Do you know of a great resource that hasn't been included in this guide? Please suggest it by clicking the "Submit" button below. A librarian will review your submission on add it to the guide, if appropriate.
Welcome! This Subject Guide has been created to help you find chemistry information. If you have questions or need more help, you can visit the Sciences Library to speak with a librarian or contact us via phone or email. Thanks for visiting!
SciFinder gives you instant access to the world's largest curated collection of information on disclosed chemistry and related research produced by CAS. SciFinder allows you to search Chemical Abstracts & MEDLINE by author and topic. SciFinder is available to University of Iowa faculty, staff & students only.
Please Note: Due to changes in Java security settings, the SciFinder Java structure editor will NOT work when accessing SciFinder through the Libraries' proxy server. It will work if you access SciFinder on-campus or through remote access. Please contact the Sciences Library at 335-3024 or firstname.lastname@example.org if you need assistance.
- SciFinder Registration
We have moved to the web version of SciFinder. You must register to continue to use SciFinder. You must be on campus and use your University of Iowa email address (@uiowa.edu) to register. After you submit your registration form, CAS will send you an e-mail with instructions for completing the registration process. This email should arrive within 30 minutes, if not, check your spam folder.
- Access SciFinder
- SciFinder Support & Training
- SciFinder File Conversion Tool
Use this tool to convert SciFinder client files (.sfr) to the new web format (.akx).
- Chemistry E-Journals
Curated list of chemistry e-journals available from the UI Libraries.
- InfoHawk Catalog
The InfoHawk Catalog currently contains records for most items held by the University of Iowa Libraries and the Law Library.
- Web of Science
A citation reference that includes the Web of Science (Science Citation Index, 1899-present, the Social Science Citation Index, 1898-present, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present), Book Citation Index- Science (2005-present), Book Citation Index- Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present), Medline and Journal Citation Reports, among other science and social science reference indexes. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It contains 47 million records, 70% with abstracts and over 19,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. It also includes over 4.6 million conference papers, 100% of MEDLINE and most of EMBASE, and interoperability with Engineering Village and Reaxys. In addition, Scopus offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research. [Scopus Apps are not compatible with Internet Explorer 9