Easily Identify the Trees You Find! This essential guide by celebrated ecologist May Theilgaard Watts helps readers identify native (and some widely introduced) trees of the United States and Canada, east of the Rocky Mountains. With this handy, easy-to-use guide, you'll be able to identify all sorts of trees in no time. Features include: A dichotomous key, leading the user through a series of simple questions about the shape or appearance of different parts of a tree Includes 161 species Illustrated with line drawings Small (6- by 4-inch) format that fits in a pocket or pack to take along on a hike

Easily Identify the Trees You Find, Even in Winter! This essential guide by celebrated ecologist May Theilgaard Watts helps readers enjoy getting to know trees, even in winter when the leaves have fallen from the branches. With this handy, easy-to-use book, you'll be able to identify the trees around you in no time.

Native Trees of the Midwest is a definitive guide to identifying trees in Indiana and surrounding states, written by three leading forestry experts. Descriptive text explains how to identify every species in any season and color photographs show all important characteristics.

Identification guide to woody plants in winter, including keys and descriptions.

Nearly 700 species of trees are detailed in beautiful, full-color photographs of leaf shape, bark, flowers, fruit, and fall leaves, and accompanied by informative text. Both compact and comprehensive, and featuring a durable vinyl binding, this is the ideal field companion for beginner and advanced tree-peepers alike.

Whether on a lunch break visit to see an especially colorful maple in a nearby park or a month-long adventure from New England to the Smokies moving south with the color, Fall Color and Woodland Harvests is a wonderful companion for those who appreciate autumn's vibrant spectacle. Rich with color photographs that capture the hues of the season, this volume offers a species-by-species guide to the leaves of 100 species of the eastern United States and the fruits and seeds (the woodland harvests) of an additional 47 species, paying particular attention to the plants' locations and contributions to the fall color palate. The authors clearly explain the biological processes that result in leaf-color change and offer helpful tips on when and where to go see the best color.

All of the trees are grouped by family, from pines and redwoods to ashes and elders, with a clearly organized key to identification. Individual entries on hundreds of species offer concise descriptions of habit, leaves, fruit, twig, and bark. Line drawings of leaf, flower, and fruit accompany each entry. A convenient glossary has also been included. Concise descriptions of botanical and silvical characters are included for species of trees All of the trees are grouped by family with a clearly organised key to identification.

The 300 entries cover conifers, palms, broadleafs, fruits, flowering trees, and trees of economic importance.Each entry supplies the botanical name with its etymology, the common name, and the family name of the tree, along with a full description of size, color, shape, leaves, flowers, fruit, and seeds. Concise information is given on habitat, propagation, and conditions for growth. Also included are a detailed introduction with valuable background information, a hardiness zone map for North America, a glossary, and an index for easy reference. Whether you are interested in identifying the Staghorn sumac or in growing the tallest redwood, this handsome, comprehensive, and authoritative guide tells you everything you need to know about the wonderful and majestic world of trees.

Part 1 of this guide focuses on identification, with user-friendly keys to both summer and winter trees and illustrated descriptions of more than one hundred common species. The trees are arranged according to similarities in foliage; each entry includes a large scan of a leafy branch along with two or three smaller photos of buds, flowers, fruits, and winter twigs. The text contains a description of the species, its geographical distribution, and notes on how to distinguish it from similar species. Part 2 is divided into conifers and flowering trees and includes all trees native to Iowa, trees that are widely planted, invasive species, some less commonly planted trees, and tall native shrubs that might be mistaken for trees. The authors provide information about the natural history of individual trees, their ecological requirements, pests and diseases that affect them, and their usefulness for such different purposes as windbreaks, landscaping, wildlife plantings, fuel, lumber, and food. Following these two main parts, three shorter sections describe the planting and care of trees, Iowa's forest communities, and good places to see trees in the state; a glossary and a bibliography are also included.

These pocket-sized Nature Study Guides describe plants and animals in easy-to-understand language. They include drawings, keys, terms, symbols, and glossaries.

A full-color illustrated guide to the natural history of the most poisonous plants on earth This richly illustrated book provides an in-depth natural history of the most poisonous plants on earth, covering everything from the lethal effects of hemlock and deadly nightshade to the uses of such plants in medicine, ritual, and chemical warfare. Featuring hundreds of color photos and diagrams throughout, Plants That Kill explains how certain plants evolved toxicity to deter herbivores and other threats and sheds light on their physiology and the biochemistry involved in the production of their toxins. It discusses the interactions of poisonous plants with other organisms--particularly humans--and explores the various ways plant toxins can target the normal functioning of bodily systems in mammals, from the effects of wolfsbane on the heart to toxins that cause a skin reaction when combined with the sun's rays. This intriguing book also looks at plants that can harm you only if your exposure to them is prolonged, the ethnobotany of poisons throughout human history, and much more. A must for experts and armchair botanists alike, Plants That Kill is the essential illustrated compendium to these deadly and intriguing plants. Provides an authoritative natural history of the most poisonous plants on earth Features hundreds of color illustrations throughout Looks at how and why plants produce toxins Describes the effects of numerous poisonous plants, from hemlock and deadly nightshade to poppies and tobacco Explains poisonous plants' evolution, survival strategies, physiology, and biochemistry Discusses the uses of poisonous plants in medicine, rituals, warfare, and more

Valued for their lumber, their shade, and the beauty of their flowers and foliage as well as the nuts that nourish wildlife and humans alike, trees play important economic, ecological, and aesthetic roles in our lives. From honey and black locusts to white and chinkapin oaks to yellow and river birches, Trees in Your Pocket gives us identification and natural history information for about forty prominent deciduous species found in the Upper Midwest states of Minnesota, Wisconsin, Illinois, Iowa, and Missouri.   Botanist Tom Rosburg provides diagnostic color photographs of leaves, acorns and other fruits, and bark along with descriptions of leaves, fruits, and measurements of blades. The composition, arrangement, shape, and margin of leaves are most important for tree identification. Fruits can help confirm identification of species with similar leaves. The bark of a tree can be very helpful for identifying some species; as a tree ages, older bark (lower on the tree) can be quite different from younger bark (higher and on branches). In addition to these essential markers, Rosburg gives information about the range, habitat--savannas, moist forests, dry slopes, sandy soils, and so on--life-span, and tolerance of shade, fire, drought, and flood.   Each state in this region maintains a Big Tree program that honors the largest individual tree of each species. Champion trees are determined by adding together measurements of trunk circumference, height, and canopy spread. Rosburg identifies the trees with the largest diameter and the tallest trees among the champion trees in the Upper Midwest by their county and state. Together his superb photographs and key information make this guide the perfect companion for enjoying the diversity of trees in all kinds of environments. 

Completely updated, this new edition continues the grand tradition of this classic reference covering trees of North America excluding Mexico and tropical Florida. This handbook has been designed to meet the needs of the general public as well as those of students and scientists. Concise descriptions of botanical and silvical characters have been included for species of trees. Accurate and up-to-date, the new edition of this highly regarded reference incorporates recent changes in scientific and common names of trees, and offers improved distribution maps and more detailed descriptions of individual species. All of the trees are grouped by family, from pines and redwoods to ashes and elders, with a clearly organized key to identification. Individual entries on hundreds of species offer concise descriptions of habit, leaves, fruit, twig, and bark. Line drawings of leaf, flower, and fruit accompany each entry. A convenient glossary has also been included. Accurate and up-to-date, this new edition incorporates recent changes in scientific and common names of North American trees Concise descriptions of botanical and silvical characters are included for species of trees All of the trees are grouped by family with a clearly organised key to identification

Cottonwoods flourish on the verge, near streams and rivers. Their life cycle is closely attuned to the river's natural dynamics. An ever-changing floodplain keeps generating new opportunities for these pioneers to settle and prepare the ground for new species. Perpetual change is the story of cottonwoods -- but in a broader sense, the story of all trees and all kinds of life. Through the long parade of generation after generation, as rivers meander and glaciers advance and retreat, trees have adapted and persisted, some for thousands of years. How do they do this? And more urgently, what lessons can we learn from the study of trees to preserve and manage our forests for an uncertain future?

Contents: Introduction -- Explanations and suggestions -- How to use the key -- General key -- The cone-bearing trees -- The broad-leaved trees -- Definitions.