Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Maps/Spatial Data
UI Libraries Map Collection Home Page
More information on the above topics, plus links to more online sources for maps and spatial data.
"Provides maps and data for ArcGIS users and the capability to find and share geographic information. The free ArcGIS Online Web application makes it easy to find content published by ESRI, ArcGIS users, and other authoritative data providers as well as upload and share content of your own."
Data from US federal government
Fire Insurance Maps online – FIMo
FIMo includes map research tools and search tips to make finding maps for a specific location easier than ever before. Maps in our collection include publications by Sanborn, Perris, Hexamer, Whipple, Baist, Bromley, Hopkins and others. FIMo is an invaluable resource for research on urban development patterns, past property uses and occupants, family homes, genealogy, and more!
Global GIS Data Bundle
Shape files in varies scales for worldwide coverage. Must be used from on-campus.
Historical Iowa Maps
County land ownership atlases and more.
Iowa Aerial Photos
Historical and contemporary photos. Map Collection owns over 150,000 Iowa aerial photos.
Libraries Research Data Services
Learn about managing your research data, services, data management plans, etc.
Use the "Map Maker" to create a map online with the map layers or download the raw data for your own analysis. Map layers include agriculture, biology, boundaries, climate, environment, geology, history, people, transportation and water
National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
Provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States 1790 to present.
PolicyMap is a fully web-based online data and mapping application that gives you access to over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more. Data is available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Data comes from both public and proprietary sources. Many of the public files are available for download for free
ALL users must register one time with a uiowa email address for access
County-level hazard data set for the U.S. for 18 different natural hazard events types such thunderstorms, hurricanes, floods, wildfires, and tornados. For each event the database includes the beginning date, location (county and state), property losses, crop losses, injuries, and fatalities that affected each county. The data set does not include Puerto Rico, Guam, or other U.S. territories.
Create maps of the United States, down to block group level, using census and other marketing and socio-economic data.
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information. It creates fast, intuitive, and appealing maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. The site currently includes the entire US Census history from 1790 to 2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000.
Users may wish to create an individual account to save maps and other features in Social Explorer.
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.