Ebooks by Academic Discipline
On this page, you'll find that the UI ebook collections have been narrowed down by subject for easier navigation.
Interdisciplinary
- ABC-CLIO eBooks powers Bloomsbury Digital Resources and provides access to numerous resources that can be helpful for course work falling into the humanities disciplines, including history, literature, philosophy, and social science. You can start your search by filtering sources by subject to discover ebooks a wide range of topics, such as African history, anthropology, creative writing, criminology, drama & performance, engineering, nursing, sports and exercise, and a multitude of others.
- APA Books is searchable on the APA PsycNET platform and includes a full copyright year of material, with 2007 through 2010 copyright years currently available.
- Brill E-Books Online provides access to thousands of publications from 2007 to the present in subjects encompassing Asian Studies, Biblical Studies, Ancient Near East and Early Christianity, Classical Studies, European History and Culture, Language and Linguistics, Middle East and Islamic Studies, Religious Studies, Theology and Philosophy, and Social Sciences.
- Cambridge E-Book Collection offers access to eBooks from our world-renowned publishing programme, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences.
- EBSCOhost eBook Collection
- Google Book Search allows you to search the full text of books to find ones that interest you and learn where to buy or borrow them
- Gutenberg-e links a collection of books from the American Historical Association and Columbia University Press. (Adobe Acrobat reader is required to view PDF files; QuickTime or RealOne players are required to play audio and video files
- Hathi Trust makes the digitized collections of some of the nation's great research libraries available for all across numerous disciplines
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed "Mental Measurements Yearbooks." Tests in Print, produced by the Buros Institute, is a listing of commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language
- Oxford Reference is a multi-part database of the online versions of seminal Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias
- Oxford Scholarship Online is a cross-searchable library containing SELECTIVE full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books in the areas of Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, History, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Public Health, and Religion
- Siku Quanshu (Wenyuange Edition) Intranet Version Access (via IP) features a collection of 3,460 Chinese classical works in 36,000 volumes or 4,700,000 pages, which includes works on philosophy, history, literature and art, political systems, social studies, economics, astronomy and geography, mathematics, medical studies, technology, etc. To Electronic version of the Wenyuange edition of Siku Quanshu is available on most of the computers in the UI Main Library. UI Faculty who want to gain access (via IP) to it in their campus offices need to download and install a client program on their office computers from http://us.subscriptionv3.skqs.com/skqs/download. Further instructions on download and installation are provided on their website.
- Wiley E-Books includes over 2000 books for years 2007-2009 covering more than 60 subject disciplines
Mathematics
- Springer E-Book Collection offers an integrated full-text database for thousands of e-books, protocols, eReferences, and book series published by Springer. You can browse by topic, including mathematics, computer science, and statistics
- Wiley E-Books includes over 2000 books for years 2007-2009 covering more than 60 subject disciplines, including mathematics and statistics
Humanities
- ACLS Humanities E-Book collection includes over 1700 eBooks in a variety of subjects, including architecture, art, agriculture, American studies, Asian American studies, communication, computers, education, feminism, film studies, government, history, Indigenous studies, law, music, and many others.
- American Drama 1714-1915 contains more than 1,500 dramatic works from the early eighteenth century up to the beginning of the twentieth, American Drama 1714 -1915 reflects American dramatic writing in all its richness and diversity: plays in verse, farces, melodramas, minstrel shows, realist plays, frontier plays, temperance dialogues and a range of other genres are represented. Major dramatists include David Belasco, Rachel Crothers, Augustin Daly, Clyde Fitch, Edward Harrigan, James Herne, William Dean Howells and Joaquin Miller
- Black Drama - 1850 to present currently contains approximately 1200 plays by 201 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Many works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. Nearly a quarter of the collection will consist of previously unpublished plays by such writers as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Femi Euba, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston.
- Black Thought and Culture: African Americans from Colonial Times to the Present is a single source for the published works of numerous historically important black leaders. Along with well-known works, the collection features approximately 5,000 pages of unique, fugitive, and never-before-published materials. When complete, Black Thought and Culture will provide approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to 1975. Black teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other leaders form the mainstay of this corpus. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art.
- Early English Prose Fiction offers more than 200 works from the period 1500 - 1700, exploring the rich diversity of prose fiction in English in the period preceding the emergence of the realist novel as its dominant form. EEPF offers the full text of works by key writers such as John Bunyan, Sir Philip Sidney, Thomas Nashe and Aphra Behn, and has been produced in association with the Salzburg Centre for Research on the Early English Novel (SCREEN). Access via Literature Online (LION)
- EEBO: Early English Books Online includes the first book published in English and offers selections through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare. This collection contains over 100,000 titles listed in Pollard and Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and Thomason Tracts and their revised edition
- Making of America is a digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. This site provides access to 9,500 books and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
- Medieval Sourcesonline contains several full text books, which include hundreds of original medieval history documents compiled for the teaching and study of history
- Past Masters is a full-text humanities database, including works of such philosophers as Locke, Berkeley, Hume, Hobbes, Mill, Bentham, Machiavelli, Rousseau, Descartes, Leibniz, Spinoza, Aristotle, Thomas Aquinas, Wittgenstein, Peirce, Kierkegaard, A. Smith; mostly in English
- SAGE eReference is database of reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education
- Typee: A Fluid-Text Edition this electronic edition offers digital images, a transcription of each manuscript page, corresponding print texts, and a dynamic reading text, which allows readers to inspect the revision sequences and narratives of more than 1000 revision sites from herman Melville's Typee.
- University of Iowa Press: Iowa Short Fiction Award & John Simmons Short Fiction Award
- University of Iowa Press: Singular Lives includes life stories of so-called ordinary Americans who, though not necessarily known to the general public, freshly recreated representative pasts and reimagined singular identities.
Sciences and Technology
- ACS Symposium Series covers a broad range of topics including agricultural and food chemistry, cellulose and renewable materials, chemical education, organic chemistry, polymer chemistry, materials, and many others. You can browse by topic, year of publication, or sponsoring divisions
- Biochemistry 5th ed. (2002) - NCBI Bookshelf [Jeremy M Berg, John L Tymoczko, and Lubert Stryer]
- Elsevier ScienceDirect E-Books includes over 450 books published beginning in 2008
- Handbook of Paleoanthropology Winfried Henke, Ian Tattersall (eds.) ; in collaboration with Thorolf Hardt.
- PsycCRITIQUES is a searchable database of book reviews in psychology.
- RKMA Market Research Reports publishes market research reports in the fields of energy, healthcare, and consumer markets
- Springer E-Book Collection offers an integrated full-text database for thousands of e-books, protocols, eReferences, and book series published by Springer. You can browse by topic, physics and astronomy, biological science, chemistry, and materials science
- IOP ebooks is a book programme that brings together innovative digital publishing with leading voices from across physics to create the essential collection of physics books for a digital world. Subscribed to: 2014.
- Wiley E-Books includes over 2000 books for years 2007-2009 covering more than 60 subject disciplines, including chemistry, computing, and different types of engineering
Medicine
- AccessMedicine provides complete references and services for physicians, students, and health professionals who need immediate access to authoritative and current medical data. It is updated daily and provides access to textbooks published by McGraw Hill.
- AccessPharmacy online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education that allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across leading pharmacy online references
- Clinical Anesthesiology 4th ed. (2006) - AccessMedicine [G. Edward Morgan, Jr., Maged S. Mikhail, Michael J. Murray]
- ClinicalKey ClinicalKey provides access to more than 1100 medical texts published by Elsevier, articles from more than 500 journals, practice guidelines, drug information, and patient education handouts. All can be searched together, individually, or by type of resource (books, journals, etc.) ClinicalKey replaces MDConsult.
- Users must log in to (free) personal accounts to download book chapter PDFs.
- Springer E-Book Collection offers an integrated full-text database for thousands of e-books, protocols, eReferences, and book series published by Springer. You can browse by topic, such as health science.
- STAT!Ref is an electronic medical library
- Wiley E-Books includes over 2000 books for years 2007-2009 covering more than 60 subject disciplines, including topics in medicine, such as dentistry and nursing