Geoscience: Home
Guide content supports the teaching and research goals of multiple departments on campus. Content represents a non-exhaustive selection of essential resources and tools for engaging a wide range of backgrounds and viewpoints.
Welcome!
This subject guide has been created to help you find geoscience information. You can use the links on these pages to access materials the library has purchased or subscribed to whether you are on or off-campus. Also listed are links to valuable information available for free on the Web. If you have any questions or need assistance, please ask a librarian. Thanks for visiting!
Sciences Library
120 Iowa Ave. (104A SL)
(hours | map | floorplan)
http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sciences or
http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/m/sciences
Facebook Page and Twitter Feed
Phone: (319) 335-3083
E-mail: lib-sciences@uiowa.edu
Related Guides
Recommended GeoScience Resources
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowReferences and selected abstracts to the world's literature in geology, covering North America since 1785 and other areas since 1933. Corresponds to the print publications: Bibliography of North American geology; Bibliography and index of geology exclusive of North America; Geophysical abstracts (Washington, D.C.); and: Bibliography and index of geology; with additional citations from other sources.
- GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new windowServes as a comprehensive resource for research and communications in the geological and earth sciences. GeoScienceWorld is built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window[Help Searching Scopus]Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- Web of ScienceA citation reference that includes the Web of Science (Science Citation Index, 1899-present, the Social Science Citation Index, 1898-present, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present), Book Citation Index- Science (2005-present), Book Citation Index- Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present), Medline and Journal Citation Reports, among other science and social science reference indexes. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
- InfoHawk+Use InfoHawk+ to search for items available from the University Libraries. Sign in to request and save.
Local Digital Collections
The Iowa Digital Library features more than a million digital objects created from the holdings of the University of Iowa Libraries and its campus partners.
- Iowa Geological Survey ResourcesAnnual reports and technical papers (ca. 1893-1930) published by the Iowa Geological Survey. The documents, which are full-text searchable, describe the Iowa landscape and its composition.
- Calvin Geological PhotographsHundreds of photographs of geological formations in Iowa taken in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The collection also features mines, quarries, buildings, and more.
Contributing Institution: Dept. of Geoscience, University of Iowa - Geoscience SlidesOver 2800 images of U.S. National Parks taken by faculty from The University of Iowa's Geosciences Department. Depicted are geological phenomena that highlight the importance of protecting these areas through the national park designation.
Contributing Institution: Dept. of Geoscience, University of Iowa - Glenister Geoscience SlidesHundreds of digitized slides representing paleontology research, including fieldwork in Iowa and other U.S. locations, as well as China and Australia.
Contributing Institution: Dept. of Geoscience, University of Iowa
Sciences Library News
Loading ...
