Actuarial Science: Books & E-Books
Guide content supports the teaching and research goals of multiple departments on campus. Content represents a non-exhaustive selection of essential resources and tools for engaging a wide range of backgrounds and viewpoints.
Finding Books & E-Books
There are several ways to find books and e-books at the UI Libraries. Here are some useful tools. For assistance, please ask a librarian.
- InfoHawk+Use InfoHawk+ to search for books and e-books in the UI Libraries' collection.
- E-Book CollectionsE-book records are periodically added to the InfoHawk+ catalog, but you can find them as soon as they are released by searching these collections.
- WorldCatSearch for books and other materials in libraries around the world.
- Interlibrary LoanIf the Library doesn't have the book you're looking for, request it via Interlibrary Loan and we'll get it for you from another library.
Library E-Book Collections
E-Book titles are periodically added to the library catalog, but you can find them as soon as they are released by searching these collections. For a full list, visit E-Book Collections.
- Cambridge E-Book CollectionOffers access to eBooks from our world-renowned publishing programme, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences.
- EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowSearch and view EBSCOhost's collection of eBooks.
- Elsevier ScienceDirect E-Books This link opens in a new windowElsevier purchase includes over 450 books published beginning in 2008.
- Springer E-Book Collection This link opens in a new windowSpringerLink offers an integrated full-text database for thousands of e-books, protocols, eReferences, and book series published by Springer since 2005.
- Wiley E-Books This link opens in a new windowWiley/Blackwell purchase includes over 2000 books for years 2007-2009.
Online Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- Encyclopedia of Actuarial Science This link opens in a new windowThe Encyclopedia of Actuarial Science presents a timely and comprehensive body of knowledge designed to serve as an essential reference for the actuarial profession and all related business and financial activities, as well as researchers and students in actuarial science and related areas.
- Encyclopedia of FinanceThis work covers all important aspects of finance, such as Capital asset pricing model, Financial management, Corporate finance, Investment analysis, Option pricing model, Efficient market hypothesis, and Modigliani and Miller Proposition.
- Encyclopedia of MathThe Encyclopedia of Mathematics wiki is an open access resource designed specifically for the mathematics community.
- Encyclopedia of Operations Research and Management ScienceUpdates the comprehensive overview of the wide range of ideas, methodologies, and synergistic forces that combine to form the pre-eminent decision-aiding fields of operations research and management science (OR/MS).
- Encyclopedia of Quantitative Finance This link opens in a new windowThe Encyclopedia of Quantitative Finance is a multi-volume reference work aimed at quants, risk managers, graduate students, academic researchers and all those interested in quantitative modeling in finance.
- New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Online This link opens in a new windowThe definitive resource for a new generation of economists.
Print Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Encyclopedia of Actuarial Science by Call Number: Main Math Reference HG8781 .E47 2004ISBN: 0470846763Publication Date: 2004-11-08Contents: v. 1 A-D -- v. 2 E-N -- v. 3 O-Z/INDEX.
Handbook of Econometrics by Call Number: Main Library HB139 .H36 1983ISBN: 0444861858Publication Date: 1983-11-01Includes biblographies and indexes.
Handbook of Finance by Call Number: Law LibraryISBN: 9780470042564Publication Date: 2008-08-04Contents: v. 1. Financial markets and instruments -- v. 2. Investment management and financial management -- v. 3. Valuation, financial modeling, and quantitative tools.
Handbook of the Economics of Finance by Call Number: Main Library HG173 .H345 2003ISBN: 044450298XPublication Date: 2003-11-10Contents: v. 1A. Corporate finance -- v. 1B. Financial markets and asset pricing.
