Japanese Theater and Drama: Home

Smart Search


Smart Search allows you search a variety of University of Iowa Libraries resources at once.

Other Guides

Cross Gender Studies Guide by Setsuko Noguchi at UIUC:
http://uiuc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=269791

Includes Kabuki, Noh/Kyogen, Bunraku, Takarazuka, etc. sections.

 

Also try search LibGuides Community site for more guides created by librarians everywhere!

Video Databases

Databases

Reference Sources

Videos in Media Services Collection and Online

Theater in Japan: Yesterday and Today (Films For The Humanities & Sciences, 1989) 51:24 mins (From Theatre in Video) Icon

Dancing: Dance Centerstage by John Hill (composer), Raoul Trujillo, directed by Dunlop, Geoff (ArtHaus Musik) 58:45 mins. Ballet and kabuki. (From Dance in Video) Icon

Dancing: Dance at the Court by John Hill (composer), Raoul Trujillo (ArtHaus Musik) 59:03 mins (From Dance in Video) Icon

Dream Girls , by Longinotto Kim, in Under the Sun (British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC), 1994) 48 minutes. 宝塚 (From Ethbographic Video Online) Icon

NHK映像マップ みちしる (In Japanese) Video clips featuring regional culture are gathered from NHK Archives and made available online. The site includes Performing Arts and Music cellection.

Updated: 8/6/2013

Journals

Asian Theatre Journal:  Available both in print and via Literature Online, Project Muse, and JSTOR. Check the coverage in each database.

Monumenta Nipponica: Available both in print and via Project Muse, and JSTOR as well as . Check the coverage in each database.  Its website includes subject index with  Drama Studies and Drama Translations sections.

Updated: 8/6/2013

Books in English

Subject Guide

Chiaki Sakai
Contact:
Japanese Studies Librarian

100 Main Library (Room 3016)

Iowa City, IA 52242

Phone: 319-335-5030

FAX: 319-335-5900
Website / Blog Page