When you use the Notes and Bibliography style of CMOS citations, you create footnotes or endnotes after the end of the sentence or clause where you have referenced a source, whether it is a direct quote, paraphrase, or summary.

The first time you reference an ebook, you will create a full note citation using the outline below. 

Template for Full Note Citation: eBook

Note # (Google and Word add this automatically). First and Last Name(s) of the Author(s). Title of the eBook, page #s, (Publisher Name, Year Published). Format OR "Retrieved from URL" OR DOI (if available).

Examples:

1. Jane Austen. Sense and Sensibility, (Penguin Classics, 2005). Kindle. 

2. F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby (Wordsworth Editions Ltd, 2019). Retrieved from https://www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/64317?ref=commonlit. 

If you cite the same ebook later in your paper, you will use the short form after creating a new footnote. The short note form includes the name of the author, the title, and the page number(s) being referenced.

Examples:

5. Jane Austen, Sense and Sensibility, 53

6. F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby, 43

When you are finished with your assignment, you need to create a bibliography that complies all of your sources. Ebooks are cited according to the template outlined below.

Full Bibliographic Citation Template:

Last name, First name of author. Title of the eBook. Publisher, Year Published. Format OR "Retrieved from URL" OR DOI.

Example:

Austen, Jane. Pride and Prejudice. Penguin Classics, 2007. Kindle.

Borel, Brooke. The Chicago Guide to Fact-Checking. 2nd ed. University of Chicago Press, 2023. EBSCOhost.

Template for Citing Chapters from eBooks in CMOS: Notes and Bibliography 

First, you will have your note citation: 

Note #. First-name Last-name, “Title of Chapter,” in Title of Book, ed. Editor’s First-name Last-name (if applicable), page #, (Publisher, Year), Format OR "Retrieved from" URL OR DOI

Example:

MariaCaterina La Barbera, "Intersectional-Gender and the Locationality of Women 'in Transit'," in Feminism and Migration: Cross-Cultural Engagements, ed. Glenda Tibe Bonifacio, 17-31, (Springer Netherlands, 2012), DOI 10.1007/978-94-007-2831-8_2.

You may use a short note citation later in your assignment: 

Note #. Last name, “Shortened Title,” chapter or page #

Example:

La Barbera, "Intersectional-Gender," 20

Your bibliography will be placed in alphabetical order using the following template:

Last-name, First-name. “Title of Chapter.” in Title of Book, edited by Editor’s First-name Last-Name, pages of chapter. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. doi/url.

Example:

La Barbera, MariaCaterina. "Intersectional-Gender and the Locationality of Women 'in Transit'." in Feminism and
     Migration: Cross-Cultural Engagements, edited by Glenda Tibe Bonifacio, 17-31, Springer Netherlands, 2012. doi 10.1007/978-94-007-2831-8_2.

When you use the Author-Date style of CMOS citations, you use in-text citations to reference your sources, much like you would in APA or MLA format. 

Your intext citations will be closed with parentheses and contain the last name(s) of the author(s) and the year the work was published.

Example of in-text Chicago Style Citations: 

(Rowling 1997)

(Bronte 1847)

At the end of your assignment, you will create a reference page listing all of your sources alphabetically in CMS format. 

Template for Chicago Style Bibliography:

Last name, First name of author(s). Year. Title of Book, page #s. Publisher. Format OR "Retrieved from" URL OR DOI.

Examples:

Melville, Herman. 1851. Moby-Dick; or, The Whale. New York. Retrieved from https://melville.electroniclibrary.org/moby-dick-side-by-side.

Rowling, J. K. 2015. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. Bloomsbury Publishing. Kindle.

Template for Citing Chapters from eBooks in CMOS: Author Date

First, you will have your in-text citations that include the author's last name and the year the material was published.

Example:

(Erikson 2010)

At the end of your assignment, you will construct your reference list using the following template:

Last-name, First-name of chapter author. Year. "Title of Chapter or Part." In Title of Book, Edition, edited by A. Editor and B. Editor (if applicable), inclusive page numbers. Publisher. Format OR "Retrieved from" URL OR DOI

Example: 

Erickson, Andrew S. 2010. “Chinese Sea Power in Action: The Counter Piracy Mission in the Gulf of Aden and Beyond.” In The PLA At Home and Abroad: Assessing the Operational Capabilities of China’s Military. edited by Roy Kamphausen, David Lai, and Andrew Scobell. 295-376. Strategic Studies Institute, U.S.  Army War College. Retrieved from http://www.strategicstudiesinstitute.army.mil.

For additional information and examples of citations using Chicago-Style Citations, you can access the Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide

• You can choose between Note and Bibliography Style or Author Date Style at the top of the page

Purdue's Online Writing Lab offers sample papers and presentations that utilize the CMOS style