Skip to Main Content
Skip to content
University of Iowa

University Libraries

ebooks: Ebooks: Contemporary Titles

The Power of eBooks: Take Them With You, Wherever You Go!

The University of Iowa Libraries offers an array of popular book titles in a variety of genres, many of which are available as ebooks!

Information on this guide page describes how to access contemporary ebook and audiobook titles provided through Overdrive & EBSCO, two of our many eBook collections. 

Happy reading!

Book free icon

Overdrive eBooks and Libby

To borrow an ebook title and set a loaning period, you must be signed in to the University of Iowa's collection with your HawkID 

OverDrive also powers Libby and Kanopy, which are available to staff and students through the university.

Using OverDrive to Borrow eBooks:

  1. Open the University of Iowa Library's OverDrive link in your browser
  2. Use the header at the top of the page to browse by subject or by collection
  3. Select an available title (designated by the yellow "available" banner across the top of the digital cover)
  4. Click "borrow" (you may be able to set a lending period for 7,14, or 21 days depending on the title)
  5. Once the title is borrowed you may access it in a variety of formats:
  • Read the ebook in your browser
  • Read the ebook using the Libby app on smart phones and tablets
    • You can download a copy of your ebook in the app and access it anytime, anywhere during your loaning period 
  • Listen to the audiobook from your browser
  • Download the ebook as an EPUB or PDF using Adobe Digital Editions (ADE), a free software compatible with Macintosh and Windows. Once you've downloaded the file, it can be transferred from your computer to other devices, such as e-readers. More information about transferring titles with ADE is provided here by OverDrive
  • Some titles are compatible with Kindle devices and the Kindle reading app
    • After borrowing a Kindle eligible title, click on "read with Kindle" 
    • You will be redirected to Amazon and asked to sign into your Amazon account 
    • Once you are signed in, click on "get library book" on the right-hand side of your screen
    • The book will be sent to your Kindle account for the duration of your loaning period and be accessible on any Kindle e-reader or other mobile devices synched with the Kindle reading app

 

Using Libby for Accessing eBooks and Audiobooks

Accessing Libby Online: 

  1. First, load Libby in your browser using this link
  2. Click "Yes, I have a Library Card"
  3. Then, click on "Search for a Library"
  4. Search for "University of Iowa" in the search bar and click on the black and gold library card icon to be sent to the University's collection in Libby
    • You can browse the collection without having to sign in 
  5. To borrow a book, you have to be signed into a Libby account
    • Click on the pink box at the top right of the home page that reads "Sign In With My Card"
    • Then follow the prompts on screen to create an account associated with your HawkID
  6. Once you've found an ebook or audiobook you would like to borrow, click on your chosen title and then click "borrow"
    • The title will be associated with your account for the duration of the lending period
  7. The ebook can be accessed in a variety of formats once it's borrowed:
    • You can read the ebook while logged into Libby in your browser
    • Read in the Libby app, available through the Apple App Store, Google Play Store, and Amazon App Store for newer Kindle devices

apps

Accessing Libby Offline 

  1. Download the Libby App
  2. Sign-in with your HawkID
  3. Enjoy your ebook while connected to WiFi 
  4. Take your ebook anywhere by downloading a copy to the Libby app

EBSCO eBooks

Using the EBSCO app to read ebooks

Download the EBSCO app on your personal device. Follow the instructions for connecting your app with the University of Iowa Libraries. Once installed there are two ways to discover ebooks.

  1. Search using the EBSCO mobile app
    1. Search using terms related topics about which you want to read.
    2. Filter your results by changing the source type facet to ebook format.
    3. Tap a result to see details or download the title. You can also tap the heart to add a book to your liked list.
    4. Tap the Access Now button to view your reading options.
  2. Browse EBSCOHost ebooks on your computer. (The browsing interface provides an experience more like browsing physical books at a library and is more effective if you're not sure what you want to read.)
    1. Navigate to the EBSCOHost ebook collection
    2. Set up an EBSCOHost login (this is separate from your hawkid and password)
      1. Click Sign In.
      2. Choose Sign Up.
      3. Use your University of Iowa email and create a unique password.
      4. Log in using these new credentials.
    3. Navigate back to the landing page of the EBSCOHost ebook collection.
    4. Browse available ebooks using the Browse by Category options.
    5. Save ebooks you'd like to read by clicking on a title and then choosing the Add to Folder tool. Books saved to your EBSCO folder are now available on your EBSCO mobile app.
    6. Access titles saved to your browser folder on your EBSCO mobile app by choosing the bookmark icon on the mobile app interface.
    7. Tap individual titles from the saved list on the EBSCO mobile app to view reading options.