Hardin Library
InfoHawk+ Catalog
Health Sciences Databases
E-Journals
Contact Hardin Library

• MEDLINEplus: Medical Encyclopedia
• UI Libraries - Resources by Type : Encyclopedias

General:

• Dictionary.Net
• Merriam-Webster Online​

 Medical:

• Dorland's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations - ClinicalKey
• MedlinePlus Medical Encyclopedia 
• MedTerms Medical Dictionary
• Oxford Reference Online includes Concise Medical Dictionary, A Dictionary of Nursing, and A Dictionary of Pyschology
• Stedman's Medical Dictionary, 28th ed. (2006) - StatRef (Note: Click on "Resources" tab)
• Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, 19th Ed. (2001) - StatRef Donald Venes et al.
• YourDictionary.com includes specialty dictionaries like a Medical Abbreviations List, Biology, & more

Specialized:

• ChemIDplus a chemical dictionary file for over 339,000 compounds of biomedical and regulatory interest.
• Glossary of Genetic Terms

• AF - Acronym Finder
• Dorland's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations - ClinicalKey
• PubMed's Journals Database - The journals database can be searched using the journal title, MEDLINE abbreviation, NLM ID, ISO abbreviation, or ISSN

• Associations Unlimited Contains information for approximately 160,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields.
• MedlinePlus List of Healthcare Organizations from the National Library of Medicine

• AAMC's Accredited Medical Schools of the U.S. and Canada
• Medical School Faculty On-line Directory
• U.S. News & World Report Medical School Rankings

• ABMS (American Board of Medical Specialties) - Who's Certified
• ADA Member Directory (American Dental Association) - requires member login
• ADA Find-A-Dentist
• AMA On-line Doctor Finder
• American Society of Clinical Oncology: Find a Cancer Doctor
• DocFinder (Association of State Medical Board Executive Directors)
• Healthgrades.com Health care ratings
• MEDLINEplus Directories: Physicians and Other Health Professionals
• State of Iowa Board of Medical Examiners | Iowa DocFinder
• WebMD Physician Directory (was: DocFinderPlus...HMO & Hospital Affiliations)
• Wellmark's Find a Doctor or Hospital - Includes Dental Providers and Pharmacy Directories

• AAMC - Association of American Medical Colleges
• American Hospital Directory
• Health Facilities in Iowa from the Iowa Department of Inspections and Appeals
  Click on Entity Search or Report Cards
• HospitalLink
• MEDLINEplus Directories: Hospitals and Other Health Facilities
• US Dept of Health & Human Services: Find Services
• US News & World Report: Directory of America's Hospitals
• Wellmark's Find a Doctor or Hospital

• Rankings/Report Cards:
• Healthgrades.com Health care ratings
• HospitalCompare
• Health Facilities in Iowa from the Iowa Department of Inspections and Appeals (Click on Entity Search or Report Cards)
• JCAHO Quality Check
• US News & World Report: "Best Hospitals"

• Medical/Health Sciences Libraries on the Web
• Medical Research Libraries by State from the National Library of Medicine.

Iowa Libraries:

• MedlinePlus: Libraries in Iowa - Filter by Public Library or Health Sciences Library
• Iowa Academic and Research Libraries Directory
• Iowa Libraries Directory from the State of Iowa Libraries Online (SILO)
• The C.S. O'Brien Library Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences, University of Iowa
• University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics Patients' Library
• Iowa City Public Library

• AAMC's Accredited Medical Schools of the U.S. and Canada
• AMCAS-E: American Medical College Application Service
• ECFMG: Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates
• Federation of State Medical Boards | Directory
• Gradschools.com Graduate School Directory
• Medical Student Section (MSS) of the American Medical Association
• Peterson's Education and Career Center
• Princeton Review Online. Includes directories, rankings, scholarship information and much more.
• University of Iowa's Pomerantz Career Center
• U.S. News & World Report Graduate School Rankings including Medical, Nursing & Allied Health
• USMLE: United States Medical Licensing Examination
• USMLE Board Review Step 1 links

• AAFP Directory of Family Practice Residency Programs
• Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME)
• CareerMD.com Information on training and employment opportunities for new physicians
• Residency Programs in Pediatric Dentistry
• FREIDA Online (Fellowship and Residency Electronic Interactive Database Access)
• Internal Medicine Residency Resources (American College of Physicans)
• NRMP: National Resident Matching Program
• Preventive Medicine Residency Programs from the American College of Preventive Medicine
• ResidentWeb.com

• AJN Career Guide
• American Association of Colleges of Nursing
• Iowa Board of Nursing
• Iowa Nurses' Association
• National Council of State Boards of Nursing
• U.S. News & World Report Graduate School Rankings [Print version of Best Graduate Schools available on Reserve: LB2371.4 .A64]

• National Library of Medicine's FAQ: Where can I find lists of medical meetings and conferences?
• AAMC Meetings and Conferences
• AMA Continuing Medical Education
• HealthStream
• Medical Meetings (journal)
• Medical Meetings Finder
• Medscape CME Center
• Online CME Sites by Bernard Sklar, MD. An alphabetical listing of sites offering ACCME-accredited CME.
• Skilled Nursing Resource Site for Web-based Continuing Education
• University of Iowa College of Dentistry: Continuing Education
• University of Iowa College of Medicine: Continuing Education
• University of Iowa College of Nursing: Continuing Education

Resources:

• ProQuest Congressional Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information from Congressional Information Service, Inc. (restricted to on campus users)
• Science.gov: FirstGov for Science Science.gov is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.
• FedWorld Information Network
• GPO Access Government Publishing Office
• HealthFinder A consumer health and human services information web site from the United States government.
• Federal Register
• United States Code
• Surgeon General Reports

Agencies:

• Administration for Community Living: Statistical Information on Older Persons
• Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry | Toxicological Profiles
• Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) 
           -Clinical Information (EBM, Technology Assessment, Guidelines, etc.) 
           -National Guideline Clearinghouse
• Health Resources and Services Administration: Health Workforce 
• Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) 
           -CDC Wonder 
           -Healthy People 2030 
           -MMWR: Morbidity & Mortality Weekly Report 
           -NIOSH: National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health
• Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services  
           -Medicare The Official U.S. Government Site for Medicare Information
           -Medicare and Medicaid Program Manuals
• Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) 
           -Bureau of Primary Health Care: Primary Health Care for the Underserved 
           -Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (Was: HCFA)
           -Directory of Health and Human Services Data
• Food and Drug Administration (FDA) 
           -FDA Enforcement Reports
• Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA) See: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
• Indian Health Service (IHS)
• National Cancer Institute (NCI)
• National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
• National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) 
           -GenBank
• National Institutes of Health (NIH) 
           -HSTAT: Health Services/Technology Assessment Text
• National Technical Information Service (NTIS) | NTIS database
• Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) 
           -Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Search
• Social Security Administration
• U.S. Census Bureau

Other Governmental Resources:

• Main Library Government Publications Department Links to National, International, & Iowa sources.

See also: Finding Health Sciences Statistics --Iowa

• IPHI Iowa Public Health Information
• Iowa and Other State-Related Information Sources from Main Library Government Publications Department
• Code of Iowa | Iowa Code Quick Retrieval (Chapter/Section)
• Health Facilities in Iowa from the Iowa Department of Inspections and Appeals. Click on Entity Search or Report Cards
• Iowa Department of Human Services
• Iowa Department of Public Health | Healthy Iowans 2010
• Iowa Hospital Association 
• State Library of Iowa
• State of Iowa page

• AJR (American Journalism Review) Newslink
• Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
• MedlinePlus Magazine
• University of Iowa: Iowa Now Health Care
• UI Libraries - Resources by Type: Newspapers

• Research - The University of Iowa
• UI Division of Sponsored Programs

 National Institutes of Health

• NIH Office of Extramural Research. Grants - OER Home Page
• CRISP (Computer Retrieval of Information on Scientific Projects) is a searchable database of federally funded biomedical research projects conducted at universities, hospitals, and other research institutions. The database is maintained by the Office of Extramural Research at the National Institutes of Health.
• NIH Guide for Grants and Contracts

 Forms

• Grant Application Forms
• NIH Forms and Applications

 Other

• Foundation Directory Online
• Grant Resources from the AAAS
• HSRPROJ: Health Services Research Projects in Progress HSRProj provides project records for research in progress funded by federal and private grants and contracts. It is searchable through the NLM Gateway.
• National Library of Medicine - FAQ: Grant Information
• National Science Foundation: Funding

• Hardin Library John Martin Rare Book Room: Imaging
• Medical Images & Illustrations from the Karolinska Institutet
• The Virtual Slidebox Virtual Microscopy for Education from the University of Iowa Dept. of Pathology
• The U.S. National Library of Medicine's Visible Human Project
• HEAL (Health Education Assets Library) - National Digital Library
• HONMedia HONmedia is an unique repository of over 6,800 medical images and videos, pertaining to 1,700 topics and themes.
• Images from the History of Medicine (National Library of Medicine)
• Google Image Search

Instructions to Authors:

• Instructions to Authors These pages contain links to Web sites which provide instructions to authors for over 3,000 journals in the health and life sciences. All links are to "primary sources," that is to publishers or organizations with editorial responsibilities for the titles.
• Elsevier's Author Gateway

General:

• The University of Iowa Writing Center
• The University of Iowa Translation Laboratory no longer provides translation services, 7/2001
• Vancouver Style - International Committee of Medical Journal Editors - Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical Journals. Sample References from the National Library of Medicine

Copyright:

• Fair Use: Copyright and Fair Use considerations for course readings - Hardin Library
• Copyright and Teaching/Research - The University of Iowa Libraries
• UI Libraries - Resources by Type: Copyright
• Medical Library Association Copyright Management Guidelines
• Campus Copyright Rights and Responsibilities: A Basic Guide to Policy Considerations prepared by the Association of American Publishers, the Association of American Universities, the Association of American University Presses, and the Association of Research Libraries

Style Manuals:

• American Medical Association (AMA) Manual of Style. Available in the Reserve area under: R119 .A533 1998
• AMA Style Guide from the University of Washington HealthLinks. This is a guide to the most frequently used entries.
• APA Style Resources on the Web from Eastern Michigan University.
• APA Style.org 
• Citing Medicine: the National Library of Medicine Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers includes information on published and unpublished materials and materials found online.
• NCHS's How to cite electronic media
• Citation Machine This site will help you properly cite your sources using either MLA or APA format.
• Strunk's Elements of Style
• Suggested Style Manuals for Citing Government Publications from the University of North Texas Libraries.
• International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) Recommendations - includes "Preparing a Manuscript for Submission to a Medical Journal"
• Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical Journals: Sample References from the National Library of Medicine