Skip to Main Content
Skip to content
University of Iowa

University Libraries

CINE:4377 Advanced Screenwriting I: Home

Physical Media

Streaming got you down?

Too expensive? Poor selection?

We have over 50,000 physical media items available to you!

 

Now, unfortunately this collection is not physically browse-able--you must request your selections online ahead of time. If you are interested in working towards bringing this collection back into a browse-able location, reach out to Max! at any time.

 

Simply search your title, director, actor or other credit listing in InfoHawk+ (best to put search terms in quotes)

 

Select "available in the library" along the left side of your screen

 

Choose your "resource type" if you please (though if you can't find what you are looking for leave this open)

 

Make sure to sign in to InfoHawk+ to request materials

 

Choose "Request Physical Item"

 

Choose your Pickup Location (any library on campus!)

 

Select REQUEST

Look for a confirmation email to your UIowa account that your selections are ready for pickup and take them home!

 

Don't own a disc drive? Check one out at the service desk!

 

 

 

Subject Headings for Books on Screenwriting

Search Tips

Here are some basic searching tips to use when searching a library database. Ask a librarian for more help if you are not finding the type of information you need about your topic. 

1. Keywords, Broader terms, Narrower terms

Use a variety of keywords to describe your topic. If you begin your research by using reference materials such as encyclopedias, you will often run across vocabulary to describe your topic that you may not have thought of on your own. Use this worksheet to help you brainstorm: http://bit.ly/research-topic-worksheet  

  • global warming OR climate change
  • alternative fuel OR ethanol OR hydrogen OR carbon dioxide OR emissions
You should remove all "stop words" from your search. Stop words include articles, prepositions, or essentially any word that is not a crucial, meaningful word. Examples: a, an, the, in, on, of, are, be, into, which, about, that, etc.
 
2. Use quotation marks for phrase searching
  • "war on drugs"
  • "interpersonal relationship*"
  • "climate change"
3. Use truncation to get the database to search for a root word plus any possible endings
  • flood* → flood, floods, flooded, flooding
  • econom* → economy, economic, economical
  • psycholog* → psychology, psychological, psychologist
4. Use AND, OR, and NOT to combine your search terms
  • (television OR TV) AND (women OR female)
  • "war on drugs" AND Mexic* AND (United States OR America*)
  • dolphins NOT football

Hey, It's Research!

Swank Digital Campus

Streaming video titles, mostly feature films or television, the University of Iowa has licensed from the Swank Digital Campus collection of videos.

 

Films available on Swank include:

                

D.E.B.S                                                         Get Out    

                 

Fargo                                             Thelma & Louise

             

Black Panther                                Pride & Prejudice

 

 

 

Kanopy

Custom online libraries of streaming videos from a variety of studios on a variety of subjects.

Films available on Kanopy Include:

 

             

        Everything, Everywhere, All At Once        Marcel The Shell With Shoes On       

 

                

Kubo and the Two Strings                              Talk to Me             

 

        

Godzilla (1954)                                   Crimes of the Future

Profile Photo
Max Radl
He / They
Contact:
University of Iowa Main Library
125 W. Washington St
Iowa City, IA
52242
RM 1026
319-335-1652

There are subject liaisons for every major area of study on campus; they will be your direct link for deeper dives into specific material.

Reach out to any of them directly with questions, schedule appointments, and always feel free to stop by the Just Ask desk in the center of the first floor of the Main Library!

Special Collections & Archives are accessible via their reading room on the third floor. They are a tremendous wealth of primary source materials and contain wonderful collections of early film, as well as extensive screenplays and film related ephemera!

Visit their website for instructions on how to view materials, and always feel free to stop by in person.

The IDL is an extensive and immediate resource containing digitized versions of primary source materials, the bulk of which come from Special Collections & Archives.

It features more than a million digital objects created from the holdings of the University of Iowa Libraries and its campus partners. Included are illuminated manuscripts, historic maps, fine art, historic newspapers, scholarly works, and more. Digital collections are coordinated by the Digital Scholarship & Publishing Studio.