Public Health: Databases
Public Health resource guide for University of Iowa students, residents, fellows & faculty
Public Health
Guide content supports the teaching and research goals of multiple departments on campus. Content represents a non-exhaustive selection of essential resources and tools for engaging a wide range of backgrounds and viewpoints.
Search This Guide
Databases
-
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new windowSearch nearly 1,800 premier worldwide business periodicals for information on companies, computers, advertising, marketing, economics, personnel, finance, taxation, etc. Includes the Wall Street Journal full-text 1984-
-
Abstracts in Social Gerontology This link opens in a new windowRECOMMEND USING CHROME; Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other key areas of relevance to the discipline. The index contains 70,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Journals of Gerontology Series, American Journal of Geriatric Psychiatry, Experimental Gerontology, etc. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, bringing coverage back to 1990.
-
AgeLine This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP), AgeLine provides bibliographic coverage of social gerontology, i.e. the study of aging in psychological, health-related, social, and economic contexts. Also covered are the delivery of health
-
Agricola (Now SEARCH by the National Agricultural Library) This link opens in a new windowSEARCH is the USDA National Agricultural Library’s main search tool. It provides simple, one-stop access to more than 8 million records covering all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines
-
CINAHL This link opens in a new windowRECOMMEND USING CHROME
[Help Sheet for Search CINAHL - PDF] CINAHL Plus provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals. Full text material includes more than 80 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. NB: 20 concurrent user limit -
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowEBSCOhost includes many health sciences and business related databases including Academic Search Elite, Business Source Premier, and CINAHL (Nursing).
-
Embase This link opens in a new windowDue to higher security needed, EMBASE now requires a login for all exports.
Help Searching Embase A biomedical and pharmaceutical database contains bibliographic records with abstracts from EMBASE (1974-present) and Medline (1966-present) deduplicated and searchable with EMTREE. (See the available Help Sheet) -
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowClick on the "ViewIt@UILink" in your results list for UILink services including full text (when available), links to the InfoHawk+ Catalog, Interlibrary Loan requests and more. [TO USE THIS OPTION FROM OFF-CAMPUS: Additional information about Google Scholar]
-
Global Index Medicus This link opens in a new windowThe Global Index Medicus (GIM) provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. The main objective is to increase the visibility and usability of this important set of resources. The material is collated and aggregated by WHO Regional Office Libraries on a central search platform allowing retrieval of bibliographical and full text information.
-
GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowA freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.
-
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new windowProvides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, and tests) in the health fields, psy
-
Healthcare Videos from Alexander Street PressHealthcare Videos from Alexander Street Press defines and explores medical progress in health and wellness issues. The collection uses documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews to bridge the gap between medical research and public understanding of health. The videos are designed for use by students, instructors, and the general population to better understand the realities of illness, wellness, and the modern healthcare system. Focus is on public health and medicine, epidemiology, pathology, geronotology, nutrition and wellness, childhood development, cultural and environmental health issues, mental health, and the experience of living with chronic conditions and diseases, such as multiple sclerosis, cerebral palsy, cognitive disorders, fibromyalgia, and obesity.
-
Lactation Database (LactMed) This link opens in a new windowLactMed is a peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs t
-
LexisNexis Academic (now called Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a wide range of news, business, legal research, medical and reference information. The news section provides access to full text of newspapers from the U.S., Europe, Africa, North and South America and Australia in English, as well as s
-
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new windowMedlinePlus is the National Library of Medicine’s comprehensive information source, designed for the general public. It provides patient and consumer health information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in both English and Spanish. It includes videos of common procedures, a directory of health organizations, a medical encyclopedia, and a guide to drugs and supplements.
-
National Agricultural Library's SEARCH This link opens in a new windowSEARCH is the USDA National Agricultural Library’s main search tool. It provides simple, one-stop access to millions of records covering all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines.SEARCH Everything for results from the Catalog and Articles database (AGRICOLA), PubAg, and the NAL Digital Collections (NALDC). Or you can choose to limit your SEARCH to: Articles, indexed journal article citations; PubAg, USDA’s public access repository; or Digital Collections, full-text historical documents and images
-
National Assoc. of County & City Health Officals: Model Practice DatabaseThis database was put together by the National Association of County and City Health Officials and lists different projects have already been completed in different cities & counties across the US.
-
National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR)Includes: PubMed Health Services Research (HSR) Queries; HSRProj (Health Services Research Projects in Progress); HSTAT (Health Services/Technology Assessment Texts); Health Services/Sciences Research Resources (HSRR); DIRLI (Directory of Info Resources)
-
NIOSHTIC-2: National Institute for Occupational Safety & Health PublicationsNIOSHTIC-2 is a searchable bibliographic database of occupational safety and health publications, documents, grant reports, and other communication products supported in whole or in part by NIOSH. NIOSHTIC-2 contains 48,936 total citations.
-
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)PAIS covers periodicals, books, pamphlets and report literature dealing with economic and social conditions, public administration, etc.
-
Policy Commons This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive and current grey literature database comprising tens of millions of reports, blogs, papers, and podcasts from tens of thousands of think tanks, IGOs, NGOs, research agencies, cities, and governments.
The University of Iowa provides access to the following modules:
- Global Think Tanks
- Public Health and Social Care
- World Citites
- World Governments
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThe PsycINFO database covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. PsycINFO's coverage is worldwide, and includes references and abstracts to over 1500 journals in more than 35 languages, and book chapters and books in the English language. Over 50,000 references are added annually. Popular literature is excluded.
-
PubAg This link opens in a new windowPubAg is the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), National Agricultural Library's (NAL) search system for agricultural information. PubAg is part of the AGRICOLA family of products. PubAg covers all of the core topics of the agricultural sciences including nutrition, food safety, food quality, animal and crop production and protection, natural resources, sustainable agricultural systems, rural development, agricultural economic and policy issues, agricultural imports and exports, agricultural statistics, extramural research, and Extension education.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowProvides access to bibliographic information in Medline and other sources.
-
PubMed Health Services Research (HSR) QueriesThis page provides specialized PubMed searches on healthcare quality and costs.
-
RAND Health PublicationsFor more than 50 years, RAND has been working to improve policy and decisionmaking through research and analysis. RAND Health continues that tradition, advancing understanding of health and health behaviors, and examining how the organization and financin
-
Scopus This link opens in a new window[Help Searching Scopus]Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
-
VisualDx This link opens in a new windowVisualDx is a diagnostic clinical support tool that includes over 2,800 adult and pediatric conditions as well as over 40,000 images. Clinicians can search by a diagnosis, build a patient- specific differential, or review over 20,000 medication reactions and adverse events. With expanded content across general medicine, VisualDx delivers speed and diagnostic accuracy at the point of care.
Mobile Device Users will need to create an account while logged in on-campus . -
Web of Science This link opens in a new window[Help Searching Web of Science]A citation reference that includes Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Science Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Book Citation Index- Science (2005-present), Book Citation Index- Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present), and Medline, and links to Journal Citation Reports and EndNote web version.
If you experience trouble connecting to WoS from off-campus, try clearing your cache or changing browsers. Firefox seems to be best for this. -
WorldCat This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic database of over 62,000,000 records from over 2,000 libraries around the world.
-
Policy Atlas - Harvard CatalystA database of policy and public health data for researchers, policymakers, and community advocates.
