Web Resources
- Japanese Literature in Translation SearchUse this database to search for English translation of scripts.
- 伝統芸能 in NHK 名作選みのがしなつかしIncludes short video clips. In Japanese.
- 演劇情報総合データベース Database for Theatre ResearchMostly in Japanese. The Tsubouchi Memorial Theatre Museum Digital Archives Collection at Waseda University.
JapanKnowledge
JapanKnowledge 
includes number of reference sources that will be useful for researching Japanese theater and drama. To name a few, it includes...
- Encyclopedia of Japan In English
- 新編日本古典文学全集 includes 近松門左衛門集, 浄瑠璃集, etc.
- Also includes 新版能・狂言事典 and 新版歌舞伎事典.
Please click on Logout after you are done using JapanKnowledge.
Streaming Videos in Media Services Collection and Online
Theater in Japan: Yesterday and Today (Films For The Humanities & Sciences, 1989) 51:24 mins (From Theatre in Video)
Dancing: Dance Centerstage by John Hill (composer), Raoul Trujillo, directed by Dunlop, Geoff (ArtHaus Musik) 58:45 mins. Ballet and kabuki. (From Dance in Video)
Dancing: Dance at the Court by John Hill (composer), Raoul Trujillo (ArtHaus Musik) 59:03 mins. This program examines court dances in several different societies: England, Japan, Ghana, Java, France, and Russia. Imperial families nurtured court dance as an art form during peacetime. (From Dance in Video)
Dream Girls , by Longinotto Kim, in Under the Sun (British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC), 1994) 48 minutes. Takarazuka=宝塚 (From Under the Sun)
NHK映像マップ みちしる (In Japanese) Video clips featuring regional culture are gathered from NHK Archives and made available online. The site includes Performing Arts and Music (芸能) cellection.
Video Databases
- Dance in Video This link opens in a new windowCaptures dance performances from the stage and brings them directly to your computer screen through online streaming video - including 250 dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Volumes I & II.
- Theatre in Video This link opens in a new windowContains performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Stage work of directors and actors are cross-searchable and available for side-by-side comparison. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, provide illustration of the development of texts and the productions.
Rakugo Online
落語「じゅげむ」from おはなしのくにクラッシック on NHK for School
YouTube 演芸チャンネル: you can watch Rakugo and Manzai performances here.
落語はじめの一歩 by 落語芸術協会: includes 落語辞典 and 演目紹介 pages.
Journals
Asian Theatre Journal: Available both in print and via Literature Online, Project Muse, and JSTOR. Check the coverage in each database.
Monumenta Nipponica: Available both in print and via Project Muse and JSTOR. Check the coverage in each database. Also, you can do Keyword/Author/Title Search with the journal's Article/Translation/Book Review/Other in a wide variety of Subjects at its website.
Books in English
Traditional Japanese Theater by Call Number: Main Library PL782.E5 T73 1998ISBN: 0231108737Publication Date: 1999-04-27
Reference Sources
Historical Dictionary of Japanese Traditional Theatre by Call Number: Main Reference Collection PN2921 .L45 2006ISBN: 0810855275Publication Date: 2006-01-16
Databases
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowIncludes reference sources such as The Oxford Dictionary of Dance, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance, The International Encyclopedia of Dance, etc.
