Web Resources
- Japanese Literature in Translation SearchUse this database to search for English translation of scripts.
Video Databases
- Dance in Video This link opens in a new windowCaptures dance performances from the stage and brings them directly to your computer screen through online streaming video - including 250 dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Volumes I & II.
- Theatre in Video This link opens in a new windowContains performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Stage work of directors and actors are cross-searchable and available for side-by-side comparison. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, provide illustration of the development of texts and the productions.
Apps
- Ohayashi SenseiOhayashi Sensei is a free app for iPad. You can try playing four different Japanese musical instruments used in Noh drama on Ohayashi Sensei.
Reference Sources
Historical Dictionary of Japanese Traditional Theatre by Call Number: Main Reference Collection PN2921 .L45 2006ISBN: 0810855275Publication Date: 2006-01-16
Reference Sources in Japanese
Nō, kyōgen jiten 能・狂言事典 by Call Number: Main Japanese Collection Reference PN2924.5.N6 N585 2011ISBN: 4582126413Publication Date: 2011 (Shinpan 新版)
Noh/Kyogen Videos in Media Services and Online (English)
Noh Theatre: The Tale of Genji Excerpts (Creative Arts Television, 1957) 27 minutes (From Theatre in Video) 
Masks of Arcadia by Dunlop Geoff, in Under the Sun (British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC), 1989) 50 minutes. 黒川能 (From Ethbographic Video Online)
Noh Theatre Performance of Yamanba / 山姥, 1999, kuse section Free online edition from Cornell
Noh Theatre Performance of Yorimasa / 頼政, 1932 Free online edition from Cornell
Noh Scripts in English (Online)
- No Plays in Japanese Text InitiativeIncludes 13 Noh Plays with Japanese text and English translation(s). Also includes "Technical Terms for Noh Plays" by Royall Tyler and "Glossary of Japanese Noh Terms" by Karen Brazell.
Books in English
Twenty Plays of the No Theatre by Call Number: Main Library PL782.E5 K4ISBN: 0231034547Publication Date: 1970-11-01E-book edition is also available here for UI users.
- The guide to noh of the National Noh Theatre : play summaries of the traditional repertory byCall Number: Main Library PN2924.5.N6 E66 2012Publication Date: 20121. A-G -- 2. H-Ki --
- Dance in the Nō theater byCall Number: Main Library PN2924.5.N6 B39 1982Publication Date: 1982v. 1. Dance analysis -- v. 2. Plays and scores -- v. 3. Dance patterns.
Free Online Edition available at: Dance analysis -- Plays and scores -- Dance patterns.
Books in Japanese
Zeami 世阿弥Call Number: Main Japanese Collection FOLIO PL792.S4 Z9 2010ISBN: 4582921736Publication Date: 2010別冊太陽 Includes many illustrations.
Iwanami kōza. Nō kyōgen 岩波 講座. 能・狂言Call Number: Main Japanese Collection PN2924.5.K9 K68 1987 -- PN2924.5.N6 Y5529 1987ISBN: 4000102966Publication Date: 1987-19928 v.
Enmokubetsu ni miru nōshōzoku : ippo susumete nō kanshō 演目別にみる能装束 : 一步進めて能鑑賞 by Call Number: Main Japanese Collection (FOLIO PN2924.5.N6 K28 2004 )ISBN: 4473031918一歩進めて能鑑賞 演目別にみる能装束Ⅱ
Noh Manga
Hana yori mo hana no gotoku 花よりも花の如く Main Japanese Collection PN6790.J33 T383 2009
Noh Call Numbers and Subject Headings
Keyword search is unlikely to work well for searching resources on No 能. Your search result will include too much noise. Spelling 能 as Noh may work, but you may miss many good resources whose title romanizes 能 as No. So try call number browse search and subject heading searches as well!
Call Numbers
- PL735 Japanese Literature -- Nō
- PL765 Collection of Nō texts
- PL792.S4 Works by and about Zeami
- PN2924.5.N6 Nō performance
Subject Headings
- Nō: general works and those that deal with the presentation of Nō plays on the stage.
- Nō plays: The text of the Nō plays and works treating of them from a literary point of view.
Japananese language resources are in the East Asian Collection on the 2nd floor and English language resources are on the 5th floor. To check out DVDs in the Media Collection, go to the Service Desk on the 1st floor.
Kyōgen Call Numbers and Subject Headings
Call Numbers
- PL736 Japanese Literature -- Kyōgen
- PL766 Collection of Kyōgen texts
- PN2924.5.K9 Kyōgen performance
Subject Headings
- Kyōgen: general works and those that deal with the presentation of Kyōgen plays on the stage. Used also for Kabuki kyōgen and Nō kyōgen.
- Kyōgen plays: The text of the Kyōgen plays and works treating of them from a literary point of view.
Japananese language resources are in the East Asian Collection on the 2nd floor and English language resources are on the 5th floor. To check out DVDs in the Media Collection, go to the Service Desk on the 1st floor.
OCLC WorldCat
WorldCat 
: A bibliographic database of over 62,000,000 records from over 2,000 libraries around the world.
If you are looking for the information about specific repertoire, try searching OCLC WorldCat in addition to InfoHawk and SmartSearch. Sometimes bibliographic records in WorldCat include more detailed table of contents.