leaves like the above containing the following sonnets: "Sonnet. To "------- -------" ("The Mighty Spirit that regulates this earth"); "Description of Hampstead." ("A steeple issuing from a leafy rise"); "The Poets" ("Were I to name, out of the times gone by"); "To Koscinsko" ("Tis like thy patient valour thus to keep"). Milford, pp. 236-39, 249; MLHL, p. 59. See no. 31 above.

e) MS fragment, ten lines from pages 200-201 of The Feast of the Poets including notes (Ms/H94fo). 

1973 Catalog #46-75

46. "FOR THEM COMPATIBLE WITH REASON & THE COMMON GOOD"

One leaf containing a passage of nine lines with revisions on enjoyment mounted at the front of copy two of A Day by the Fire, 1870 (828/H941d). 

47. "FROM GAMBOLS, BONES, & PATTINGS GONE"

One leaf containing an unfinished poem of eighteen lines, with five cancelled, on the death of the dog of a Thomas Cave, the under-gaoler at Surrey Gaol, who was kind to Hunt during his imprisonment, 1813-15 (Ms/H94fro). 

48. GHOSTS AND VISIONS

This essay which was published in the Tatler (26 October 1830), 177-78, has the right-hand column of the printed text torn from that on the left, and LH has marked out all of the material in the right column except the last paragraph and has written in a new title: "Ghost-Stories" (828/H941.X2bre). It has been mounted and bound. 

49. "GOD IS THE GREAT & SERENE MYSTERY OF THE UNIVERSE" One leaf from an unidentified work with revisions (Ms/H94g).

 

50. HEADS OF THE PEOPLE (1840)

a) Five leaves of a slightly revised manuscript of "The Monthly Nurse," are tipped in at pp. 97 and 101 of a copy of this work in which the essay first appeared (942d/ H433/v.l). MLHL, pp. 180-82.

b) Twelve leaves of a heavily revised manuscript of "The Conductor" are mounted and bound at p. 197 of copy four of this work.

c) There is also a fair copy of the complete essay (20 leaves), "The Conductor," in the hand of TH (Ms/H94co).

 

51. A HEAVEN OF EARTH

"For there are two heavens, sweet"

A fair copy of the poem on verso of flyleaf of Imagination and Fancy, 1845 (811.2/ H94i/cop.8) signed by the author. It was first published in Poetical Works, 1844. Milford, pp. 280-81. 

52. D'HERBELOT DE MOLAINVILLE, BIBLIOTHEQUE ORIENTALE

Two leaves containing an index to the third and fourth volumes tipped in at pp. 241, 253 of Stories in Verse, 1855 (828/H941.X3/1855/cop.2). MLHL, p. 270.

 

53. HOLLAND HOUSE

A portion of the proofs with corrections in LH's hand mounted and bound of this essay first published in Household Words, 9 (18 February 1854), 11, and later incorporated into Old Court Suburb, 1855 (828/H941.X2bre).

 

54. "I KNOW NOT HOW TO EXPRESS THE FEELINGS"

One leaf folded containing two cancelled pages on the death of Shelley (Ms/H94fr). See nos. 70 and 110 below.

 

55. THE INEVITABLE. INSCRIBED TO JOHN FORSTER

"Forster, whose voice can speak of awe so well"

One leaf folded, mounted and bound containing a fair copy with a few suppressed words, here entitled "The Visitor." The paper is watermarked 1847. It was first published in the New Monthly Magazine, 88 (January 1850), 1-2 (Ms/H94v). Milford, pp. 95-96, 707.

 

56. "IN JUSTICE TO THE PUBLISHERS IN THE UNITED STATES"

One leaf mounted and bound containing a heavily revised paragraph expressing indignation at American piratical publishers (Ms/H94on).

 

57. "IN SHORT, THEY EXHIBIT THE WORST PART OF THE FEATURES OF THE AGE OF CHIVALRY"

Two leaves numbered 6 and 7 laid in the front of Leigh Hunt's Journal (052/L52/No. 1-17/cop.2). Much of it is taken up with a description of a countryside with later mention of Palamon, Arcite and Griselda.

58. "INTENDING THE OTHER DAY TO GO BY THE TWO O'CLOCK STAGE"

Two leaves of an essay on waiting for a stagecoach without a book. Page one is mounted and bound and is watermarked 1824 (Ms/H94i). Page three of what appears to be the conclusion of this essay is mounted and bound separately (Ms/H94n). Both leaves have light revisions.

 

59. "1 VIOLATED/NO LAW, THEREFORE WILL EVERY LAW ENFORCE" One leaf containing an almost illegible fragment of a poem or play (Ms/H94fr).

 

60. INVITATION TO A FRIEND

"Dear friend, that magic goose-quill banish"

One leaf watermarked 1835 of a heavily revised manuscript tipped in at p. 201 of Literary Hours; By Various Friends, 1837 (810.28/A151). MLHL, pp. 178-79.

 

61. A JAR OF HONEY FROM MOUNT HYBLA (1848)

a) Two leaves with revisions containing the "Subjects for Head & Tail Pieces" for the volume are tipped in at p. [iii] (828/H941j). MLHL, p. 225.

b) A one leaf "Memo" referring to the compiling.of this volume and its publication is mounted and bound at front of copy eleven. One paragraph discusses Men, Women, and Books. See no. 79 below.

 

62. A KISS IN REASON

"Iris, amidst the fern"

One leaf mounted and bound containing a variant version of a ten-line poem, here entitled "A Reasonable Argument," first published in the Companion, No. XVIII, 7 May 1828, p. 256 (Ms/D54r). 

63. LECTURE ON HAMLET AND MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM, CHARLES COWDEN CLARK

Ninety-two leaves containing a fair copy of a lecture by Clark with pencil annotations by LH (Ms/C58h).

 

64. A LEGEND OF FLORENCE (1840)

a) One hundred and eight leaves mounted and bound containing portions of Act I and IV and three versions of Act V. It is mostly autograph with thirty-one pages in the hands of others with revisions by the author (Ms/H941e). b) A small notebook of twelve leaves contains notes in prose and verse (Ms/H941e2). c) There is one bound leaf numbered `114' with revisions (Ms/H941e3).

 

65. THE LEGEND OF KING ROBERT OF SICILY

Twenty-eight leaves mounted and bound containing a complete draft, with some revisions. It was first published in Ainsworth's Magazine, 6 (October 1844), 307-12, and later included in A Jar of Honey from Mount Hybla, 1848 (Ms/H941eg).

 

66. LILLIPUTIAN ODE IN HONOUR OF FERDINAND

"And when he was rais'd high"

One leaf of a heavily revised poem which may be an early version of the one published in "The Wishing-Cap. No. VII. Rainy-Day Poetry" in the Examiner, 30 May 1824, p. 337. The manuscript is mounted and bound with portions of Lover's Amazements, etc. (Ms/H94aut). See nos. 72i and 163 below.

 

67. THE LITERARY EXAMINER (1823)

This copy which has MH's signature on the title page, has the two portions of "On the Suburbs of Genoa and the Country about London" (pp. 95-105; 113-20) extensively revised in LH's hand with the title changed to "Pleasant Memories of the Suburbs." The two-part essay "My Books" (pp. 1-6; 17-22) was revised in this volume but then excised, presumably to serve as printer's copy. The essay "On the Latin Poems of Milton" has the word "Oriental" changed to "Classical" (p. 129, 1. 11) (052/L776/ cop.4).

 

68. LLANBEHR.-1835

"Quitting dear friends with homeward care"

One leaf of a heavily revised manuscript tipped in at p. 197 of Literary Hours; By Various Friends, 1837 (810.28/A151). Milford, pp. 366-67; MLHL, pp. 178-79.

 

69. LOOK TO YOUR MORALS

Fifty-seven leaves mounted and bound comprising a complete draft mostly in another hand with five leaves and corrections in the hand of LH. The manuscript is watermarked 1843 and is inscribed: "Leigh Hunt, 32 Edwardes Square, Kensington." This is the manuscript published by Milford, pp. 626-47, 735 (fMs/H941oo).

 

70. LORD BYRON AND HIS CONTEMPORARIES (1828)

a) Five leaves mounted and bound containing portions of the chapter on Shelley. One leaf is mounted at p. 329 of a copy of the second edition (828/B996Bhu/1828/v.l/ cop.l). The leaves are heavily revised. One leaf containing a variant version with revisions of the paragraph beginning on the bottom of p. 299 of the second edition is mounted at p. 329. This leaf was relocated to the Leigh Hunt Ms file October 2001.  The copy of the book from which it was removed was re-cataloged in 2008 and given an LC call number.  It is now PR4381 .H7 1828 cop. 1 v. 1.

b) Copy two of the first edition (828/B996Bhu) contains a substantial portion of the chapter on Shelley in the autograph of TH. MLHL, pp. 138-41. See nos. 54 above and 110 below.

 

71. LOVE IN FICTION IS THE SAME AS LOVE IN REAL LIFE, POETICIZED Four leaves mounted and bound of an unfinished draft of an essay (Ms/H941oe).

 

72. LOVER'S AMAZEMENT

a) Nineteen leaves mounted and bound, four unbound, containing portions of Acts I-111, heavily revised (Ms/H941o).

b) Another volume contains three additional leaves mounted and bound also heavily revised (Ms/H941o2).

c) Twenty-five leaves mounted and bound contain a rejected sketch of Act IV printed by Milford, pp. 618-25 (Ms/H941o3).

d) Thirty-eight leaves mounted and bound contain portions of Act I and II, with revisions. Three and one-half pages are in another hand (Ms/H941o4).

e) Twenty-three leaves mounted and bound of a later version of Act IV than that printed by Milford are in another hand with revisions by LH (Ms/H941o5).

f) A fifty-five leaf manuscript mostly mounted and bound with all but three leaves in the hand of the author contains a draft of Act V and portions of Act IV (Ms/ H941o6).

g) Another manuscript of three leaves (Ms/H94por) appears to be from a draft of this play. h) A fifteen-line fragment may also be from this play (Ms/H94fr).

i) Fifteen leaves bound of portions of Acts IV and V bound with unidentified fragments and one leaf of a poem, "Lilliputian Ode in honour of Ferdinand" (Ms/H94 aut). See nos. 66 above and 163 below.

j) Two leaves contain fragments from a version of the play (Ms/H94aut2). The play was first published in Leigh Hunt's Journal, 4 January-1 March 1851.

 

73. THE LUTRIN BY NICOLAS BOILEAU-DESPRRAUX

"Arms, and the mighty-hearted Dean, I sing"

a) Thirty-one leaves bound of LH's translation; this manuscript was printed by Landre, 11, 468-78. LH has written notes and household accounts on parts of the manuscript (Ms/B671).

b) A manuscript of seven leaves bound contains a heavily revised version of the poem from the beginning to line 47 on p. 472 of the Landre text. This would appear to be a rough working copy since each manuscript contains rejected readings from the other in no discernible pattern (Ms/H94Pbobs).

c) Another manuscript (twenty-two leaves bound) contains portions of early and late draft. Leaves 1-8 in the first sequence are late drafts and conform to the earliest printed version in the Tatler, 13 October 1830, p. 134. Leaves 3-8 in the second sequence follow Milford, pp. 496-99, 11. 1-107 (Ms/B6712).

d) There is also a manuscript of two leaves which seems to be an earlier version of the manuscript. Milford, pp. 498-99, 11. 92-110 (Ms/B6713). All of the manuscripts are heavily revised.

e) One leaf mounted containing references to "Despreaux-Oeuvres" signed by the author and dated 11 March 1830 (Ms/H94misc).

 

74. THE MAGIC HORSE. FROM THE ITALIAN OF CRISTOFANO BROZINO

"His Highness has found out a happy way"

One leaf folded and bound contains the original and an English version with corrections by LH. It is continuous with the manuscript of "The Dinner Party Anticipated" (Ms/H94de). See nos. 32 and 37 above. This attribution requires further investigation.

 

75. MAN'S WORK UPON THE GLOBE

One leaf of galley proof with extensive corrections and revisions by LH and TH of an essay published in the Spectator (Ms/H94ma). 

 

1973 Leigh Hunt Manuscripts #75-125

75. MAN'S WORK UPON THE GLOBE

One leaf of galley proof with extensive corrections and revisions by LH and TH of an essay published in the Spectator (Ms/H94ma).

 

76. "MEANWHILE THE SWEET GOODNATUR'D SHADES DESCEND"

a) One leaf folded mounted and bound containing a thirty-six line poem with heavy revisions. The heading "Canto 7. Tea" is crossed out. The paper is watermarked 1831 (Ms/H94m).

b) Another leaf mounted and bound contains eighteen lines of the same poem ("Now leaps the pleasant cataract of Souchong") with light revisions (Ms/H94now).

 

77. THE MELANCHOLY LOVER TO HIS MISTRESS

"Ah think not, that the pensive air"

One leaf containing a fair copy of two eight-line stanzas. The paper is watermarked 1801. On the verso is a pencil drawing of a flower, perhaps by MH. There are slight variations between this manuscript and its first publication by R. B. Johnson in Poems of Leigh Hunt (London, 1891), lI, 138-39 (Ms/H94m2).

 

78. MEMORANDA

One leaf containing four brief items (Ms/H94misc).

 

79. MEN, WOMEN, AND BOOKS (1847)

One leaf containing a list of chapter titles with revisions is mounted at front of copy two (828/H941me/v.l). MLHL, p. 223. See no. 61b above.

 

80. MUSICAL EVENINGS, OR SELECTIONS, VOCAL AND INSTRUMENTAL, FROM THE BEST COMPOSERS, ILLUSTRATED WITH SUITABLE WORDS AND REMARKS, AND ADAPTED TO THE PERFORMANCE OF EVENING PARTIES

Fifty-eight leaves originally bound as a notebook but now loose containing a draft with seven leaves in the hand of MH. Six leaves are blank, and many have writing on both recto and verso. The manuscript was edited with an introduction by David R. Cheney, Columbia: Univ. of Missouri Press, 1964 (Ms/H94mu).

 

81. "MY FAVOURITE ROUND IN LONDON"

One leaf giving LH's favorite streets in London mounted at front of Stories from the Italian Poets, 1846 (828/H941sto/v.2/cop.2). MLHL, p. 219.

 

82. "NEVER THOUGHT HER LETTERS WOULD BE PUBLISHED"

One leaf of notes possibly made while reading Mme de Sevigne's letters (Ms/H94not).

 

83. NOTES CONCERNING SATYRS

One leaf with a drawing on the verso (Ms/H94ns).

 

84. NOTES ON THE WORKS OF SIR JOSHUA REYNOLDS AND JEAN-BAPTISTE DESCAMPS

One leaf signed by the author (Ms/H94misc).

 

85. NOTES ON THE PERSIANS AND THE MIDDLE EAST

Two leaves folded and bound containing a large number of brief notes (Ms/H94no).

 

86. "NOW THERE IS NO DOUBT MILTON MADE USE OF TASSO"

A portion of one sentence tipped in copy three of Foliage, 1818, p. 25 (828/H941fo). MLHL, p.89.

 

87. THE NUPTIAL SONG OF JULIA AND MANLIUS

"Race Uranian, habitant"

Six leaves bound of a fair copy of this translation from Catullus giving the Italian and English. The manuscript contains the first 140 lines with some variation of the 179 lines published in the Examiner, 12 May 1816, pp. 297-99 (Ms/C36n). Milford, pp. 419-21.

 

88. THE OCCASIONAL. NO. V. THE FRENCH EMPEROR'S MOUSTACHE

A portion of the proofs with corrections in LH's hand mounted and bound of this essay first published in the Spectator, 32 (26 February 1859), 237-39 (828/ H941.X2bre).

 

89. ODE TO THE GOLDEN AGE

"O lovely age of gold!"

Three leaves mounted and bound containing an early draft with revisions of a translation of Tasso's ode first published in the Indicator, 1 (15 March 1820), 183-84, and later incorporated in Amyntas, published the same year (Ms/T210). Milford, p. 466.

 

90. THE OLD COURT SUBURB (1855)

a) 176 leaves are mounted and bound of portions of the manuscript, much of it heavily revised. Some of the leaves are watermarked 1853 (Ms/H94ol).

b) There are three separate leaves that fill in missing pages in the early part of the above manuscript (Ms/H94o13).

c) Five leaves mounted and bound contain a fair copy of an anecdote (Vol. 1, 229-30) which differs substantially from the printed text. The paper is watermarked 1853 (Ms/H94o12).

d) Twelve leaves of the manuscript for chapters 1 and 15 are in a pocket in the front of volume one; material for pp. 21, 23, 24, 231 and 271 is tipped in on corresponding pages of copy three of the work (942.1/H941o/Ed.2/v.l). The leaves contain revisions and some are watermarked 1853.

 

91. ON SHIPS COMING UP THE RIVER AND STARS VOYAGING IN THE HEAVENS

"Up the river, crowding sail, comes the shipping white"

One leaf folded containing a fair copy with minor revisions of a seven-stanza poem comparing ships and stars signed by the author. It is watermarked 1846 (Ms/H94ski).

 

92. ON THE DEATH OF VINCENT HUNT

"Waking at morn with the accustom'd sigh"

One leaf folded, mounted and bound, with one page containing a fair copy of the poem with a few rejected readings and another page containing a number of trial lines. It was first published in The Correspondence (1862), Il, 146-47. It is bound with a note by LH referring to a sonnet by Vincent, probably "The Deformed Child," and a note to TH dated Hammersmith, 5 August [1853] referring to the same sonnet (Ms/ H94ond). Milford, pp. 281, 723.

 

93. ON THE GRACES AND ANXIETIES OF PIG-DRIVING

Three leaves mounted and bound of the essay with minor revisions. It differs somewhat from the version first published in the Companion, No. XII, 26 March 1828, pp. 158-60 (fMs/H94ong). 

 

94. "ORVIDA SELVA, IN CUI PIANGENDO SPARGO"

One leaf mounted and bound containing eleven lines of an Italian poem and four lines in English (Ms/P74).

 

95. " `O YES, PAPA,' SAID SHE, `IF MAMMA WOULD COME TOO'"

One leaf of an unidentified work which mentions LH's son and daughter, Vincent and Jacintha (Ms/H94fr).

 

96. THE PALFREY (1842)

Thirty-eight leaves bound in the autograph of MH with four leaves and many corrections in the hand of LH. This manuscript, which served as printer's copy, is complete except for the Preface (Ms/H94p). A leaf containing some trial verses and a brief prose statement on satire is mounted at front of copy five of The Palfrey (828/H941p). MLHL, p. 199.

 

97. "PERHAPS IN THE FIRST LINES OF HESIOD'S PROEM"

One leaf containing thirteen lines of a poem cancelled (Ms/H94fr).

 

98. THE PICTORIAL MISCELLANY OR UNION OF LITERATURE AND ART

One leaf folded containing seventeen lines of a prospectus for the book. It was never published (Ms/H94f). See Landre, II, 416, n. 4.

 

99. PLEASANT THOUGHTS FOR PLEASANT PEOPLE

Four leaves mounted and bound with light revisions. The paper is watermarked 1828. It was first printed by Brewer in Around the Library Table, Cedar Rapids, Ia., 1920 (Ms/H94pl).

 

100. POEMS

A made-up copy containing A Legend of Florence (1840), The Palfrey (1842), and pages xxi-xxxii and 5-208 of The Poetical Works (1832) with LH's manuscript markings for a new collected edition (828/H941.X3hu). MLHL, p. 162.

 

101. THE POETICAL WORKS (1857)

a) Volume one, copy one, in addition to the authorization of the American publication of LH's works in MH's autograph mounted on the half-title, contains two leaves of the "Introductory Letter to Samuel Adams Lee, Esqr." with revisions tipped in at p. 1.

b) Volume one, copy two, contains three leaves of the "Introductory Letter" with revisions mounted on pp. 1, 3 and 12. One leaf is watermarked 1856 (828/H941.X31). MLHL, pp. 271-74.

 

102. POISONERS

Six leaves containing a fair copy with a few corrections of a complete essay signed by the author. The paper is watermarked 1855 (Ms/H94poi).

 

103. "POUR THE MELTED [?], BOY"

One leaf containing an eight-line poem and assorted brief notes (Ms/H94orig).

 

104. A PRAYER ON GOING TO REST

One leaf mounted containing a five-line prose prayer. According to a pencil note on the manuscript it was written in 1816 for TH (Ms/H94pr).

 

105. THE PRINCE'S MARRIAGE

See The Secret Marriage, nos. 121d and e.

 

105a. "THE READER MAY HAVE NOTICED ABOUT REGENT STREET"

One leaf containing two paragraphs of an essay describing "Peregrine Playfair Esquire." This seems to be a thinly-disguised autobiographical account of LH who describes himself as "beyond the prime of life" (Ms/H94re).

 

106. READINGS FOR RAILWAYS (1849)

Manuscript title page watermarked 1848 mounted at front of a copy (808.8/H94r). MLHL, p. 238.

 

107. FRANCESCO REDI, BACCHUS IN TUSCANY (1825)

According to Brewer's count, there are close to one hundred corrections by LH (858/ R317bEh). The Library also has the copy, apparently from which the translation was made; it has a number of manuscript notes in LH's hand (858/R317b.m). MLHL, pp. 128-31.

 

108. THE RELIGION OF THE HEART (1853)

a) Eighty-seven leaves bound comprising the whole of the Preface and pp. 1-28 of the text. The manuscript contains many alterations and there are considerable differences from the printed text. All is in LH's autograph except a few printed slips taken from his Christianism (1832) with alterations in the author's hand. Various leaves are watermarked 1851 and 1852 (Ms/H94r).

b) There is one leaf tipped in copy two of The Religion of the Heart (242/H94c/ 1853) which may have been intended for this volume although it does not appear there.

c) Copy three has one leaf tipped in at p. 81 which seems to be an early draft in an unidentified hand of Section XXVIII, "Household Memorandum," here entitled "Thank Daily."

d) Another manuscript of six leaves entitled "Discourse for the Weekly Service, Selected from Distinguished Writers; With Minor Extracts for Textual and Other Purposes" contains a note to the printer, but the sixty-six lines do not appear in the printed text (Ms/H94r2).

e) A manuscript of 258 leaves mounted and bound contains a large body of revised material from this volume, some of it intended for a new and revised edition contemplated by LH to be called Cardinomia; or, The Religion of the Heart. All but seven leaves are in the author's hand. Leaves contain various watermarks with the earliest 1849 and the latest 1852 (Ms/H94r3).

f) Another manuscript of two leaves contains a fair copy of Section XXI, "Of Tears and Laughter" (Ms/H94r4).

 

109. RESTORATION AUTHORS

One leaf mounted at the back of a copy of Imagination and Fancy (1844) contains the birth and death dates for seventeen authors (811.2/H94i).

 

110. REVIEW OF THE POSTHUMOUS POEMS OF PERCY BYSSHE SHELLEY

Fifteen leaves mounted and bound of an extensively revised manuscript, portions of which appear in modified form in the chapter on Shelley in Lord Byron and his Contemporaries (1828). Leaves two and twenty-one are second drafts; the paper is watermarked 1822 (fMs/H94po). See nos. 54 and 70 above.

 

111. REVIEW OF R. B. PEAKE'S MEMOIRS OF THE COLMAN FAMILY

All but the first two pages of this review mounted and bound with corrections in LH's hand. These are not proof sheets but have been taken from a bound volume of the Edinburgh Review, 73 (July 1841), [389-90, missing] 391-424 (828/H941.X2bre).

 

112. RHODODAPHNE; OR THE THESSALIAN SPELL, A POEM

Five leaves comprising six pages of a review by Shelley of Thomas Love Peacock's poem. The manuscript is in the hand of Mary Shelley, with a few minor corrections in LH's autograph. One leaf is watermarked 1816. Harry Buxton Forman published this manuscript in Notes on Sculptures in Rome and Florence Together with A Lucianie Fragment and A Criticism of Peacock's Poem "Rhododaphne" (London: Printed for Private Distribution, 1879). The manuscript is inserted in a pocket in the back of a copy (733/S54n).

 

113. A RHYME FOR THE ALBUM OF LEE

"Go, thou little rhyme in E"

Two leaves mounted and bound containing a forty-one line poem with light revisions. It was first published by Milford, pp. 727-28 (Ms/H94rh).

 

114. RODRIGO DE BIVAR, A TRAGEDY IN FIVE ACTS

Sixty-seven leaves bound of an incomplete manuscript in the autograph of MH with revisions by LH. The paper is watermarked 1818 (Ms/H94ro). Landre, II, 327-31, 480-81.

 

115. ROMANCE AND REAL LIFE

One leaf folded containing extensive notes for a book or an essay (Ms/H94rom).

 

116. GIACOMO SANNAZARO, ON THE IMMORTALITY CONFERRED ON LAURA BY HER LOVER

"Quella ch'a l'urnil soun-di Sorga naque"

One leaf containing a fair copy of the poem in Italian in the author's hand (Ms/H94g).

 

117. A SAUNTER THROUGH THE WEST END (1861)

Two pages of an essay heavily revised. Perhaps it is rejected material for A Saunter through the West End originally published in the Atlas, 2 January-29 May 1847 as "The Streets of London: their notabilities, new and old" (Ms/H94w).

 

118. "SCENE II. SIR GILBERT MANNING, SIR HARBOTTLE MUMPS, AND SQUIRE TOTUS"

Five leaves mounted and bound containing a revised portion of scene 2 of an unidentified comedy (fMs/ori).

 

119. SCENES FROM AN UNFINISHED DRAMA

A notebook of sixty-two leaves, fifty-two leaves of which contain the incomplete draft of a play with heavy revisions, a portion of which was published in the Indicator, No. XXI, 1 March 1820, pp. 161-68 and reprinted by Milford, pp. 508-16. The remainder of the notebook contains the draft of an unidentified play (Ms/H94or). See no. 3 above.

 

120. SEA AND LAND, FROM THE GREEK OF MOSCHUS

"When gentle winds ripple the far green sea"

One leaf mounted containing a fair copy of a translation of the sixteen-line poem with a note: "translated and written by Mr. Leigh Hunt 1815." The manuscript follows the text first published in the Examiner, 21 January 1816, p. 42 (Ms/H94se). Milford, p. 411.

 

121. THE SECRET MARRIAGE

a) Fifty-nine leaves mounted and bound contain drafts of Acts I-IV. Forty-eight leaves are in the hand of another with revisions by LH; eleven leaves are in the hand of the author (Ms/H94s).

b) Eighty-six leaves bound contain a complete manuscript of the play in three acts. Fifty-two leaves are in the hand of another with revision by LH; thirty-four leaves are in the hand of the author (Ms/H94s4).

c) One leaf bound contains twenty-seven lines incorporated into Act I, scene 3 (Ms/ H94s2).

d) 170 leaves bound contain a complete manuscript of the play in five acts with considerable revision, here entitled "The Prince's Marriage" (Ms/H94s3).

e) Two leaves contain thirty-nine lines from Act I, scene 1, of "The Prince's Marriage" (Ms/H94s5).

 

122. THE MASQUE OF ANARCHY, A POEM BY PERCY BYSSHE SHELLEY

LH has heavily revised his Preface to the poem. He has also made corrections in the poem and marked the volume for the printer (828/S545m/ 18322). MLHL, p. 156.

 

123. THE SHEWE OF FAIRE SEEMING, ATTEMPTED IN THE MANNER OF SPENSER

"A faire olde home, which had a convent been"

a) Three leaves mounted and bound containing eighty-eight lines. There are two versions of the first stanza, each differing from the printed text, and all or part of stanzas two, five, six, twenty-nine, thirty and thirty-one. The manuscript is heavily revised (Ms/H94she).

b) There is also one leaf containing variant versions of stanzas XXXIII and XXXIV. The stanza numbers were changed from XXVIII and XXIX (Ms/H94ah). It was first published in Fraser's Magazine, 57 (May 1858), 602-10. Milford, pp. 130-40.

 

124. SIR RALPH ESHER (1832)

Fifteen leaves mounted and bound containing the first twenty-two pages of "Introductory Letter of the Author." The manuscript differs slightly from the printed text. The paper is watermarked 1828. It is bound with the receipt and draft given in the sale of copyright (fMs/H94si).

 

125. A SKETCH OF THE LIFE AND DRAMATIC WORKS OF JAMES SHERIDAN KNOWLES

Twelve leaves mounted and bound containing the complete manuscript with some revisions. The verso of the last leaf contains the following address: "Mr. Laman Blanchard, True Sun Office, Strand." It was written c. 1832 (Ms/H94sk). Autobiography (1850), IIl, 221-2

1973 Leigh Hunt Manuscript Catalog #126-169

126. SONGS AND CHORUS OF THE FLOWERS. POPPIES

"We are slumberous Poppies"

One leaf mounted and bound containing a fair copy of "Song of the Poppies" with the author's signature. The poem was first published in the New Monthly Magazine, 47 (May 1836), 18. A note to the poem which appears in this manuscript was not included until Poetical Works, 1844 (Ms/H94so). Milford, p. 357.

 

127. SONNETS BY ITALIAN POETS, WITH NOTES

This manuscript of 169 leaves bound is largely in the hand of TH except for fourteen leaves, twelve of which are in the hand of LH. The latter has also inserted many notes and corrections (Ms/H94son). A selection from this manuscript was published in Leigh Hunt/On Eight Sonnets of Dante, ed. Rhodes Dunlap (Iowa City: Typographical Laboratory, The University of Iowa School of journalism, 1965). Dunlap suggests that this was probably originally intended to be part of The Book of the Sonnet. See no. 21 above.

 

128. "SOUTHGATE LIES IN A CROSS-COUNTRY ROAD"

One leaf containing a draft of an essay (Ms/H94sou).

 

129. SPECIMENS OF A DICTIONARY OF LOVE AND BEAUTY

Twelve leaves mounted and bound of a portion of this essay, with revisions, first published in the New Monthly Magazine, 17 (July 1826), 47-59 (Ms/H94sp).

 

130. STANDING UNDER A TREE

"Look up o'er-head. What a thin, thick, huge, airy"

Two leaves pasted together containing a fair copy of a twenty-five line poem signed by the author with the notation: "From an unpublished poem." The paper is watermarked 1837 (Ms/H94sta).

 

131. STORIES FROM THE ITALIAN POETS (1846)

a) Seventy-one leaves mounted and bound; thirty-nine pages, comprising the whole of "Angelica and Medoro," and thirty-two pages, comprising the whole of "Boiardo," as printed in the Italian Poets, II, 196-212; 3-28. Numerous corrections appear on the manuscript but the printed text follows the corrected manuscripts rather closely. Nine pages are in another hand. One leaf is watermarked 1844 (Ms/H94st).

b) A copy of the book has one leaf containing the prospectus for the work mounted at front of volume one (828/H941sto). MLHL, p. 219.

 

132. STORIES IN VERSE (1855)

One leaf containing a draft of the table of contents (Ms/H94stor).

 

133. THE STORY OF RIMINI (1816)

"Arriv'd, and the two squires withdrawn apart"

One leaf containing sixteen lines of a rough draft of the original version (Ms/H94 sto). Milford, p. 30, 11. 209-24.

 

134. SUGGESTED BY THE FIRST WORDS OF THE AIR, "SE MONECA TI FAI"

"If you become a nun, dear"

One leaf containing a fair copy of an eighteen-line poem in two stanzas, dated 5 March 1840, and signed by the author. It was first published in the Indicator, No. LXV, 3 January 1821, p. 104 (Ms/H94su). Milford, p. 337.

 

135. "THE CONSCIOUSNESS OF HAVING FRIENDS UNKNOWN TO US"

One leaf containing a two-line aphorism signed by the author (Ms/H94misc).

 

136. "THE EDITOR'S FAREWELL TO THE READERS OF THE TATLER"

Six leaves containing a portion of the essay with heavy revisions (052/T21/No. 258458).

 

137. "THE LEAST THEY DEMAND OF A REFORMER IS THAT HE SHOULD HAVE NO INTEREST IN THE GREAT QUESTIONS HE DISCUSSES"

Two leaves mounted and bound containing a portion of a revised draft of an essay (Ms/H941a).

 

138. "THERE IS NO COMPLETE BEAUTY WITHOUT HEALTH, AND NO HEALTH WITHOUT A GREAT DEAL OF AIR"

One leaf mounted and bound containing nineteen lines of an essay on the relation between health and beauty with revisions (Ms/H94t).

 

139. "THERE IS NO TASK SO COMMONPLACE"

One leaf containing a three-line aphorism signed by the author (Ms/H94misc).

 

140. "THERE'S A MAN HAS BROUGHT IN CHINA"

One leaf mounted and bound containing a fair copy of a poem of fourteen lines with a note at the top: "I forgot to give this yesterday to Kate. Loving father, L. H." (Ms/H94th).

 

141. "THIS STRANGE TRANSFORMATION"

One leaf containing an eight-line revised draft of a satirical poem (Ms/H94thi).

 

142. THREE VISIONS, OCCASIONED BY THE BIRTH AND CHRISTENING OF HIS ROYAL HIGHNESS THE PRINCE OF WALES

"O! love of thanks for gentle deeds"

One folio leaf folded containing a fair copy of the entire poem, inscribed "For Mrs. How, with the author's compliments," and signed by the author. It was first published in the Morning Chronicle, 8 February 1842 (Ms/H94thr). Milford, p. 371.

 

143. TO A LADY WHO WISHED TO SEE HIM (FROM THE FRENCH OF MAROT)

"She loved me, as she read my books"

One leaf mounted and bound containing a fair copy signed by the author. It was first published in the Tatler, 23 September 1830, p. 67 (Ms/M35t). Milford, p. 452.

 

144. TO BARRON FIELD

"No more of your Wellingtons, Nelsons, and Jervises"

Six pages, ci-cvi, taken from another copy of Foliage (1818), are laid in. They contain a number of autograph revisions and the poem is here entitled "The Perils of Dining" (828/H941fo/cop.2). MLHL, p. 87.

 

145. TO CAROLINE ORGER

"To one whose hands, at friendly calls"

Twenty-one line poem on the flyleaf of a copy of A. Cassella's Il Traductore Italiano (London, 1838) presented to her by LH on 1 May 1838 (458.6/C34t). See no. 147 below.

 

146. TO CHARLES DICKENS

"As when a friend (himself in music's list)"

One leaf mounted and bound which agrees with the version published by Milford (p. 252) but has a number of rejected readings. First published in Poetical Works, 1860 (Ms/H94to).,

 

147. TO HAMPSTEAD

"Winter has reach'd thee, Hampstead mine, at last"

One leaf mounted containing a fair copy with two words suppressed. It was first published in the Examiner, 18 December 1814, p. 806. The paper is watermarked 1813 (Ms/H94ha). It differs slightly from the version in Milford, p. 236. See 45c above.

 

148. TO MRS. ORGER ON HER BIRTH-DAY, FEBRUARY 25, 1838. WRITTEN ON A BLANK LEAF OF A VOLUME OF STEELE'S PLAYS

"Were Steele, alive, with wit all brimming"

One leaf folded contains a fair copy of a sixteen-line poem signed by the author. On the verso is the following note: "On the first sketch of this which was sent me by Thornton Hunt & which I gave to Mr. Duckworth for Prince Leopold's collection of autographs was another shorter poem, headed "Little cake on Pie." The four-line poem ("One speech of Orger's gives surprise") follows. The paper is watermarked 1836 (Ms/H94org). See no. 145 above.

 

149. TO SHELLEY

"Beloved Shelley, friend, immortal heart"

One leaf mounted and bound containing a fair copy of the poem with a few rejected readings. It was first published in the London Mercury, 7 (November 1922), 16 (Ms/ H94tos). Milford, pp. 719-20.

 

150. TO T. L. H. SIX YEARS OLD, DURING A LATE SICKNESS

"Sleep breathes at last from out thee"

Two leaves mounted and bound containing a fair copy of the poem with a few changes. The original title was "To Thornton Leigh Hunt in his sickness. Augst. 18th."; it was changed in manuscript. It was first published in the Examiner, 1 September 1816, p. 552 (Ms/H94tot). Milford, p. 316.

 

151. THE TOWN (1848)

254 leaves mounted and bound of The Town; Its Memorable Characters and Events, the principal portion of which appeared in the Monthly Supplements to Leigh Hunt's London Journal (1834-1835) under the title "The Streets of the Metropolis." Included are a large part of volume one and a good portion of volume two of the work as published in 1848. There are numerous revisions, and all of the manuscript, except for a few transcriptions of quotations, is in LH's hand. Various leaves are watermarked 1827, 1829, 1845, 1846 (fMs/H94tow).

 

152. THE TOWN

Ninety-five leaves mounted and bound of a rejected version of matter intended for the articles in Leigh Hunt's Journal (1850-1851). The manuscript contains numerous revisions, and all except twenty-four leaves of transcriptions of quotations are in LH's hand. These articles are a continuation of The Town, 1848 (Ms/H94tow).

 

153. TOWN AMUSEMENTS. NO. 1. JANUARY. THE PANTOMIMES, & TWELFTHNIGHT

Five leaves containing portions of a heavily revised essay originally entitled "The Social Observer, or Calendar of Town Amusements." The paper is watermarked 1826 (Ms/H94town).

 

154. TWELFTH NIGHT DRAMATIC SKETCH

Four leaves containing a complete draft. It was published in the Musical Times and Singing Class Circular, 5 (1 January 1854), 313-16 (Ms/H94tw).

 

155. UNIDENTIFIED FRAGMENT

One leaf of brief notes mounted at the front of copy six of A Book for a Corner, 1849 (810.28/H94b/v.2).

 

156. UNIDENTIFIED FRAGMENT

One leaf badly torn tipped in at p. 295 of the second edition of Lord Byron and his Contemporaries (1828). One of the clearer sentences reads: "It is far from being the desire of the Editor of this paper, to make it a vehicle of controversy, public or private . . ." (828/B996Bhu/1828/cop.l/v.l). This leaf was relocated to the Leigh Hunt Ms file October 2001.

 

157. UNIDENTIFIED FRAGMENT

Two small leaves containing brief notes mounted at the front of copy three of The Old Court Suburb, 1855 (942.1/H941o/Ed.2/v.2).

 

158. UNIDENTIFIED FRAGMENT

One leaf of almost illegible notes mounted at front of copy five of The Seer, 1850 (828/H941s/v.l-2).

 

159. VISIBILITY OF THE SOUL

Six leaves containing a complete draft of an essay with light revisions (Ms/H94vi).

 

160. THE VOICE OF THE ORACLE OF APOLLO

"Your King must die, if no one will die for him"

One line of Italian and one in English on the same leaf with "The Voice of the Statue" and a dialogue between Fanch and Claude (Ms/H94vo). See no. 43 above and no. 161 below.

 

161. THE VOICE OF THE STATUE

"Thou shalt have ceas'd thy laughter before morning"

Four lines alternating Italian and English on the same leaf with "The Voice of the Oracle of Apollo" and a dialogue between Fanch and Claude (Ms/H94vo). See nos. 43 and 160 above.

 

162. WEALTH AND WOMANHOOD

"Have you seen an heiress"

One sheet mounted containing a fair copy signed by the author. It was first published in the New Monthly Magazine, 48 (September 1836), 19 (Ms/H94Pwaw). Milford, p. 360.

 

163. "WHOLE TIME TO AMUSE HER; AND I MUST SAY I DO"

One leaf of an historical drama (Characters: Queen, Lady Pembroke, etc.), one leaf of dramatis personae (Henry Wriothsley, Fiametta, etc.) with notes, and four leaves of notes to an unidentified play or plays bound with portions of Lover's Amazements and a "Lilliputian Ode in honour of Ferdinand" (Ms/H94aut). See nos. 66 and 72i above.

 

164. THE WINGED GUIDES

"Men. Fair things, we pray you let us know"

One leaf containing a song, with revisions, in the form of a dialogue between men and women (Ms/H94wi).

 

165. THE WISHING-CAP

a) One heavily revised leaf mounted and bound of a draft of No. VIII, "I and We," published in the Examiner, 13 June 1824, pp. 369-70 (Ms/H94ia).

b) There are also two leaves of this essay mounted at front of Men, Women, and Books, 1847 (828/H941me/v.2/cop.3). MLHL, p. 223.

c) One leaf probably containing a rejected passage of an essay for this series (Ms/ H94misc). See 66 above.

 

166. WIT AND HUMOUR (1846)

Five leaves containing the printer's copy for pp. 23-26 of "An Illustrative Essay on Wit and Humour." There are some suppressed passages and some verbal differences between this manuscript and the printed version (Ms/H94by).

 

167. "WITH THE NATURE OF LANGUAGE, SPOKE OF A GREAT MANY THINGS"

Nine leaves mounted and bound containing a 200-line discussion of Latin declensions. Brewer in a note to the manuscript suggests this was probably intended for the use of his grandsons (Ms/H941). See Correspondence (1862) 11, 186.

 

168. "YES, YES -- HE IS TO JOIN ME AT THE CAMP"

One leaf containing a fair copy of twelve lines of a play (Ms/H94fr).

 

169. "YOU TALK OF RHYMING TO THE WORD PHILOSOPHER"

Two leaves mounted and bound of a lightly revised version of the poem differing slightly from that first published in the Examiner, 30 May 1824, p. 338 (Ms/H94y). 

2010 Addendum #169-243

2010 ADDENDUM

170.  ABOU BEN ADHEM AND THE ANGEL

 

A poem consisting of two bound leaves and an illustration of a bird by LH, dated between 1784-1859. Also included is a small postcard dating to 1907 with Abou Ben Adhem and the Angel printed on it. Two poems entitled Love and Poverty and Moral as well as four blue leaves with plant matter decoratively attached to adorn a poem composed by J.A. Day also included (Ms/H94ab2).

 

171.  ABOU BEN ADHEM RUSSIAN TRANSLATION

 

Written by LH, translated by Marie Trommer. Two translations: one on lined and one on unlined paper (Ms/H94aba).

 

172.  THE ABSENSE OF THOSE WE LOVE

 

Nine handwritten leaves of an article by TH (Ms/H943ab).

 

173.  AMPTHIL

 

A poem plus three notes on eight leaves of blue paper (Ms/A52). 

 

174.  “AND EVERY PORE”

 

Manuscript fragment from The Town.  Fifteen lines, page number 75.I.  Includes small drawing of LH and a typed transcription.  Appears acknowledged in description of Ms/H94tow (Ms/H94tow3).

 

175.  AUTOBIOGRAPHY OF LEIGH HUNT

 

A holograph note concerning LH penned at the end of a copy of The Autobiography of Leigh Hunt by Richard Henry Horne between 1803-1884.  At end: signed.  Xerox copy (Ms/81no).

 

176.  AUTOGRAPH OF COMMONPLACE BOOK

 

A small notebook given to LH from Vincent Novello on August 14, 1828.  Inscribed by Vincent Novello in front cover urging Hunt to use the pages to write down ideas and/or things that “might otherwise be lost or forgotten” (Ms/H94com 1828).

 

177.  A COLLECTION OF PRAYERS IN VARIOUS AUTOGRAPHS

 

Small bound volume containing several lengthy prayers (Ms/C69).

 

178.  CONCERNING THORNTON HUNT’S MORAL CONVICTIONS AND PHILOSOPHICAL BELIEFS

 

Untitled essay by TH, dating between August 25, 1855 and June 1, 1859 (Ms/H943co).

 

179.  CUPID SWALLOWED

 

Russian translation by Marie Trommer. One handwritten sheet (Ms/H94cs).

 

180.  A DAY WITH THE READER

 

A fifteen-line fragment entitled “the world does not grow old” from the unpublished poem “A Day with the Reader.” Signed by LH (Ms/H94of2).

 

181.  THE DEAREST POET

 

Russian translation by Marie Trommer. One handwritten sheet (Ms/H94dp).

 

182.  TO DEAR LITTLE MARIAN CHELTNAM

 

Poem on blue paper with lace edges, mounted. Dated August 31, 1852. A printed copy of another poem, titled The Deformed Child, is also mounted on the same page (Ms/H9431to).

 

183.  DESCRIPTION OF HAMPSTEAD

 

A sonnet by LH. Printed copy of a leaf removed from a copy of Foliage, 1818. Second and third lines have been revised by Hunt (Ms/H94ha2).

 

184.  “EXPOUND O M[ISSUS?] DIVINE OF LOVE’S OWN LINE”

 

A holograph poem of 55 lines without a title composed by John Forester (Ms/F730).

 

185.  FRAGMENTS IN PROSE AND VERSE

 

Two typed list of fragments; eleven in total (Ms/H94fr).

 

186.  FRAGMENTS IN VINCENT HUNT’S HAND

 

Fragments include some of his poems and quotations from other poets (Ms/H9431f).

 

187.  THE FRIENDS

 

A poem that begins “The moon above the value of thene” by LH. Consists of one leaf divided into four sections; fourteen lines in total (Ms/H94fri).

 

188.  GREEK EXERCISES

 

A small notebook containing Greek exercises by Mrs. M.W. Shelley (Godwin) (Ms/S54g). 

 

189.  THE GRAND QUESTION DEBATED

 

Ten leaves that debate whether John Hamilton’s (1775-1848) baron should be turned into a barrack or a malt-house (Ms/H942g).

 

190.  HEART-WISDOM

 

One mounted leaf, includes Vincent Leigh Hunt’s signature (Ms/H9431he).

 

191.  HOMER’S SOLILOQUY

 

Sixteen pages written by R.H. Horne (Ms/H8lh).

 

192.  I AND WE

 

Autographed manuscript of work originally published in The Examiner on June 13, 1824. Includes a handwritten sheet plus a transcription (Ms/H94ia).

 

193.  I NOTE THE EMPEROR’S PROPSAL OF A PERIODICAL CONGRESS IN 1863

 

Untitled essay by TH consisting of three leaves divided into quadrants (Ms/H943in).

 

194.  I WELL COULD BEAR, THE WEARY DEARTH

 

Untitled poem, consists of one sheet, divided into quadrants (Ms/H9431i).

 

195.  JENNY KISSED ME

 

Russian translation by Marie Trommer. One handwritten sheet (Ms/H94jk).

 

196.  JOSEPHINE: IN IMITATION OF COLERIDGE

 

Poem by TH consisting of two sheets divided into quadrants (Ms/H943jo).

 

197.  LEIGH HUNT AND HIS MONUMENT

 

Written by M.D. Conway and dated October 18, 1868. Discusses the installation of a monument on LH’s previously unmarked grave as well as Hunt’s religious beliefs and values (Ms/C76l).

 

198.  LEIGH HUNT IN HIS STUDY

 

Two handwritten leaves and one typed transcript of twenty-nine lines. Composed in Cedar Rapids, IA on December 31, 1927 by Robert Gates (Ms/G25l).

 

199.  LEIGH HUNT’S CRITICISM OF HIS CONTEMPORARIES

 

Dated between 1810-1830 and collected by George Dumas Stout. Consists of extracts of Hunt’s published comments on Byron, Carlyle, Coleridge, Hazlitt, Keats, Lamb, Scott, Shelley, Tennyson, and Wordsworth (Ms/H94Crit).

 

200.  LETTER TO LORD ELLENBOROUGH

 

Letter written by P. B. Shelley, consisting of 19 leaves (Ms/S54l).

 

201.  LIBRARY SLIP

 

Small, handwritten sheet. Lists several works as well as LH’s name. Dated December 1, 1829 (Ms/H94li).

 

202.  LIST OF APPLICANTS FOR A JOB WITH NOTES ON THEIR QUALIFICATIONS

 

One leaf divided into four sections, written by LH (Ms/H94ap).

 

203.  THE LITERARY DIARY

 

Includes extracts from Dr. Johnson, R.B. Sheridan, Moore “The Hectors, a Comedy,” Byron, LH, copies of letters of Charles Lamb, Adam Small, and Co. from ca. 1830. Collected by C.J. Matthews (Ms/M42l).

 

204.  LOVE WILL FIND OUT A WAY

 

The first act of the play by LH. Consists of 31 pages (Ms/H941ov).

 

205.  MAN AND FISH. THIRD PART.

 

Russian translation by Marie Trommer. Three handwritten sheets (Ms/H94mf).

 

206.  A MAN OF LETTERS OF THE LAST GENERATION

 

Notes for an article published ca. 1859-1860 (Ms/H943a).

 

207.  MARY THE COOK-MAIDS’ LETTER TO DR. SHERIDAN

 

Three leaves, pages 11-13 by John Hunt (Ms/H942m).

 

208.  MEMORANDA CONCERNING MR. LEIGH HUNT

 

Written by Thomas Carlyle (Ms/C28m).

 

209.  MISCELLANEOUS MANUSCRIPTS AND MANUSCRIPT LETTERS

 

Includes Handshakings and The Populars, from 1877, A Family Party. Includes fragments in Greman, Greek, and English (Ms/M67).

 

210.  “MY LEIGH HUNT LIBRARY”

 

A speech by L.A. Brewer on his Leigh Hunt collection. Includes statistics on his collection as well as biographical information about LH (Ms/B84m).

 

211.  NOTES BY L. HUNT.

 

Written in margins of an envelope addressed to L. Hunt, Surrey Jail, Horsemonger Lane, 16 Oct. 1813, from [Henry Peter Brougham?] (Ms/H94no2).

 

212.  AN “ONLY TOO TRUE” STORY

 

A poem on one leaf of paper divided into four sections. It includes two illustrations: a drawing of two broken bird wings next to two claws under the title and a drawing of a catlike animal near a dead bird (Ms/A616).

 

213.  ON SHELLEY

             

Notes and text of a portion of an article that appeared in LH’s Lord Byron and some of his contemporaries, London, 1828, and later in the Autobiography, 1860 (Ms/H94sh).

 

214.  ORIGINAL MANUSCRIPT OF PORTION OF AN UNPUBLISHED PLAY

 

Five mounted sheets (Ms/H94ori).

 

215.  ORNAMENT TO THIS POPULOUS THOROUGHFARE

 

Manuscript fragment from The Town. Twenty-two lines on page number fifty-six (Ms/H94tow3 no. 2).

 

216.  THE PALFREY

 

Sketch for the Palfrey done in ink—apparently unused. Pen and ink drawing of two persons on horseback (Ms/94p2).

 

217.  PETRARCA’S CONTEMPLATIONS OF DEATH IN THE BOWER OF LAURA

 

218.  A poem sixty-four-line poem on five leaves with heading in LH’s hand, copied by [Thornton Hunt?] (Ms/H94ppe).

 

219.  PHOTOSTATS OF MISCELLANEOUS LETTERS BY AND TO LEIGH HUNT

 

Also includes other miscellaneous materials (Ms/H94ph).

 

220.  PORTIONS OF LECTURES AND WRITINGS

 

Written in ca. 1931 and includes the topics: schools, dwarfs, and the education of deformed children among others. Also contains letters from Eri J. Shumaker to Luther A. Brewer about the biography of R.H. Horne (Ms/H81p).

 

221.  PROMISSORY NOTE

 

A note stating that LH owed L10 to John Stafford. Dated January 20, 1852 (Ms/S779po).

 

222.  PROSPERINA

 

Essay by TH divided into seven sections with thirty-eight pages of working notes. Largely in the hand of TH, the rest in the hand of his amanuensis (Ms/H943pr).

 

223.  A RANDOM PAGE FROM FUTURITY

 

Four leaves folded and addressed to LH from William Johnson Fox between 1786-1864 (Ms/F7949Erp).

 

224.  A REASONABLE ARGUMENT

 

Written by Mme. Antoinette Deshoulieres. First published on May 7, 1828 in The Companion under the title A Kiss in Reason (Ms/D45r).

 

225.  REJECTED VERSIONS OF THE TOWN ARTICLES

 

Rejected versions in LH’s hand of matter intended for the articles on The Town, from his Journal, 1850-1851. Appears acknowledged in description of MsH94tow (Ms/H94tow2).

 

226.  REPORT OF THE CAUSE OF THE KING VERSUS JOHN HUNT

 

Published in the Examiner newspaper on February 21, 1821. The case concerned a suit against John Hunt for a libel on the House of Commons (fMs/H941r).

 

227.  SAN TERENZO

 

One sheet plus a transcription of Andrew Lang’s work (Ms/L26s).

 

228.  SCENE FROM THE “MAGICO PRODIGIOSO OF CALDERON”

 

Written by Pedro Calderon de la Barca, translated by P.B. Shelley (fMs/C14s).

 

229.  SCRAPBOOK

 

Alice Louisa Bird’s scrapbook, containing photographs of Ellen Leigh Hunt, a pencil sketch of Julie Trelawney Leigh Hunt by TH, material for a review of Richard Burton’s translation of the Lusiads by Camoeus, and other miscellany (Ms/B618s).

 

230.  SHELLEY’S ANSWER TO THE WESTBROOK PETITION, WESTBROOK PETITION TO LORD ELDON

 

Written by Percy Bysshe Shelley concerning the custody of Harriet Shelley’s children after her death.  Together the two letters consist of five large leaves (Ms/S545sh).

 

231.  SONNETS

 

Written by Mrs. M.V. (Novello) Cowden Clarke. Fifteen pages of individual sonnets written in a tablet-style bound work dated 1859 (Ms/C59s).

 

232.  SPECIMENS OF A DICTIONARY OF LOVE AND BEAUTY

 

One  leaf concerning the history of Giafar and Abassa; published in New Monthly Magazine, July 1826, number LXVII, p. 53. Portion of original manuscript which is a continuation of Ms.H94sp (Ms/H94sp2).

 

233.  STROLLS IN CORYDON

 

A poem in TH’s hand, consisting of twenty-seven mounted leaves (Ms/S92).

 

234.  TICKET OF ADMISSION

 

Ticket for the admission of two, to the Theater Royal, Covent Gardens, for LH’s play “Legend of Florence.” Dated Wednesday February 7, 1840; signed by LH (Ms/H94ti).

 

235.  TO CHRLES OLLIER KENSINGTON

 

A letter by LH to Charles Ollier Kensington dated May 7, 1844.  Discusses a literary passage involving Saturn and astrology and includes two illustrations of LH and James Henry Leigh Hunt (Ms/H94tow3 No. 7).

 

236.  TO COLONEL LEIGH HUNT

 

A letter by Richard Garnett (1835-1906) dated September 20, 1902.  Discusses the prices of some works by Shelley and Keats and includes a typed transcription (Ms/94tow3 No. 6).

 

237.  TO HENRY LEIGH HUNT

 

Letter  to Hammersmith dated March 30.  Thanks LH for his letter and the marmalade.  Both the envelope and a typed transcription are included (Ms/H94tow3 No. 3).

 

238.  TO LEIGH HUNT

 

Letter from Mary Ellen Peacock Meredith (1821-1861) to LH in Oatlands Park, Weybridge dated May 7.  Meredith invites Hunt to visit her new home and includes directions (Ms/94tow3 No. 4).

 

239.  TO MRS. TRAVERS

 

A letter by Richard Garnett (1835-1906) dated August 19.  Introduces Colonel Leigh Hunt and discusses a drawing of a room at Field Place by Lady Shelley (Ms/94tow3 No.5).

 

240.  TO THE GRASSHOPPER AND THE CRICKET: IN FIELDS OR BY THE FIRE

 

A sonnet by LH consisting of one small mounted leaf with nineteen lines including the title. Was written in rivalry with Keats on December 30, 1816; on the same day Keats composed a sonnet entitled “The Poetry of Earth is Never Dead” (Ms/H94gra).

 

241.  TWO COLONIAL QUAKER FAMILIES

 

Essay by Mary Bruce Cushman consisting of sixteen typed pages (Ms/L5293tw).

 

242.  UNITY OF THOUGHT

 

Fragment of an essay by TH, consisting of handwritten leaves (Ms/H943un).

 

243.  A WARNING ESSAY

 

Introduction to an excerpt from Elizabeth Inchbald’s novel Nature and Art on two leaves; including a biographical sketch of Inchbald (Ms/94wa).

Manuscripts Acquired after 2010

244. RONDEAU "JENNY KISSED ME"

Author's proof, signed. (Ms H941ro)

245. THE PALFREY, A LOVE-STORY OF OLD TIME

Author's prrof, signed. (Ms H941pa)

246. ABOU BEN ADHEM & THE ANGEL

A copy of his most famous poem in his hand and signed with his initials. Send in response to a letter requesting it to B.W. Procter. That letter is also included. (Ms H941ab)

247. VELLUTI TO HIS REVILERS

A copy, probably in the hand of Julia Leigh Hunt, preceded by an "advertisement" explaining why the author was moved to write the poem and followed by a note from Leigh Hunt himself, signed. (Ms H941ve).